We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves a major award”

Connemara Greenway Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Oughterard
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a small family run Restaurant, Café and Deli situated on the main street in Oughterard serving homemade meals, cakes and breads using Fresh, Seasonal, Locally Sourced Produce! Wines and local beers too! Serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Full Evening menu. Reservations Taken.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Deserves a major award”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

After our first visit last Saturday, we visited almost every day for our week's stay in Oughterade. It was so good!

This is a remarkable little gem of a place and only open nine weeks.

The food is outstanding. We travel to many places and eat out regularly and you won't get better food than here anywhere. The desserts, cakes, breads are all homemade. The meals are cooked to order by the remarkable chef, Marie. Her husband John is front of house and does it wonderfully. He recalls visitors from previous days and remembers bits of information from our conversations. He's ideal for his task. Nothing is too much trouble for this couple and even when I asked for only half a quiche that's what I was given!

They are working so hard and are going to do very well indeed!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank martianpoolwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    41
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious homemade food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

It's a lovely place you will find on the main road in Oughterard.
They have good products cooked with originality and passion. All well dressed and tasty.
We enjoyed a lot our time there. The owner is very nice and the music good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Easy charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Called into the greenway cafe for brunch as a group of 5 on our way to Connemara, delicious bacon and Brie sandwich, fresh salad and great cappuccino. Lovely relaxed ambience and food served by the proprietor with a welcoming easy charm. Will definitely return to sample the more extensive menu. A welcome addition to Oughterard. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mfw08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connemara
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful new cafe in Gateway to Connemara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is a wonderful new addition to the the village of Oughterard, the whole experience from entering the cafe weather you are having coffee - lunch- dinner or getting a take away is just a treat. The bakery is superb. Fantastic selection of goodies to take home. Best of luck to a fab cafe.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ConnemaraDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food buzzing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stopped of for excellent bacon and Brie sandwich.coffee great.good atmosphere as full.manner of manager excellent.believe first floor will be open soon which will increase space

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Connemara Greenway Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Oughterard, County Galway
 
Oughterard, County Galway
 

Been to Connemara Greenway Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing