We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Irish Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oughterard
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“True Irish Hospitality”
Reviewed 16 May 2011

My Wife and I spent one night at Ross Lake House. We found ourselves wishing we didn't have to leave. This small cozy property feels like home. Intimate space and an incredible staff. We had one of the best meals on our trip in the restaurant and breakfast in the morning was equally good. Highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a unique experience in a rural countryside setting.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steeldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    36
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
108
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Lovely Georgian house - very homely and nicely furnished throughout. Large bedroom and bathroom. Henry the owner is a great mine of information and a very welcoming and entertaining host. Elaine's cooking is fabulous and was one of the most well rounded and well cooked five course meals we have had on this trip, also a very good wine list. Lovely little bar and pretty grounds - good location for touring. Very good value for money 10/10.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jchjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Only stayed one night at this delightful Georgian house hotel, hidden down a country lane near a beautiful fast flowing river, but we could have stayed forever!
Hosts Henry and Elaine were absolutely wonderful. The actual building is very picturesque and the location even more so. Our room was enormous, complete with extremely comfortable, 4 poster bed and beautiful furnishings plus free WIFI. The bathroom was very large and the bath towels were extra big and soft.
Dinner was 5 courses of beautifully cooked food by Elaine, and served delightfully by Henry, who was the perfect host and a wealth of local information. He gave us excellent assistance to plan the remainder of our journey and recommended variety of places to visit and a hotel to stay in for our next night which proved just as wonderful!
This hotel does have free WIFI in all areas - despite what some internet booking sites say - it definitely does have internet access.
We took a walk before dinner to a lake where we discovered a fairy tale grotto under the pine tree plantation near the lake - got some fabulous photos here.
The house has a wonderful library bar, a beautiful drawing room and a lovely dining room.
Breakfast was more than ample and once again cooked to perfection by Elaine.
We loved our stay at Ross Lake hotel and if you choose to stay here you will not be disappointed in anything!!

Room Tip: Free WIFI, huge comfortable beds & great food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mytimenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Brunswick
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2011

my sister and I went to Ireland because it is our heritage and we stayed at the Ross Lake House Hotel during our visit. Henry and Elaine made our stay. They were so receptive and made us feel at home.

I would go back an stay at their place anytime.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neetobenito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Just completed a three night stay at Ross Lake House as part of my "roots" tour of Ireland. I initially found Ross Lake through TripAdvisor and was not disappointed. I wished to stay outside of Galway as a base for my exploration of the Connemara area - Ross Lake fit the bill perfectly. The old manor house boasts charming, comfortable public areas ( library bar, drawing room) where guests may gather before and after dinner for a pre- or post- prandial libation and conversation. As I was traveling on my own, I particularly appreciated the friendly, welcoming atmosphere and the opportunity to chat with other guests, many of whom are repeat visitors. Hosts/owners Elaine and Henry Reid do a superb job of making everyone feel at home and are very helpful in suggesting things to see in the area, scenic routes to take, etc. The Irish breakfasts are served in generous portions and feature fresh breads, porridge, eggs, sausage, bacon from local purveyors. I had the four-course dinner (€45) there on two evenings and enjoyed the excellent fresh seafood and lamb which were served (other options were also available). All in all, I would definitely recommend Ross Lake to anyone wishing to have an enjoyable stay in the area!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeCod327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

It's hardly surprising that there are no negative reviews for this wonderful hotel. Stayed for 3 nights with my husband on our first trip to Ireland outwith Dublin. We did have trouble finding the place - don't assume it's on Ross Lake - it's on the other side of the road! Our Irish holiday was for relaxation and that is just what we got here. We run our own business from home and having been brave enough to travel without a laptop finding we couldn't even use a mobile phone in the room was an extra bonus (we just had to go outside). The room was well furnished and very comfortable, the hotel was a little old fashioned but again very comfortable and relaxing. The real star though was the food. We ate in the restaurant every night. Henry said the food was 'simple' - yes it was but also of superb quality and beautifully cooked and presented. We had perfectly pink local lamb, fillet steaks with garlic butter, fresh fish with lemon butter, all seved with a smile, a joke and fresh local vegetables and all cooked to order. Unlike most larger hotels the menu changes every evening. The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring Connemara but still an easy drive on the new motorway to Dublin. If you want total relaxation, a beautiful location, good friendly service and absolutely superb food this is the place to come. We will be back

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishtraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killaguille, Owner at Ross Lake House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2010
Thank you so much for your lovely words and describing our house as been just perfect.
Look forward to welcoming you back to Rosslake house soon again. Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2010

My husband and our 3 adult children stayed at this serene hotel during our trip to Ireland. Our tour booked this for us so we had no idea what to expect. We were so pleasantly surprised by the bucolic setting and hospitality of the owners. We ate dinner at the hotel on the night of our arrival. The meal was delicious. Drinks in the library, dinner in the dining room and coffee in the drawing room. The rooms were enchanting and there was plenty of space. The only complaint (and this is not really a complaint) is that this hotel is not within walking distance of any town so make sure you have a car available. This is a real gem!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msulli10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
11.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,703 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
9.9 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,630 reviews
11.5 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
191 reviews
12.3 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ross Lake House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Lake House Hotel

Property: Ross Lake House Hotel
Address: Rosscahill, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ross Lake House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ross Lake House Hotel in Galway is a splendid 19th Century Georgian House. Built in 1850, this charming Galway hotel is formerly an estate house of the landed gentry, who prized it for its serenity. Set amidst rambling woods and rolling lawns, it is truly a haven of peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ross Lake House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ross Lake Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel Oughterard, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing