We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“an extraordinary peaceful area”
other travellers have booked this property
lake view living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lake view living room
View from Garage Westwinds- view from the lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
lake view living room
View from Garage
Westwinds- view from the lake
Master suite
Main bathroom
Triple room (option to link two beds, to become  double)
private pier
Twin room
Living- Kitchen
Chill out with the wildlife!
Private Pier
Lake like glass today
kitchen living room with open fire/lake view
Kitchen
kitchen/living
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Oughterard, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
GDRCL
Nice, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“an extraordinary peaceful area”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Westwinds lough corrib is a very beautiful and pleasant house and has enjoyed all the family (2 adults and 3 children (between 11 and 14 y old)). When the sun is shining the view on the lake is similar to a incredible post card. The quality of beds and the noiseless place are very welcome for the rests. Our children have really appreciated the 6,000 square meter of fields available for all the games and their imaginations.
Even if Janet stays in the north of Ireland and was able to meet us, she was very available for all kind of help,

So thanks a lot Janet for the pleasure that we have taken in your home.

Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starskysm...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and Tranquility”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic find! This property has it all! We arrived a 2 week stay my husband and Holly our great dane. To be joined later in the first week by our and our 2 mothers one in her 70's and mobile and the other in her 80's less mobile. The bungalow was brilliant for my mum who can not walk far and needs everything on one level. Due to the size of the property we could have a proper family get together with all Mums family who live in oughterard and the surrounding area!
Holly our dog loved exploring outside and with plenty of area to bomb around and even went for a paddle. The Lough was so clear and we just couldn't get enough of the view. If you want somewhere with plenty of space, stunning views, peace and tranquility this is the place to stay! AMAZING!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine...
Castlewellan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful location, a real home from home!”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We just returned from a long weekend in Oughterard at the Lakeside Cottage. We simply couldn't believe it when we arrived - the best location of any self catering accommodation we have ever had! The spacious house is fronted by a long sweeping lawn that looks out over the lough - simply breathtaking. The children absolutely loved it and spent most of their time outside - exploring and running back and forth from the small pier at the end of the garden. Large windows look out on the view from all aspects, perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine. The house itself surpasses the photos on the website - huge and so well equipped with everything we could need! We both cycled and walked into Oughterard for pub lunches and a dander round the shops. We had a fantastic (but hectic) day in Galway and were so happy to return the the peace and tranquillity of our lakeside cottage. We are already planning our next visit! Thanks to the lovely Janet for helping us plan our West Coast break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing location!
Liked least: That I had to go home at the end!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2tricky2
2tricky2
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb Holiday Home”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed in the beautiful Oughterard for a week in February. This holiday home suited our family perfectly. The home has a lovely modern kitchen which had everything we needed We found the home to be very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The views of the lake are outstanding, such a relaxing and peaceful spot. We will defiantly return to Oughterard and highly recommend this holiday home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern kitchen and bathrooms
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula284...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We've stayed in this property on a couple of occasions over the last 2 years, both with friends and with our children. It is ideally located - overlooking the lake which is so peaceful and it's just a short walk into town where the pubs and restaurants are great. I would especially recommend The Boat Inn. The refurbishment looks great. can't wait to go back this year again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views of the lake
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dgoodman6...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic location for a big family get together, with plenty of space for the kids to run about. The breathtaking scenery and peaceful location makes for a perfect getaway and with Galway City just down the road there is always something to do! We made some wonderful family memories in lakeside cottage and will definitely be booking again for next year!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOH1966
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I've just come back from a short stay in this idyllic hideaway just outside the beautiful village of Oughterard. We have always stayed in Galway city itself but this accommodation allowed us to have a totally relaxing and very spacious place to stay in, with the choice of Galway city on the one side and Connemara on the other. The accommodation itself is a perfect for home from home experience but with the beauty of lough Corrib literally on your doorstep, the views are just amazing! We had a gorgeous holiday in this house and look forward to returning again very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it's so spacious and the views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;