We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Provins”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oughterard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had two nights in Ross Lake House. My husband and I enjoyed very much our stay. The room is quite big and super clean. The breakfast is very good. Fresh squeeze orange juice, hot porridge , toast, Irish traditional breakfast, coffee, tea. Th living room has two fireplaces, the antique furniture, the cozy place to sit down at night. We took a 20 mins walk to the lake and passed the farms and saw sheepskin, horses and cows. Very pleasant countryside scenery. Very peaceful!!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Polly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Discovering that we weren't needed for Grandparenting Duties we made a booking on line with Manor House Hotel Group for Ross Lake House,from Tue 30th,Oct -Thurs1st Nov.
After a long drive from Carrickfergus we arrived in the late afternoon.Our room was to the front ,"Captain Crowe" and was a twin as requested.Comfortable and warm.
We quickly made our way to the Lounge for a cup of tea and bikkie for which we were billed!!.
As it was late we decided to have Dinner later which was excellent.Henry the Proprietor is a charming man and made us feel very welcome.A word of warning if you haven't been to Republic of Ireland recently "The cost of wine is extortionate".
We discovered that the House was being closed down for the winter at the end of the week,but this did not detract from our stay as we wanted peace and quiet.
While in Connemara we went to visit the Cliffs of Moher.
Rather a long journey from where we were,but worth the effort.
On our second night we also ate in the Hotel and were not disappointed with the food.
Overall we enjoyed our stay in the Ross Lake House,and Henry and Elaine were delightful hosts.We would stay here again.
Perhaps the room rates could be viewed as high,considering the Hotel does not provide anything other than Peace and Quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TubalCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Be aware that this place is way out in the country. It's miles down a one lane road to get to it.
What that means is that it is one of the quietest places I've ever slept. We feel in love with our
waiter, Joseph, who took very good care of us at all meals, drawing us maps of where we should visit the next day. We spent evenings in front of the fire place in the drawing room, taking tea, eating marvelous desserts and being entertained by Henry, the proprietor. I felt like we had slipped into the country house of a Jane Austen novel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dayoppermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This place is magical. First there is the location: You approach down a lush country road. There is a bower of green overhead and you parallel a gurgling brook until this vine covered mansion bursts into view. On the grounds there are many varieties of carefully tended trees and masses of Rhododendrons. Now you enter the door and immediately feel the warmth of this lovingly restored mansion: Red geraniums on the windowsill, a winding stairway that leads your weary feet to a place of warmth and comfort. Our room was spacious and light and furnished with beautiful antiques. Everything in it from the draperies to the bed linens were of the highest quality and good taste. After a noisy night in our previous location we slept like bears as the quiet of the counrtyside enveloped us. And what can I say about the food service that would be adequate? Henry, our owner-host, was genuine and engaging. Dinner was delicious and we were spolied rotten as our every need was attended. But the breakfast will always stay in my memory. We sat in a sun filled window in this beautiful dining room furnished with lovingly selected antiques. Our breakfast was cooked to order by the owner, Elaine Reid. We ate eggs from the chickens down the road and melt-in -your -mouth biscuits and home made jams accompanied by pots of Irish tea. And as Elaine buzzed back and forth to care for our needs we engaged in converstaion about the history of Ross Lake House and the Reid's passion for hospitality. We felt like guests in the sumptious home of long lost friends. Ross Lake House will frame the memory of our trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

GOing to Galway or Connemara - and want a truly authentic visitor experience in comfortable and spotlessly clean surroundings? - look no further! Your hosts are masters of their art delivering the best possible experience that compliments the natural and cultural heritage in this part of Ireland. We're going back -and soon I hope!!

Stayed: July 2012
1  Thank tourtalk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We loved the location; the rooms were very nice-spacious and clean. I was confused about dinner service; there seemed to be an agenda that I wasn't aware of and couldn't follow. It seemed there were rules about the progression. The food was very good and the owners quite helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zenmartha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I stayed here with my husband and our baby in April. It was our 2nd visit to the Rosslake. We had stayed here a few years ago and were very impressed so decided to return for a night having spent 2 nights in Salthill. The stay was as good as our last. The hotel is tucked away off the main road and surrounded by woodland, there is a lovely feel of peace and tranquility about the place. The hosts Elaine and Henry are extremely friendly and helpful. We didn't leave the hotel during our stay, we had a few drinks in the bar and dinner in the restaurant which suited us perfectly with a baby in tow. The food was excellent, we both had fish, everything tasted so fresh and was cooked to perfection. The breakfast next morning was excellent and was cooked to order which makes a nice change from the buffet style breakfast in most hotels. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clogher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
5.9 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 5 in Oughterard
290 reviews
24.4 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
9.8 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21 mi away
Lough Inagh Lodge
Lough Inagh Lodge
#2 of 2 in Recess
254 reviews
11.1 mi away
Fairhill House Hotel
Fairhill House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clonbur
104 reviews
12.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ross Lake House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Lake House Hotel

Address: Rosscahill, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oughterard
Price Range: £115 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ross Lake House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ross Lake House Hotel in Galway is a splendid 19th Century Georgian House. Built in 1850, this charming Galway hotel is formerly an estate house of the landed gentry, who prized it for its serenity. Set amidst rambling woods and rolling lawns, it is truly a haven of peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ross Lake House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ross Lake Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel Oughterard, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing