We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Lisdoonvarna”
Review of Royal Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Spa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay in Lisdoonvarna”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Royal Spa in Lisdoonvarna, County Clare. The hotel was everything we expected: clean, well located and friendly. Truth be told, we spent most of the evening in Doolin listening to music (very close), but staying in Lisdoonvarna was very convenient. When we checked out, I left 2 shirts in the closet. The Royal Spa was kind enough to mail them on to our next destination. Great service.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    26
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights, the hotel was in a good location and rooms were clean and tidy. The service we received both on arrival and departure was terrible. The breakfast was only ok. The food in the restaurant is way over priced for what you get. Overall is was a bad experience and will not be returning again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paud01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I wish I would have known more about Lisdoonvarna when I was planning this trip. The Royal Spa was nice and clean, it is in the middle of town, so the location is great. After spending just a short time here I wish we could have stayed longer, but we will be back someday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

On a street jam-packed with B&Bs and hotels, I can't help but think we could have done better than this. The rooms are quite large but they've seen better days. Our bathtub looked like it had been kicked in and though it was generally clean, the overall feeling of the place was that it was a bit past its time. The rooms were noisy from the clatter on the street and stuffy even with the windows open ( though the latter was the symptom of the weather). The wifi was present , but not one of the party could get it to work systematically, including the IT guy.

That being said, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was tasty and included a choice of full Irish or smaller meals, including French toast (which I had- it was tasty).

But for the breakfast, I probably would have given this place two stars. I would definitely try a different place next time, but it's not awful enough to say not to go there. I just think it could all have just been a bit better.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank indigotima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed for a couple of days for a bike tour, and we would definetly recommend it.
The rooms where spacious and clean. The breakfast was great, you can choose irish breakfast, french toasts or pancakes.
Friendly and familiar staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas4indep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfield
Level Contributor
177 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

this hotel is an older property with charm. the staff was great, and we had an excellent evening there... it is in the middle of town, with parking~ the room was comfortable, not fancy but with a sweet old world charm. great late nite dessert~ and tea....
it was on the way for us between places, and thus very convenient for us..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeysmom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We liked our stay in this hotel.
Free parking at the back and very close to pubs and restaurant. No drive means a second beer........
Rooms are not very big but very comfy and clean.
Breakfeast is very good with extended menu to choose from for everybody.
I recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quentins_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.1 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
3.2 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.1 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Spa Hotel

Property: Royal Spa Hotel
Address: The Royal Spa Hotel Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Spa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Spa Hotel is located in the centre of the Clare town of Lisdoonvarna, just 64 killometres from Shannon airport. Conveniently situated within walking distance of shops, the Church, pharmacy, pubs and the local amenity park, the Royal Spa Hotel offers visitors a calm, relaxing haven where you can unwind from your adventures and plan new explorations. Clean, comfortable, family friendly accommodation and delicious home cooked meals are what is expected and delivered at the Royal Spa Hotel.Our Cafe is open daily 10-8pm serving delicious home cooked meals, Homemade Pizza's and our famous Seafood Chowdar.All our cakes and brown soda bread are made fresh daily on the premises.An ideal location to satisfy your appetite while visiting the many local attractions in the area, Cliffs of Moher, Doolin & Aillwee Caves, Burren National Park which are all within easy driving distance, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Royal Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Spa Hotel Lisdoonvarna, The Burren, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing