We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ross Lake Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Oughterard
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ross Lake Hotel”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Hotel is in an idyllic, remote area outside of Oughterard. It is a beautiful manor home with antique furniture. Henry and Elaine give special attention to guests and were the highlight to this place. She is an excellent cook and you need to let her know in advance when you will dine. You order your meal in a quaint bar as dinner is prepared. Henry gives great tour suggestions and helped us locate distant relatives. It was so refined that we stayed another day. This place ranks with luxury, castle hotels and is priced accordingly.
Connemara is a very pleasant section of Ireland, although the cottages with thatched roofs have been replaced with new homes. When you drive in remote areas, don't be surprised about sheep roaming on roads.

Room Tip: Rooms are priced by size and we were upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edvonlef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    33
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
98
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Looking for something a little different for a special anniversary weekend we booked the Ross Lake House Hotel. We weren't disappointed! As the other reviews here have mentioned the Ross Lake is a special hotel. Ideally situated as a base to tour round the breathtaking Connemara countryside, you're also just 25 minutes from Galway city and all it has to offer too.

Ross Lake is a lovely period manor house and our four-poster bedroom was very tastefully appointed. But it was the owners, Henry and Elaine that were what really made our stay special. Elaine's marvellous evening meals in the restaurant were a delight and Henry was such a fantastically entertaining host. He even took the time to show us a great route to follow as we set out each morning to make the most of our time in Connemara too, his local knowledge was so useful.

If you're looking for a hotel with personalty then this is the place for you. We have such great memories of our Connemara trip - thank you Henry and Elaine for all your hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otto-mate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed here on Oct 29th. It was a pleasant stay but didnt meet my expectations after reading the reviews here. The house is set away in the woods but dont come here if you are looking for any aspect or views of lakes, mountains or the sea. And really it is not in the heart of connemara, it is just at the gateway to connemara and is very accessible to Galway. The hosts were very pleasant and are so hard working. The dinner was priced at 43 each which was a 4 course meal (We had goats cheese salad /chicken liver pate for starter, then soup, then lamb and then a nice baileys ice cream dessert. Also coffee/tea. The Bar was pleasant, and that was were dinner orders were taken. Everything is done by the clock to ensure that the team know when everyone is eating...basically orders are taken from 7 and everyone eats together between 8 and 9. Breakfast was average...a small buffet for cereals/yougurts/cheese/juices. And then a full Irish. Nothing to go mad about. Service was excellent. Nothing too much trouble and a real friendly touch. The house itself is in good shape.You are guaranteed a pleasant stay here! They are closed from now till March getting a well deserved break. Would I go back? I wouldnt be rushing back...but I am sure I might one day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We are up early and walking the grounds. Ross Lake Hotel is surrounded by lush Irish woodlands with a rushing river/stream along the drive in. The hosts, Elaine and Henry, met us at the door and made us feel at home. I cannot say enough good things about the hosts/owners. Henry sat us down with a map and helped us map out or travel plans including where to eat. In the evening we sat in the library bar and talked about travels and all things Irish. All plans were spot on. All rooms were clean, fresh and quite comfortable. Food was very good especially the warm goat cheese salad/starter. I would recommend this place to those who want a lovely Irish experience in a beautiful, quiet and tucked away Hotel/ Manor house with great hosts who go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Southernpoultry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sd
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The hotel is in a secluded area on beautiful grounds. We had the Lord Harding room with 4 poster bed. The room was elegant and comfortable. I could get wifi by by stepping a few feet out of the bedroom, and in the lounge. The hosts were friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and I was delighted to find pavlova on the dessert menu. It was delicious. The dining is quite formal for dinner, but relaxed for breakfast. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sullysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Made a mistake by thinking I was going to be staying in Galway, which it turned out to be a half hour away. Expecting the worst, we found the best, a beautifully furnished, and spacious room. A great location for exploring the Connemara district of Ireland.
The meals, breakfast and dinner were superb, definitely gourmet quality. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My wife and I spent 3 wonderful days here. The owners and staff are charming, friendly and helpful. The room was tastefully done and very comfortable. The dinner sitting was somewhat formal but fun as is the breakfast sitting

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scalez50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
5.9 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
9.8 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
9.9 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
11.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
33.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ross Lake House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Lake House Hotel

Property: Ross Lake House Hotel
Address: Rosscahill, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ross Lake House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ross Lake House Hotel in Galway is a splendid 19th Century Georgian House. Built in 1850, this charming Galway hotel is formerly an estate house of the landed gentry, who prized it for its serenity. Set amidst rambling woods and rolling lawns, it is truly a haven of peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ross Lake House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ross Lake Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel Oughterard, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing