We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing B&B”
Review of Waterfall Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oughterard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterfall Lodge
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing B&B”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

beautiful house right beside waterfall, lovely friendly people and delicious breakfast!
Peaceful and fabulous location. plenty wildlife in area and lovely village nearby.

Room Tip: all spacious comfortable rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    11
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
36
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

It was our first time to stay in a B&B in at least 5 years but the pictures of the house were too good to pass up. Our room was huge, comfortable and had a view over the river. It was perfect. Our host was very welcoming and breakfast the next morning was relaxed and plentiful. The house is a short and pleasant walk along the river to the villages pubs and restaurants. There are lights and a footpath the whole way so it is very safe.

One slight niggle was the plethora of Lidl / Aldi products eg, chocolates, coffee, jam, tea, soap. I have no objection to these stores, I shop there myself, but its not too much to expect brand names when on holiday. Otherwise I would have no hesitation recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

I stayed here for just one night unfortunately. Welcoming and cosy with nice furniture and comfy bed. My room did not have an en suite but there was a bathroom right next door. The bath had an amazing high tech power shower but unfortunately so high tech I didnt have a clue how to use it without drowning ! It would have been nice to have had some instructions. Breakfast was excellent, home baked breads etc. Was so nice to get a call from the owner a couple of days later to say that she had found a jacket that I had left behind and was unaware. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritabix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Maryland USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We spent 3 nights here over Easter weekend. The house and its surroundings are beautiful and very peaceful. Kathleen and John were wonderful hosts. The beds were so comfortable!! Great location for visiting Galwy, Connemara and surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

This place is amazingly beautiful! The location could not be better. Right beside a rushing stream and not far from the center of town. Very bright inside with lots of windows and wonderful accommodations!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whales41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepherd, Michigan
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We spent three nights at the Waterfall Lodge B&B and would gladly return again. Our hosts, John and Kathleen Dolly, were warm, friendly, gracious, and welcoming. The breakfasts were wonderful. The first morning I enjoyed scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, then shifted to the scambled eggs and bacon. (I absolutely love Irish bacon!) There was a gorgeous four-poster bed in our room with lovely views of the grounds in full blossom. The lodge is right near the river and the sound of the waterfall and fast moving river, lulled us to sleep every night. I have never played "fairy princess" in my life that I can recall, but I sure felt like one at Waterfall Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank luckygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

The Waterfall Lodge is a beautiful home filled with gorgeous antique furnishings, with a pretty creek and waterfall right outside the house. It is a perfect central location to visit the Connemara area, including Kylemore Abbey, the town of Cong (of Quiet Man fame), and Ashford Castle (now a 5 star hotel). There are hidden roads nearby that are incredibly scenic. Kathleen Dolly, the owner of Waterfall Lodge, is very welcoming, and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WashingtonDCGardenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oughterard hotels
2.9 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
260 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oughterard
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oughterard Holiday Hostel & Angling Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carrowntober House B & B
Carrowntober House B & B
#8 of 24 in Oughterard
21 reviews
5.7 mi away
Nonaim Lodge Angling & Accommodation
0.7 mi away
Camillaun Lodge & Angling Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfall Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfall Lodge

Property: Waterfall Lodge
Address: N56, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Oughterard
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Waterfall Lodge Oughterard, County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing