We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballinsheen House & Gardens
Ranked #1 of 16 Lisdoonvarna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Extraordinary!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My daughter had the BEST of luck in finding Ballinsheen House. She wanted to tour the Burren. My heart was set on Cliffs of Moher. We were both extremely content. Mary is an Angel on earth! She "looked after us" in every way!! All of her recommendations of things to do, places to eat, etc. were delightful. We stayed 2 nights, and she was just the BEST hostess!! She went way beyond the call of duty in several instances. Breakfasts were very filling; smoked salmon was an unexpected offering. Our room was lovely. Mary's painting of a beautiful seascape was a gorgeous way to greet the days.

I have to add....this was the only B & B on our trip to supply a pitcher of water in the room, which was very handy, and much appreciated.
Lisdoonvarna is a wonderful town!! Roadside Tavern provided us with AUTHENTIC Irish music, and fabulous food! Everything is in walking distance from Ballinshhen House.
I HIGHLY recommend this fabulous bit of paradise!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank txsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
89
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

It's a place where you feel at home. The house, the room and the owner are very welcoming. Everything got the exact attention that it should get. The house and it's yard are very clean and nit. The room has all the facilities and all are in high level of maintenance. Highly recommended place.

Room Tip: If you're planning to stay near the Moher cliff, that's the place !!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank zeevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This delightful B & B is a must stay place if you are in the area. Mary has the most gorgeous place there, and you would really struggle to find better. Excellent value for money, and she makes everyone feel so welcome. The overall house was gorgeous, rooms fantastic and breakfast was an experience. I have stayed in 5* hotels and had a lot less to choose from for breakfast. We turned up quite late in the day and had not booked. We went to another b & b first only to find they had no vacancies and found Mary's farther along the road. Oh what luck the other one had no rooms. The 5* rating we are giving Mary still doesn't do her justice. 10* would be more appropriate. Many thanks Mary.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Mary supplied us with the most wonderful experience. If we could have changed our travel plans we would have stayed there for a week. Beautiful!!! If you haven't firmed up your Irish va-ca, make plans to visit Ballinsheen House in Lisdoonvarna

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jnlgaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinHs, Owner at Ballinsheen House & Gardens, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do a review.We do appreciate it.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay in Ballinsheen House ..and hope
to see you again in the future.
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristow, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Traveling with friends on a road trip around southern Ireland, we stayed with Mary for two nights while we were in the Burren area. It was a truly delightful experience. The rooms were spotless and the house has two lovely sitting areas. Mary was so friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank englishrose211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinHs, Owner at Ballinsheen House & Gardens, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review
its always appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us
and hope to welcome you back some time.
Regards Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Our 5 clean and tasteful rooms were ready despite the fact that we arrived early. Mary is eager to please and serve and was always there to help. Breakfast was delicious. The location is good and the rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. There are beautiful sitting rooms to enjoy so we bought food and brought it back with wine and beer for dinner in the spacious dining room. I was ill upon arrival and Mary ensured that I was settled in our room quickly. While the rest of the group golfed on our last day, Mary allowed me to stay in a comfortable sitting room and kept checking on me to see if I needed anything. We highly recommend Ballinsheen House.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinHs, Owner at Ballinsheen House & Gardens, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Hi Sharon

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you enjoyed our sitting rooms and
breakfast...in Ballinsheen House..
It was a pleasure to welcome you and your friends.

Regards Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed at Ballinsheen in April and was absolutely perfect! Mary was very welcoming and provided an excellent recommendation for dinner within walking distance. The room was beautiful and so comfortable. It was by far our best and favorite night visiting Ireland. Looking forward to the next visit

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 669CaitlinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BallinHs, Owner at Ballinsheen House & Gardens, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your great review.we do appreciate it.
I'm very glad you picked us as your best and favourite night in Ireland.

We hope to see you back in Ballinsheen House again soon.
Kind regards
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
2.0 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
306 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
152 reviews
6.4 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
1.9 mi away
Aran View Country House
2.2 mi away
Elements Guest House
Elements Guest House
#2 of 16 in Lisdoonvarna
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballinsheen House & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinsheen House & Gardens

Property: Ballinsheen House & Gardens
Address: Galway Road, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballinsheen House is a spacious architect designed home surrounded by mature trees with beautiful landscaped gardens.Enjoy the tranquillity of the countryside while being 5 minutes walk from the town centre. . All rooms are en-suite. TV,hairdryers tea/coffee facilities in all rooms. Free WiFi is available with your own Laptop. We offer a full breakfast menu in our spacious dining room/conservatory.Recommended by Rick Steves,Rough Guide,Guide du Routard and Gao Guide Gallimard.Faile Ireland graded 4**** country home and AA graded 4**** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ballinsheen House & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballinsheen House & Gardens Lisdoonvarna, The Burren, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing