We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairybridge Cottage
Nearby Hotels
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Currarevagh House(Oughterard)
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$5,085
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peacockes Hotel(Maam Cross)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
15
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
4
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2010

I'm in two minds about writing a review - simply because we love this place so much, we'd be gutted if we wanted to stay there and it was already booked! We stayed in the self-contained thatched cottage (it was our second stay), which is perfect in every way. The hosts are fantastic - everything is provided and nothing is too much trouble. It's an idyllic setting, with gorgeous walks, a pretty little town nearby, good pubs and places to eat, and Fairy Bridge itself is populated by lovely animals (dogs, cats, chickens, etc) and even the odd friendly ghost or two, apparently! You'd be mad to stay anywhere else in Ireland at all!!!
My son has this to add: It is the best hotel i have ever stayed in, the people are very kind and i was sad to leave because everybody is so nice.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JackandRose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Beautiful thatched roof cottages in the middle of the Irish countryside. The owner - Mary - is a wonderful hostess and a pleasure to stay with. There are 2 separate cottages. One of them is a 1 bed 1 bath and sleeps 2-4 comfortably (it has a futon on the lower level and a full-size mattress in the rafters). The other is 3 bedrooms and 3 baths. Not sure if she rents them out at the same time as I am assuming she stays in one while the other is rented. My wife and I stayed in the 1 bed 1 bath cottage. You have to climb a ladder to get to the sleeping chamber in the rafters. Mary is a very personable and pleasant hostess. She left fresh eggs from her chickens on the counter for us to have a fresh breakfast, and she stocked the fridge with all necessary ingredients to make your own Irish breakfast. Both cottages have full kitchens, microwaves, ovens, and hot/cold water. Showers too! The village of Oughterard isn't far from Galway. Very quiet countryside - highly recommended!!! My wife and I can't wait to return with our daughter once she's old enough. Note: due to the nature of the building construction and thatched roof, there are spiders present inside of the home. Not too many, but a few. Those with phobias beware! ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnochLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

I've passed by there several times and the location and Irish cottage "feel" are very authentic. Plus real chickens running around and thatch. And a little river nearby.

Stayed: January 2006
Thank evelyndevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2007

What a great experience. You'll have to call Mary to make reservations because she doesn't believe in computers. She doesn't need to advertise because 90% of her guests have been there before. Don't expect your typical B&B fare, you are staying with a couple in their 3-bedroom thatched roof cottage that is so charming and beautiful, it was on the cover of a 2006 Irish Cottages calender.

The small village of Oughterard has only a handful resturants, pubs and shops. But is ideally located for a 20minute ride to Galway or to tour Conemerra (sp?). To describe this cottage is to take a post card picture of a thatched roof cottage, filled with every collectable and knick knack inside so that every space is filled with something interesting. A turf fire burns in the morning and evening. You get a fresh filling breakfast and the eggs come their chickens out back. Mary is a charming lady with a perpetual smile and knows that you are there to relax and enjoy yourself. The rooms have comfortable beds. One bedroom has a private shower and bath and the other has a private shower, but you use the hallway bathroom.

You will arrive as a guest and leave as a friend...and Mary never says goodbye...just "see you soon".

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WannaBeChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
england
12
Reviewed 7 June 2005

we enjoyed our stay at fairybridge, very friendly,brill breakfast, mary made us very welcome we went as strangers and came away as friends definately worth a visit chris n jon

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews