We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crossriver Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oughterard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crossriver Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 24 Oughterard B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago, the owners of the house were very welcoming and offered us plenty of information about the village. Tea was served upon arrival, and our luggage was carried to our rooms by the owners son. We really enjoyed our stay here, the home made brown bread which was served with a lovely full Irish breakfast was the best bread I have eve had. I simply cannot fault this B & B, I hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: We had a room looking over the well maintained gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sydelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    6
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We had an unexpected trip to oughterard recently, and had to stay for two nights in crossriver Bed & Breakfast, this is a family run business and what an excellent reception we got from Wally and Theresa, could not do enough for us, excellent home cooked food and plenty of it too, luxurious rooms, taste ful decor, spotless and spacious, we had every comfort one could ask for, and would certainly recommend this to other travellers if you are looking for a real Irish Welcome. well done to the whole family

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy186643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed at Crossriver with my parents and aunt recently and we were all really impressed with the beautiful clean rooms, excellent Irish breakfast and the warm welcome from Mrs B for whom nothing was too much trouble. We would certainly stay again if we visited Connemara in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sprite59_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We booked two rooms but when we arrived the owner had given them to some guests who filled also the last free room (they were 5, we were 3). The owner found us another accomodation, but with different services (i.e. we needed to have a wifi access, but the new B&B hadn't it). I can understand the equation: more guests = more money, but I think that this is misconduct.
I can't obviously evaluate services&rooms.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Koalafede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

My friends and I stumbled across this bed and breakfast this May and I am delighted to report that our stay was one to remember, we were greeted by the lady of the house who in turn was welcoming, and extremely informative she provided us with extensive information on where to eat and sites to see whille visiting the area. Our stay in crossiver was lovely the bedroom was bright, clean and the view from our bedroom was over looking the well maintained gardens, I would highly recommend this place to anyone it ranges from a child friendly environment to one for the older adult. I most certainly hope to return to this Family run B&B .

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DevonKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2006

Good location close to town and with some lovely walks around.
We were a bit disappointed with our room - it was pretty small and lacking in the extras that travellers need. No coffee/tea or hairdryer and lacking in huge, fluffy towels. No real problems - just a feeling that our euros were the important thing! Breakfast was perfectly fine and our hosts seemed friendly enough. A lack of thought means that we won't be back there.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AudB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oughterard hotels
0.7 mi away
Carrowntober House B & B
Carrowntober House B & B
#12 of 24 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Waterfront House Country Home
0.3 mi away
Riverwalk House
Riverwalk House
#11 of 24 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre
0.2 mi away
Connemara Lake Hotel
Connemara Lake Hotel
#8 of 24 in Oughterard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.3 mi away
Corrib Wave House
Corrib Wave House
#14 of 24 in Oughterard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossriver Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossriver Bed & Breakfast

Property: Crossriver Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lake Road, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Crossriver Bed & Breakfast Oughterard, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing