We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food in a beautiful setting.”
Review of Currarevagh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Currarevagh House
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oughterard
Certificate of Excellence
connemara
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Was lucky to have had a pleasure of dinner at Currarevagh House with a friend. The house is old, full of character and charm. Dinner was simply delicious, beautifully prepared and great presentation. Staff are wonderful and Harry is so charming and welcoming. We had coffee after in the sitting room which had a magnificent fire burning, coffee was divine and the home made goodies were scrumptious. We had a most enjoyable evening and left feeling totally relaxed and hope to enjoy this experience again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnemaraDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    26
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
46
147
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
church stretton
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My mother and I stayed for 3 nights in early September. We had the most marvellous welcome served afternoon tea ahead of schedule, delicious home made cakes. We had evening meals every night, it was lovely to go down to the front desk and and see what our menu was for the evening, any worries and they would be sorted. 20.00 was a bit late for mother but she managed.
Our room was delightful, over looking Lake Corrib, so peaceful and beautiful. There are no mod cons like tea and coffee in rooms or tv but who wants that when you can go to the lounge and chat to people. There is a library stuffed with books and a tv with sky. We met an eclectic group of people, chatted around the fire, soaking up the wonderful Irish atmosphere.
Having lived and visited Connemara for many years I have never seen it look so beautiful.
Do visit and your hosts will point you in the right direction for places to visit.

Room Tip: Cannot remember either 1 or 2 over looking the garden and lake Corrib
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights here. We loved it. The house is an old mansion from the 1840's with spacious rooms and beautiful grounds overlooking the lake. The highlight is the food both at breakfast and especially at dinner. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful giving us advice on how to spend our time in Connemara.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

If you want the usual, big, impersonal, same room, same decor, pick your breakfast from the tureen hotel then this is not the place for you!
Just back home from three nights away with hubby for our 25th wedding anniversary and have absolutely no regrets with the decision to book at Currarevagh. Our stay included meals each evening. It was worth every single cent. Amazing hotel, like staying over with friends, your every wish attended to. Henry and the family have managed to make this nearly 200 year old house keep its old world charms whilst ensuring it is neither damp or dusty.
Deep pile carpets, amazingly comfortable beds, huge rooms, fabulous grounds. The food is absolutely fresh and home made. Afternoon tea is so worth it, put the diet on hold for a few days and go enjoy.
The place is old decor, big mahogany wardrobes, high ceilings, the works but absolutely spotless. Unseen people make your bed while you breakfast. Later while away the room is fully cleaned and refreshed. While you have dinner someone slips in and draws the curtains and turns down your bed.
Currarevagh House is positioned in a great ares and close to many of Galway, Mayo and Clare's. We traveled about and then enjoyed some fresh baking and a cup of tea on our return and then look forward to a glorious evening meal and some nice wine.
Do try it sometime for a few very special days away, so worth it.

Room Tip: No 1 has the most amazing view over the Corrib.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

It was the last day of our holiday on the west coast of Ireland and we decided to detour to visit a distant relative in Oughterard. On the back of reading the reviews here I booked my family into Currarevagh House with no expectations other than it was a 'safe bet'. As it turns out, it was the highlight of the holiday; delightful hosts, incredible scenery (bordering on a spiritual experience) and fantastic property (think Downton Abbey meets Harry Potter). Henry (the owner) made us all feel like part of the family and we immediately felt at home. We stayed for dinner (held like days gone by - starts with a 'gong'!) and it was nothing short of a Michelin star experience. I took one of the rowing boats on Loch Corrib (no charge) with my wife (and a bottle of wine!) for sun downers - it was like being 21 again. Although next time I will leave my wife on shore and borrow a fishing rod (the fish were literally leaping from the loch!). The finishing touch was the gift of home made soda bread from Henry (which is to die for). Overall the most pleasant of experiences which was cheap at twice the price.

Room Tip: Take a boat for a row on Loch Corrib - it's free but it's priceless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Virginia
Level Contributor
246 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Having read many of the reviews in advance of our 2 night visit, we thought we had some good advance expectations before arriving. The inside of this house is like stepping back in time over 100 years. The owners, June and Henry treat each guest as if they were part of their family. Every guest is called by his or her name. Suggestions and recommendations are provided to guests as to how to spend the day in this part of Ireland. The breakfast was sumptuous and hearty consisting of homemade pastries and breads, fresh squeezed orange juice, ham, eggs, and a wide variety of cereals. One item to consider is whether you will have your dinner there or drive 5-10 minutes into town for dinner. You will need to let Henry or June know about this well in advance because they begin cooking dinner in the morning (It always smells good!).
However, be aware that the additional cost of having dinner at the Currarevagh House is
approx. 48 euro. This was not within our budget so we cannot comment on dinner, but I can't think it would be anything but great.
Overall, if vacationing in Ireland, by all means spend a night or two at the Currarevagh. You will be very glad that you did.

Room Tip: While it probably does not matter now, Room 9 was the room that the bats flew into one evening, acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evans81051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We recently spent two nights in Currarevagh. This is a get-away-from-it-all kind of place, hidden in the countryside near Oughterard in Connemara. Beautiful location, on the shore of Lough Corrib. This is your archetypal old Anglo-Irish manor house; large comfortable drawing room where one could enjoy afternoon tea (homemade cakes & cookies) and chat to other guests. After dinner coffee was also served here. There is also a library and there are bookcases throughout the house. Our bedroom was spacious and comfortable with a lovely view over the croquet lawn to the lake. The bathroom had a range of good quality soaps and toiletries. Warning! some bathrooms do not have a shower, just a hose attachment. Check when booking if you want a shower.
There is a set dinner each evening at 8 pm.(a gong rings!) Not communal dining. The menu is posted each afternoon and guests with allergies/dislikes may request changes. The food was excellent, beautifully prepared. Portions are not large but second helpings are offered. There is a reasonably priced winelist; we had the house wine & it was very good. We saw guests who ordered a glass being offered a chance to taste first. Breakfast was good; freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade granola plus the usual range of cereals, meats, cheeses and a hot breakfast made to order.
Currarevagh is an old, family run establishment. The Hodgsons are friendly welcoming hosts who do their utmost to provide a good experience for their guests.
There are walks through the (wild) shrubbery on the estate and boats are available for guests who wish to fish or take a trip on the lake.

Room Tip: Check whether your room has shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
5.6 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
5.9 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oughterard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
29.8 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Currarevagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Currarevagh House

Property: Currarevagh House
Address: Glann Road, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Currarevagh House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ireland's longest running guesthouse now managed by the sixth generation of Hodgsons; 180 acres of private lake shore estate, comfortable surroundings offering a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Currarevagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Currarevagh House Hotel Oughterard
Currarevagh Hotel Oughterard
Currarevagh House Oughterard, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing