We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else!”
Review of Wild Honey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wild Honey Inn
Ranked #5 of 16 Lisdoonvarna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Full of clutter! After finally locating an off site parking spot and negotiating 4 flights of stairs we found ourselves in a small room with nowhere to put anything as all the horizontal surfaces were covered with cushions, mannequins, knick-knacks and magazines. We could fit the luggage under the bed but accessing it later required logistics, patience and fortitude! The breakfast was disappointing as after the 5 star dinner last night in a separate bar/restaurant we had great expectations but noticed a different chef on board and it was downhill from there. Poor acoustics, food and service and reminiscences of Fawlty Towers started to pepper the conversation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank foghornleghorn68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Ate here a few weeks ago and could not wait to get back. All we can say is that if you are looking for quality food in a relaxed setting then I just don't think you can do better than this.
Kate and the chef Aidan are doing a wonderful job.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank christie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Recently stayed in this wonderful boutique style Hotel which in my opinion provides a Five Star service throughout.
The attention to detail within the bedrooms is a good as it gets. I hosted a large dinner party for my friends, the food was just wonderful which included perfectly cooked Dover Sole and Crab Claws were the best i have ever experienced, low-key professional service, extraordinary food and an exceptional Wine List.
I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodyIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Lovely little place in a relaxed casual surrounding. The food is top notch as is the service.,great wine list too. This was one of the best meals both my wife and I have had in quiet a while. Well worth a visit. Aiden Mc Grath is a seriously talented chef

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Norbert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This place exceeded every expectation I had.

We've stayed in all types of lodging accommodations from cut rate hotels to five star over priced luxury resorts. Considering all of those spots, Wild Honey Inn easily tops the list. Our hosts, Kate and Aidan could not have been kinder, warmer or more helpful, professional to the nth degree. Kate's attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of the place, right down to the rubber duck in our bathroom. Aidan, who is a little shy but gracious to the extreme, is a master chef.

Our spacious room was tastefully decorated with minimalistic Asian/Arts and Craft sensibilities that play well against the building's Victorian era architecture. An extremely comfy bed dressed in warm, snuggly duvet covers made for a very restful night's sleep. It opened to a lovely Japanese inspired private garden, where I was able to sneak in a wonderful morning of yoga practice and strength work. The shower had plenty of hot water and the tub was deep and long.

Kate does a tremendous job overseeing the front of the house, which runs like clockwork. Upon arrival, she took the time to discuss our touring options in the region. She also provided us with a cup of tea and coffee, which were greatly appreciated after a long drive. Kate even gave us tips on the local pub scene and her competition) places for dinner.

The back of the house magic is Aidan's domain. We decided to stay there to get the benefit of a Michelin rated chef at the breakfast part of our B&B (getting a foodie freebie, if you will). After our first bite of breakfast, we agreed dinner was a must. It did not disappoint (see full food review in restaurant reviews).

Yes, the wi-fi connection was weak. But, we were on holiday. Being disconnected is a good thing. It forces us to actually relax.

Lisdoonvarna, where the Inn is located isn't as well known as Doolin, but I'm glad we stayed there. The town is quaint and not quite as full of tourists. We hope to return and if we do, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room. Also, if you are a couple and can afford to do so, pay for a triple. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Booked this as a little get away with my wife having seen it on "At Your Service"
I feared that it wouldn't live up to expectations but it far exceeded them.
The service was great and th edecor is excellent. Room was slightly small but for the price outstanding value in both comfort and ambiance.
We ate in the bar/restuarant on both nights and the food was top class with a nice variety to choose from.
All in all we will be back and couldn't recommend it high enough

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBurns1847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Wild Honey Inn is a quiet old house on the outskirts of Lisdoonvarna. The house is beautifully decorated but he wi -fi is lousy. You have to go to a particular place in the house to get wi-fi so it is inconvenient. No wi-fi in your room. Rooms are spread over three floors with many stairs to climb so beware of a room up high if stairs are a problem for you. At other such places we visited there were people tp help get your bags up the stairs, not here.
The best thing about the hotel is its restaurant. They serve world class food here. It is definetly a dining destination.
The insulation is not very good between rooms either as the noise from other rooms often disturbed us.
The staff in the restaurant and at breakfast was very efficient, not so much the staff at the front desk.

Room Tip: Go low! The upper floors require a lot of steps to be climbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twebb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.3 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
157 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Honey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Honey Inn

Address: Wild Honey Inn Kincora Road, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range: £107 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Honey Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Wild Honey Inn you will find welcoming friendly staff. Comfortable accommodation and great food. This is a family run business in the heart of the Burren region in County Clare. A great place to stay when visiting the North Clare region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Wild Honey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Honey Inn Lisdoonvarna, The Burren, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing