We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ross Lake House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$1,886
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peacockes Hotel(Maam Cross)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Currarevagh House(Oughterard)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
114
37
10
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
37
10
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish coffeetwo nightsaward winningfour poster bedcatch the ferrybit wornachill islandlarge bedroom and bathroomthe ownerunique experiencegracious hostsirish hospitalityenjoyed our staywonderful dinnerrooms are spacious and cleanbreakfast and dinnerbeautiful grounds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We found this hotel on line whilst touring Eire and booked for two nights. On arriving at the hotel it felt right and as soon as we went into reception we knew we had made a good choice. Our room was large and comfortable overlooking the rear lawn. Surrounded by trees so not much of a view but that didn't matter as we don't spend our holiday sitting in hotel rooms. The ensuite was also pretty big and very clean.
The bed was enormous and extremely comfortable and the room was furnished in an Edwardian style, entirely appropriate for the hotel. It was also nice and quiet.
Henry and Elaine the owners are lovely people. Henry is eccentric in a charming way and was quite a character. Joe and the other staff in the restaurant are very attentive and polite and anxious to help. The breakfasts are brilliant and for us the most memorable part of our stay was the quality of the food in the restaurant.
The only negatives: not being able to get WiFi in the bedroom and one morning there didn't seem to be enough hot water for my shower, but overall a good experience and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreedenceClearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed for three nights at this very pleasant hotel. The bedroom looked a little tired and certainly much smaller than the ones shown on the website but was comfortable enough even though the television was not worth watching. There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, no shampoo only shower gel in the bathroom and WiFi only available in the public lounge. The food, however, was amazing with both Joe and Henry being very attentive. It was lovely to be waited on in such a friendly yet efficient manner. We do, however, think that the rates are quite high especially for the room we were allocated, considering what is on offer. I'm glad we stayed here this time but would think twice before returning, as the facilities in the other hotels at which we stayed were far better and we paid less for each of our three nights breaks.

Room Tip: Check when booking to find out which room your are being allocated as there doesn't appear to be a choice on the website when choosing the 'special 3 night offer'.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gardeners2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Wwe were a bit disappointed by Ross Lake House. Firstly it is misnamed, as it is about three miles from Ross Lake, surrounded by dense trees and undergrowth and has no vista of any description. And it is a pity that a passably handsome house has been disfigured by the addition of a thoroughly awful function suite which was rendered redundant as the Celtic Tiger lost its claws and the wedding business collapsed..

We were greeted enthusiastically by Henry Reid and escorted to a very pleasant junior suite for which we had managed to negotiate a very good rate. Maybe that is why he charged us 6 euro for a cup of afternoon tea with no biscuits? Henry does a very good Basil Fawlty impression as when, in a loud voice, he told a quartet of Australians, who did not understand the dinner booking routine that " they had not been listening to him"

We were disappointed by the food. I am quite convinced that the breast of duckling and chicken kiev came out of the back of a delivery van and that the chocolate profiteroles came out of a packet. Breakfast was also below par for an Irish country house hotel.

I think that Ross Lake House has passed its peak and is now gently sinking into mediocraty.

Room Tip: None of the rooms has any view to speak of.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esler c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My fiancée and I decided to spend a few days in Ireland before flying back to the USA. He found this place online and we decided to give it a try. This hotel is exactly what we were looking for : amazing views , extremely friendly staff , soft beds and one of the most fantastic meals I have ever had! ( and I have had meals in many fancy places around the world) If you are looking for a romantic gateway or a relaxing place then this is your place. Completely worth the price you pay for it so don't let bad reviews fool you :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Very comfortable room in beautiful building in beautiful setting, parking right up to the door, excellent food and service, room immaculate clean, owner very knowledgeable about the area. Had two nights here. Would definitely stay again. Worth every penny of high-ish cost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews