We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room and Very Friendly Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain View Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 24 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“Great Room and Very Friendly Hosts”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed for a week at Mountain View, and loved it! The room was clean, nicely outfitted, and fairly spacious. Our host, Patricia, was extremely friendly and accommodating - we felt welcome our whole stay. Breakfast was cooked-to-order and very tasty. The house is located about 5-10 minutes from Oughterard town in a quiet neighborhood. It is also equipped with good WiFi and flatscreen television.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    17
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
40
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Mountain View B & B is a quiet, comfortable B & B about a half hour from Galway, operated by hosts Patricia and Richard O'Connor. On our recent family trip to Ireland, they were the most open-hearted innkeepers we encountered. Their welcome reminded me of visits to my Midwestern cousins. Their B & B is spotless, with comfortable beds, crisp linens, and--important for us and our young adult offspring--good wifi. Breakfast was ample and tasty.

Two of us played golf nearby, while the others took advantage of the pastoral setting, walking down the road toward Ross Lake, enjoying the sights of stone walls, roosters, donkeys, horses, cows, and more than a few dogs.

After our late-evening dinner in town, we were met with the unwelcome surprise of finding the car park where we'd left our car gated and padlocked. The owner of the pub where we'd eaten drove us back to Mountain View, and he and Patricia went to bat for us with the café owner who'd done the deed, after which Patricia took us back to retrieve the car. Above and beyond!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappySabbatical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived 27th june 3 adults 4 children evening time. We were met at the door by patricia which was lovely. We had two rooms no 7 and no 8. The rooms are tidy and clean and are roomy not too big but big enough for our needs. Ensuites were clean and tidy also. Bedding very good and beds comfortable. The bb is based just five mins from local town and about 20 mins from galway city. Area ia scenic. The breakfast consisted of plenty choice of cereal yogurts and fruit but only orange juice available. Full irish was lovely plenty on the plate to keep us going for the day. Service at breakfast was quick also. Patricia is an excellent host very warm and friendly. I would reccomend this bb for couples or familys infact anyone as wifi is available too and quite quick to connect. I always judge a place would i stay again, yes i wld. Well done to patricia and family.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rugs186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The location is tranquil with wonderful views and recommend it for walking, countryside and fishing. . Excellent breakfast, nothing too much trouble; catering no problem for individual requirements. Room clean, comfortable and well equipped. Many thanks to Tricia and Richard for making a memorable trip for us even more memorable. The extra personal touches which extended to giving us a card and a bottle of wine to celebrate a momentous event in our lives meant a great deal to us. We can't recommend Mountain View highly enough and we will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a lovely stay at this B and B, which is in a very quiet, peaceful area, with nice views. The rooms were comfortable and nicely furnished. Patricia is a great hostess - very welcoming, but not intrusive. The breakfast was delicious. We travelled with our 3 teenage children and she accommodated us in neighbouring rooms, all with our own beds, tea and coffee making facilities and modern comfortable ensuites. Patricia was very helpful with recommendations about local attractions and dining options. We really hope to return one day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marg2of5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Terrific location and views directly on the river and easy walking distance to town center. Wonderful hosts, great breakfast overlooking the river and grounds. We were given a great recommendation for dinner and lots of good advice about touring the Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maksim_vinkarklins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Excellent host Patricia was very patient with us. We were group of 10-booked in a last minute and arrived 12am.we changed our arrival time several times.but still Patricia greeted us on arrival and welkomed in :) thank you Patricia !service was excellent, breakfast rich,rooms clean,lokation beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OksanaWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
4.8 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oughterard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
10.8 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Waterfront House Country Home
1.5 mi away
Carrowntober House B & B
Carrowntober House B & B
#10 of 24 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.5 mi away
Corrib Wave House
Corrib Wave House
#13 of 24 in Oughterard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Guesthouse

Property: Mountain View Guesthouse
Address: Aughnanure, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View is a family run 4* Guesthouse set in an idyllic location at the start of Connemara and just 20 minute drive to Galway City. All our rooms are en-suite and each decorated to a very high standard. Facilities include TV, Direct dial telephone, Hair Dryer, Tea/Coffee making facilities and Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Guesthouse Oughterard, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing