We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Royal Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Spa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Average hotel could do with updating the rooms a bit it's traditional style which is good however did not find bathroom very clean,shower curtain had damp spots all over it ,as had ceiling ,they defo need attention ,very polite staff,and accommodating! Just had breakfast which was average

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sharon198209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Location is great for taking the ferry to the Aran Islands from Doolin. The staff was very helpful. We checked in past 9 pm and the same staff who served us a late dinner at 9:45pm also served us the next morning at 8:30 am! They accommodated our needs and called the ferry companies to make a booking to the Aran Islands. Can't say enough good things about the staff. They were lovely.
Only issue was weak wifi and the rooms are average. Showers were great and the room was clean. It's only good for 1 night stay and for people who want good value for what they pay for.

Room Tip: If you are used to a 4 star experience, this place isn't for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100gracem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Having been in briefly and left the ritz, mistaken identity there, will leave it at that.
Walked up the street looking for somewhere to eat quite early 4pm, stumbled upon the cafe at the royal spa. How glad I found this great wee spot. Everything was great from we walked in the door. The coffee was spot on, I love my coffee. The service was prompt and the food was exceptional. Really well presented, tasted superb and fresh. Well worth the time to review. Still here, going to stay and have another coffee and some cake now. I don't want to leave. Lovely atmosphere. Well done. Really appreciated to find somewhere so nice, after being a bad start to the trip arriving here has made me smile again.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Jimmypirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a lovely little hotel in a fantastic location - Lisdoonvarna is a great place to stay if you want to see the surrounding Burren, the seaside, go surfing, visit the Aran islands, Cliffs of Moher etc. Highly recommended as a location for touring around Clare.

There is no spa at the hotel - I believe the name refers to a nearby Victorian bathing house - but there is a restaurant and pub-like bar on the premises, which also has parking. The room felt a bit dated and in need of a reno, but was spotless - the bathroom sparkled and linens were fresh. Sleep quality was quite good, and the windows opened wide, which is welcome. The place has an old-world family feel to it. Staff were lovely and everything went smoothly, although the wifi is really week - standing next to it I couldn't post a picture to Facebook.

The only food I can comment on was the breakfast, which was a typical Irish style fry-up. While it was cooked well and presented nicely, the quality of the ingredients seemed kind of low - overly fatty rashers, etc. But nothing out of the ordinary for most of the Irish hotels I've been to.

Overall I would rate this hotel average for the price range, but that's not a bad thing. I might be tempted to check out other options in Lisdoonvarna if I returned, but wouldn't hesitate to stay again if it looked like the best value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WipedNWired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

As the restaurant in the Imperial Hotel across the road was so bad we decided to try this hotel for food. The restaurant was cosy and very busy. There were several choices on the menu. Food was excellent and service very good. Lovely beer garden to the rear.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Booked 2 rooms for the night. There were other costlier options in town but for the one night stay it served our purpose well. It certainly provided good value - the rooms were clean and neat and the next morning's breakfast was quite good. Service was also nice and friendly. Location was very convenient to explore the area. We drove to Cliffs of Moher in about 15 minutes and was at Bunratty castle the following day within an hour.
We had the first 2 rooms in our hallway which I initially was concerned about from a noise perspective. This wasn't an issue after all.

Our stay here met our expectations and would consider staying here again in the future. If you're budget conscious I would certainly recommend.

Note that the town was real quiet, nearly empty, during our night's stay. If you're looking for more, you might look at staying in nearby Doolin.

Room Tip: If you're looking for better wifi signal ask for a room further from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SteveCap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel was built in the 1800s and you feel the charm. It is fresh and well kept, but the styling and decor make you feel like you're in some BBC period drama. Our room was an adequate size, the bathroom was spacious with a full size tub and shower. Breakfast was nice, staff was helpful. There is no elevator, so this would not be a good choice for someone who cannot do stairs. Close to many pubs with music. Small car park around back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingaroo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.0 mi away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
270 reviews
5.5 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
3.2 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Spa Hotel

Address: The Royal Spa Hotel Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range: £73 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Spa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Spa Hotel is located in the centre of the Clare town of Lisdoonvarna, just 64 killometres from Shannon airport. Conveniently situated within walking distance of shops, the Church, pharmacy, pubs and the local amenity park, the Royal Spa Hotel offers visitors a calm, relaxing haven where you can unwind from your adventures and plan new explorations. Clean, comfortable, family friendly accommodation and delicious home cooked meals are what is expected and delivered at the Royal Spa Hotel.Our Cafe is open daily 10-8pm serving delicious home cooked meals, Homemade Pizza's and our famous Seafood Chowdar.All our cakes and brown soda bread are made fresh daily on the premises.An ideal location to satisfy your appetite while visiting the many local attractions in the area, Cliffs of Moher, Doolin & Aillwee Caves, Burren National Park which are all within easy driving distance, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Spa Hotel Lisdoonvarna, The Burren, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing