We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real nice for a quiet ale. AAA+”
Review of The Boat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boat Inn
Ranked #8 of 24 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Real nice for a quiet ale. AAA+”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were just driving through and saw this place. Real nice atmosphere. We shared a meal and can highly recommend this place. Staff here were very pleasant and always had a smile.
We would recommend this place

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    38
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
38
54
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shipley
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

If you look in at the Board Inn at lunch time it seems a rather ordinary bar. However, there is a transformation to a very good eatery in the evening. The competition in Oughterard does not seem to be very strong but that hasn't stopped the 'Boat' achieving a high standard of coking and presentation. The lamb was particularly good and the wines were well priced although the list was rather short. As a group of four, we were happily surprised and would certainly eat here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The food was very good, however there was only one server and he was run off his feet. It took over half an hour to place our food order and then it was about the same length of time to get the food. The food was hot when it came and very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Friendly and efficient service. Food was well presented and delicious. On a warm evening there is the opportunity to sit outside which we did, though there is also a nice ambience inside. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balinasloe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

On arrival the welcome was warm and most helpful, rooms basic but extremely clean and comfortable. Wonderful food in the bar, great atmosphere and so friendly.
A packet of coco pops was especially bought for my son for breakfast and he has deemed the boat Inn the best hotel in Ireland,our breakfast was huge and delicious Overall the service just couldn't be beaten and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you need an early night don't pick a room over the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryDW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have just had a group of 35 walkers stay in Oughterard for a great walking weekend. Most of them stayed in the Boat Inn, and all of our activities were centered on the Boat Inn. This was one of the best weekends our group has ever had. As the main organiser, I could not praise Rory and his team enough. I cannot recommend The Boat Inn enough. Nothing was a problem, the food was fantastic, the location was where we wanted to be, and our group will be returning to Oughterard. Thank you.

Room Tip: This is the centre of town, so on Saturday nights there may be noise until around 2am in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Dunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I just had dinner in the boat inn with my boyfriend. We found that the service was overall very good. For starters my boyfriend had the garlic mushrooms which had quite a lot of rotten lettuce, our mains courses were excellent ravioli and tagliatelle. And I had a lovely cheesecake. There is one waiter in particular, a red haired fellow that was working very hard with not a lot of help from the other two waitresses. We have been here before and will come back again. Good food.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelleroberts13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
3.0 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oughterard
159 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,682 reviews
3.0 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Connemara Lake Hotel
Connemara Lake Hotel
#10 of 24 in Oughterard
100 reviews
6.1 mi away
Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation
0.5 mi away
Carrowntober House B & B
Carrowntober House B & B
#7 of 24 in Oughterard
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Inn

Property: The Boat Inn
Address: Main Street | The Square, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boat Inn is situated in the heart of the village of Oughterard on the N59 nestled near the shores of Lough Corrib and on the doorstep to Connemara. It consists of a bar & restaurant serving fresh food daily to locals and visitors from 8am until 9pm. It boasts a large outdoor seating area to the front and a private walled garden restaurant to the rear. Accommodation consists of 10 newly refurbished en suite rooms. Our staff are friendly and efficient and will help make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Boat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat Inn Oughterard, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing