We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic few days”
Review of Currarevagh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Currarevagh House
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oughterard
Certificate of Excellence
Greystones, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic few days”
Reviewed 24 July 2007

This place is fantastic. We drove from Dublin on a Friday afternoon and got to the hotel in time to have a shower and dinner. Everyone eats at 8pm which is great, the bell rings and calls everyone to dinner. The menu is posted at reception during the day and there are 4 courses, then coffee and petits fours. Everything is homemade, fresh and there is plenty of food, you even get offered seconds. My girlfriend is a vegeterian and I forgot to say that to them but (and I only mentioned it once we had finished our starter) there was no problem and a fantastic option was brought for her main course.

There is so much to do in the area, and the owners are a mine of local information. We went for a little drive but as we were only there for a few days got back as quick as we could to the house to just relax and read our books in the lounge and go for walks in the amazing surrounding countryside. Breakfast was so big that it set us up nicely for the day, but then what a great surprise when cakes and tea were brought in at 4.30 for afternoon tea.

This house oozes charm, as do the owners. They could not have been nicer or more helpful. As for the rooms, they are great, one of the best nights sleep I have had in a hotel.

For a weekend away, or mid week break, a few days in Currarevagh House is the BEST way to unwind. I honestly could not recommend it enough.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CBIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    26
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
46
152
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2007

So yes I can understand some people finding this hotel shabby but they are probably the same people who usually stay in an ultra-modern 5 star hotel that works almost like a corporation - books similiar to Company Policies or Procedures telling you how fabulous your hotel is - receptionists that are perfectly friendly - similiar to how a house robot will be when they are mainstream - this is not, in my experience the Currarevagh way - if you want that experience head for Dubai - but if you want an honest, open Guesthouse experience where you meet the family who really are proud of their gorgeous home, the indescribable lake-side setting and all the wonderful things you can do in the area then this is for you! It is a very romantic and relaxing place to visit and the people who stay there are very friendly and open to a bit of banter over breakfast, dinner or the scrumptous afternoon tea. I can only describe this hotel as a really good find for a relaxing, romantic, refreshing break away from chasing the fading roar of the tiger. Long may Currarevagh last for its traditional guesthouse welcome is so refreshing in an age in of increasing anonymity amongst hotels in Ireland.

  • Liked — Classic feel to the rooms & the view from the bath ;)
  • Disliked — Distance from town
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank WWCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilipEves
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2006

My husband, parents and I stayed here for one night during a seven night trip around Ireland. We wished we had stayed elsewhere. After reading very good trip advisor reviews of this hotel, coupled with the price, we were expecting something quite special. To say we were disappointed was an understatement. The location is stunning but the hotel is desperately in need of a refurb. Our room looked like it hadn't been redecorated in forty years. The bed linen and towels were old and smelled very musty, to the extent that my husband opted not to take a shower so as to avoid using the towels. The house had a decidedly haunted feel and this was not helped by the fact that none of the rooms have locks! We slept with the light on and although we didnt find any bats in our rooms I would not have been at all surprised if we had! After the dissappointment of our rooms we did hope that dinner would be good but again were very disappointed. There was no choice of meal and we were presented at our table by a plate of the toughest roast beef I have ever come across. The meat together with the veg looked and tasted like it had been cooked for a month. We went to bed hoping that morning would come quickly so that we could leave and return to civilisation. In conclusion this place is way overpriced and I struggle to understand why there are so many good reviews on this website. Its youth hostel standard at five star hotel prices - be warned.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The rooms and food
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid this hotel
  • Stayed June 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank PhilipEves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2006

After ten days in and around Dublin, our family spent a wonderful, relaxing week at the Currarevagh House. The drive from Galway through Oughterard down the Glann Rd. to Currarevagh was gorgeous, and the house is magnificently set at the end of a long drive alongside Lough Corrib. We were warmly welcomed by owner Harry Hodgson who helped us with our bags. Our family room (no. 14) was a large room with beautiful linens and a sumptuous bathroom (separate tub and shower). The five-course dinners, prepared by June Hodgson with help from son Henry, were consistently delicious and the second course featured fish from the lake. June graciously and easily compensated for a family member's food allergies. Coffee was taken in the front reception room or the main hall, both rooms laid out with peat fires. Our experience at the Currarevagh House was one of refined civilization--elegance, hospitality and kindness set amid great natural beauty. Most of the people we met there were long-time return guests--as we will be!

  • Liked — Warm hospitality, great food, natural beauty
  • Disliked — We liked everything!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rilke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2006

I just returned home after a weeks trip around the west of Ireland and had to share my experience of this beautiful hotel. We have now stayed here 4 times and on each occasion have been given a proper Irish welcome by the charming owners and local staff. If you want to experience a proper Irish Welcome look no further; as soon as we arrived afternoon tea was set up for us and we relaxed immdeiately.
The house is old but well cared for and very clean; our room (3 in the front of the house) was recently updated and very comfortable; food is excellent and ambiance that of a proper Irish Country House. Its location has to be one of the best of any i have stayed at, over looking the lake and completely issolated from modern life. We love it and shall return for our fifth visit!

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitchenwizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2006

Stayed in this place for one night in August. Room No 9. Thought the house was more shabby than charming, to be honest. Too much old chintz and the wallpaper on the main stairs is a head-wreck. All this however fades right into insignificance after my Bat Experience. Opened the window when arrived in the room. Had bath. Closed window before going down for dinner. When i came back up, someone had beenin to close the curtains. Fell asleep with a lamp on. At 3am, woke up suddenly. Lay there, wondering what had woken me. Opened eyes to see a big black bat hovering above my face. Folks, sorry to sound wimpish, but this was a horrible experience. Bolted into the corridor and left the door open, hoping it would fly out. i did consider ringing the bell in my room, but it was 3am and the place was totally silent and i would have felt bad about waking people up. i was all set to go and sleep on a couch in the living room when bat flew out - into the main house. Went back into the room and didn't sleep a wink for the rest of the night, for fear of a few bat friends hanging in the curtain drapes. i later discovered this part of Connemara is full of bats, which are a protected species. A truly horrible night. i won't be back

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lasairfhíona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2005

Everything about Currarevagh House says, "Come in, stay a while, feel at home here." The food is very good; the rooms are clean and comfortable, if not gorgeous; the public rooms are big, yet cozy; the owners and staff are just the best. You simply can't go wrong by staying at Currarevagh, unless, of course, you deny yourself more than an overnight.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
17.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,682 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,590 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,146 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oughterard
159 reviews
20.9 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Currarevagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Currarevagh House

Property: Currarevagh House
Address: Glann Road, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Currarevagh House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ireland's longest running guesthouse now managed by the sixth generation of Hodgsons; 180 acres of private lake shore estate, comfortable surroundings offering a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Currarevagh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Currarevagh House Hotel Oughterard
Currarevagh Hotel Oughterard
Currarevagh House Oughterard, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing