We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food”
Review of Breathnach's Bar

Breathnach's Bar
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Oughterard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$28
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Breathnach's Bar is family run restaurant placed in the heart of Oughterard, co. Galway. The food and beverages are served all day, starting with Breathnach's famous Full Irish Breakfast, through lunch with daily specials, till dinner which features Traditional Irish Stew, Steaks and good selection of fish meals. There are vegetarian and gluten free options available as well. All our products are sourced locally where possible. Bar contains good selection of non- and alcoholic drinks including local beer on draught. Our pub is the venue for live music hosting traditional session every Saturday night.
Oughterard, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Good food, plain & simple...nothing to get excited about! Menu could do with a bit of a revamp. I'm not saying it's not good, it's just after all these years it would be nice to see something exciting on the menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oughterard64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    86
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and friendly service”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The publican and staff of this pub, were so friendly and attentive, when we dined with our 3 teenagers. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced - the home made brown bread is the best I've ever tasted. Next time we'll stay for the live music, which was to start at 10. In a small friendly pub like this, I'm sure it would have been a wonderful experience. Can't wait to come back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marg2of5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Genuine Irish experience. ”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to Renvyle after good reports on this site. Happy to report it lived up to our expectations. Friendly staff great food and surprisingly good value. There were even some good characters at the bar adding to the atmosphere. Would definitely stop here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ohohitsjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely friendly restaurant with great food and great staff,perfect place to stop with the kids,can't fault it.a definite when in Oughterard or even passing through

Helpful?
Thank GalwayRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Irish Pub”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is the real Ireland. From the hauntingly beautiful Irish ballads and music performed live by the talented local musicians to the wonderful food and outstanding Irish coffees, you feel so welcome. The owner, Dermot, is as charming and attentive a host as you could imagine. The local people make you feel right at home with the loveliest sing-song Irish brogue and great stories...of course, the Guinness flows...reminds me of "Cheers" - Irish style. Well worth several visits! Thank you, Dermot, for a fabulous time!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Breathnach's Bar also viewed

 
Oughterard, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Breathnach's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing