We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Ross Lake House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oughterard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at the Ross Lake House for two nights in September, our visit was very enjoyable and we highly recommend it. The House dates from the mid 1800's (with renovations and additions since then) and some of that character remains; high ceilings, large comfortable rooms, a separate living room and bar, and attractive grounds. The House is set back a distance from the main road and feels as though you're at an estate in the woods - very pleasant. Henry and Elaine (the owners) are wonderful hosts and excellent company and my wife and I will look forward to staying with them again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalTourist3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

My partner and I spent three nights in this wonderful hotel and can't fault a single thing about our stay. Our room was beautiful and very spacious with lovely views over the gardens. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept so soundly that we almost slept past breakfast which would have been a real shame as breakfast was fantastic. We had dinner in the hotel on two of the nights and apart from the delicious food, the relaxing ambience and friendly and efficient service made for a truly wonderful evening each time. After dinner drinks were enjoyed in the cosy bar where we chatted to the friendly and ever helpful owners Elaine and Henry Reid. This hotel is truly a relaxing haven where you really can get away from it all. There is no WiFi in the bedrooms but honestly this was actually not a bad thing. In fact we hardly used our phones for the three days, choosing instead to switch off and relax. There is WiFi downstairs but even there it was lovely to just sit and read or chat over coffee in the elegant and comfortable drawing room. In fact we just left the phones and laptop upstairs and totally embraced the peace and tranquillity of Ross Lake House.
When we did venture out we found the hotel to be perfectly situated for visiting Connemara and yet only twenty minutes from Galway City.
We cannot speak highly enough of this lovely hotel and look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smurfette2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We found this hotel on line whilst touring Eire and booked for two nights. On arriving at the hotel it felt right and as soon as we went into reception we knew we had made a good choice. Our room was large and comfortable overlooking the rear lawn. Surrounded by trees so not much of a view but that didn't matter as we don't spend our holiday sitting in hotel rooms. The ensuite was also pretty big and very clean.
The bed was enormous and extremely comfortable and the room was furnished in an Edwardian style, entirely appropriate for the hotel. It was also nice and quiet.
Henry and Elaine the owners are lovely people. Henry is eccentric in a charming way and was quite a character. Joe and the other staff in the restaurant are very attentive and polite and anxious to help. The breakfasts are brilliant and for us the most memorable part of our stay was the quality of the food in the restaurant.
The only negatives: not being able to get WiFi in the bedroom and one morning there didn't seem to be enough hot water for my shower, but overall a good experience and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreedenceClearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed for three nights at this very pleasant hotel. The bedroom looked a little tired and certainly much smaller than the ones shown on the website but was comfortable enough even though the television was not worth watching. There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, no shampoo only shower gel in the bathroom and WiFi only available in the public lounge. The food, however, was amazing with both Joe and Henry being very attentive. It was lovely to be waited on in such a friendly yet efficient manner. We do, however, think that the rates are quite high especially for the room we were allocated, considering what is on offer. I'm glad we stayed here this time but would think twice before returning, as the facilities in the other hotels at which we stayed were far better and we paid less for each of our three nights breaks.

Room Tip: Check when booking to find out which room your are being allocated as there doesn't appear to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gardeners2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Wwe were a bit disappointed by Ross Lake House. Firstly it is misnamed, as it is about three miles from Ross Lake, surrounded by dense trees and undergrowth and has no vista of any description. And it is a pity that a passably handsome house has been disfigured by the addition of a thoroughly awful function suite which was rendered redundant as the Celtic Tiger lost its claws and the wedding business collapsed..

We were greeted enthusiastically by Henry Reid and escorted to a very pleasant junior suite for which we had managed to negotiate a very good rate. Maybe that is why he charged us 6 euro for a cup of afternoon tea with no biscuits? Henry does a very good Basil Fawlty impression as when, in a loud voice, he told a quartet of Australians, who did not understand the dinner booking routine that " they had not been listening to him"

We were disappointed by the food. I am quite convinced that the breast of duckling and chicken kiev came out of the back of a delivery van and that the chocolate profiteroles came out of a packet. Breakfast was also below par for an Irish country house hotel.

I think that Ross Lake House has passed its peak and is now gently sinking into mediocraty.

Room Tip: None of the rooms has any view to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esler c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My fiancée and I decided to spend a few days in Ireland before flying back to the USA. He found this place online and we decided to give it a try. This hotel is exactly what we were looking for : amazing views , extremely friendly staff , soft beds and one of the most fantastic meals I have ever had! ( and I have had meals in many fancy places around the world) If you are looking for a romantic gateway or a relaxing place then this is your place. Completely worth the price you pay for it so don't let bad reviews fool you :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Very comfortable room in beautiful building in beautiful setting, parking right up to the door, excellent food and service, room immaculate clean, owner very knowledgeable about the area. Had two nights here. Would definitely stay again. Worth every penny of high-ish cost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
5.9 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 5 in Oughterard
289 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
24.4 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
202 reviews
9.8 mi away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,738 reviews
11.5 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ross Lake House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Lake House Hotel

Address: Rosscahill, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oughterard
Price Range: £117 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ross Lake House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ross Lake House Hotel in Galway is a splendid 19th Century Georgian House. Built in 1850, this charming Galway hotel is formerly an estate house of the landed gentry, who prized it for its serenity. Set amidst rambling woods and rolling lawns, it is truly a haven of peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ross Lake House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ross Lake Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel Oughterard, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing