We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Connemara Countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oughterard
Certificate of Excellence
Monaco di Baviera
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A gem in Connemara Countryside”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have been there for 5 night stay and I can only say good things, a beatiful Georgian House restaurated by Elaine and Henry who have been managing it for more than thirty years.
When we got there it was late at night and we thought we were lost in the middle of the forrest, and then suddenly there was a scenic entrance after following a strea: It was really a dramatic impact. The House is surrounded by woodland and it s an hymn to peace and tranquillity.
We have got an offer for a suite and it was fabolous and worth the extra money. Great stay, beautiful decoration and furniture, a sense of relax, and a fox who visited us coming very close to our window at the ground floor for two nights.
I had nice chats on some of the evenings with other guests and Henry in the beautiful common areas (a nice bar, a great living room with fireplaces).
Everything was spotless clean and greatly maintaned, and you see the effort and love that Elaine and Henry put in doing it.

We did not have dinner there (difficult with our small daughter) so i can only comment the good breakfast you could chose from a menu and a common buffet area. It met our expetactions.

The location is really great and if you were not at the gate of Connemara (village of Oughterad is 6/7 KM away) it was really tempting to spend all days in the property, with beautiful trees, wide and perfectly maintained lawns and a good choice of trails going into the forrest or to the Lake (Lough Corrib) that is not as close (6KM) and the House name seems to suggest.

I do not think this place is for everybody's taste but was more than perfect for us. If you like to be close to shops, restaurants orvillages or if you do not like to drive than is not for you. If you want an oasis of peace as a starting point to visit breathtaking Connemara, Galway (about 25 KM) or even more remote locations (we went up to Achill Island) than you are in the right place. We were really luky with the weather (6 days of full sunshine and warm temperature) so we really enjoyed our stay in this cosy house.Houses (and owners) like this mark the abyss between an impersonal and cold hotel and truly Irish hospitality

Room Tip: I cannot compare with other rooms but if you have the chance to stay in teh Jr suite go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano6408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    36
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
108
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Narangba
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This was our first B&B in Ireland what a start great rooms beautiful home and the breakfast and dinner service were above par Joe the maitre de was full of helpful information and possessed that Irish gift of Hospitality in spades . The owners Elaine and Henry were great we were thoroughly spoiled . Could not recommend this B&B any more highly 10 out of 10 .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We enjoyed our stay there especially since it was right before the tourist season began and we were the only pampered guests. The rooms are a nice size and the grounds are beautiful - you are greeted with a lovely flowing stream alongside the driveway. We were thankful for our excellent international GPS to guide us there on narrow back roads. The breakfasts were delicious and varied and since we were the only guests, we ate our delightful dinners by the fire in the bar area. Although Joseph the chef had not arrived, the lady of the house is a wonderful cook and served 4 and 5 course gourmets meals - superb from the appetizers to desserts - all homemade with extra fresh ingredients, generous portions
We were a bit cold upon arrival but the radiators heated up quickly. The luxurious bed linens caused us not to want to get up on time and was very quiet place to sleep. There are cable televisions in the rooms.
The husband host is very entertaining and helpful and a real talker but can tell some good stories. He gave us good advice on directions, places to visit and where to eat while there. This hotel/bed and breakfast is a good place to stay and dine for several days and make day trips around Connemara from there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

We had two nights in Ross Lake House. My husband and I enjoyed very much our stay. The room is quite big and super clean. The breakfast is very good. Fresh squeeze orange juice, hot porridge , toast, Irish traditional breakfast, coffee, tea. Th living room has two fireplaces, the antique furniture, the cozy place to sit down at night. We took a 20 mins walk to the lake and passed the farms and saw sheepskin, horses and cows. Very pleasant countryside scenery. Very peaceful!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Polly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Discovering that we weren't needed for Grandparenting Duties we made a booking on line with Manor House Hotel Group for Ross Lake House,from Tue 30th,Oct -Thurs1st Nov.
After a long drive from Carrickfergus we arrived in the late afternoon.Our room was to the front ,"Captain Crowe" and was a twin as requested.Comfortable and warm.
We quickly made our way to the Lounge for a cup of tea and bikkie for which we were billed!!.
As it was late we decided to have Dinner later which was excellent.Henry the Proprietor is a charming man and made us feel very welcome.A word of warning if you haven't been to Republic of Ireland recently "The cost of wine is extortionate".
We discovered that the House was being closed down for the winter at the end of the week,but this did not detract from our stay as we wanted peace and quiet.
While in Connemara we went to visit the Cliffs of Moher.
Rather a long journey from where we were,but worth the effort.
On our second night we also ate in the Hotel and were not disappointed with the food.
Overall we enjoyed our stay in the Ross Lake House,and Henry and Elaine were delightful hosts.We would stay here again.
Perhaps the room rates could be viewed as high,considering the Hotel does not provide anything other than Peace and Quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TubalCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escanaba, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Be aware that this place is way out in the country. It's miles down a one lane road to get to it.
What that means is that it is one of the quietest places I've ever slept. We feel in love with our
waiter, Joseph, who took very good care of us at all meals, drawing us maps of where we should visit the next day. We spent evenings in front of the fire place in the drawing room, taking tea, eating marvelous desserts and being entertained by Henry, the proprietor. I felt like we had slipped into the country house of a Jane Austen novel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dayoppermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This place is magical. First there is the location: You approach down a lush country road. There is a bower of green overhead and you parallel a gurgling brook until this vine covered mansion bursts into view. On the grounds there are many varieties of carefully tended trees and masses of Rhododendrons. Now you enter the door and immediately feel the warmth of this lovingly restored mansion: Red geraniums on the windowsill, a winding stairway that leads your weary feet to a place of warmth and comfort. Our room was spacious and light and furnished with beautiful antiques. Everything in it from the draperies to the bed linens were of the highest quality and good taste. After a noisy night in our previous location we slept like bears as the quiet of the counrtyside enveloped us. And what can I say about the food service that would be adequate? Henry, our owner-host, was genuine and engaging. Dinner was delicious and we were spolied rotten as our every need was attended. But the breakfast will always stay in my memory. We sat in a sun filled window in this beautiful dining room furnished with lovingly selected antiques. Our breakfast was cooked to order by the owner, Elaine Reid. We ate eggs from the chickens down the road and melt-in -your -mouth biscuits and home made jams accompanied by pots of Irish tea. And as Elaine buzzed back and forth to care for our needs we engaged in converstaion about the history of Ross Lake House and the Reid's passion for hospitality. We felt like guests in the sumptious home of long lost friends. Ross Lake House will frame the memory of our trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
11.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,703 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
9.9 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,631 reviews
11.5 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
191 reviews
10.5 mi away
Connemara Coast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ross Lake House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Lake House Hotel

Property: Ross Lake House Hotel
Address: Rosscahill, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ross Lake House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ross Lake House Hotel in Galway is a splendid 19th Century Georgian House. Built in 1850, this charming Galway hotel is formerly an estate house of the landed gentry, who prized it for its serenity. Set amidst rambling woods and rolling lawns, it is truly a haven of peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Ross Lake House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ross Lake Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel Oughterard, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing