We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food good service”
Review of Wild Honey Inn Bar

Wild Honey Inn Bar
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Lisdoonvarna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Bar at Wild Honey Inn offers a bistro style menu with steaks, soups, salads and fresh local fish and shellfish as well as game when in season. We offer a select wine list of old and new world wines, most of which can be enjoyed by the glass. Draught and bottled beers are available and a premium choice of Irish and Scotch whiskies for the connoisseur.
Level Contributor
233 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely food good service”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a pricey meal hear. Good service. Good choice of beers. Desserts to die for! We would recommend early dining but worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank Con_and_Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    40
    29
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very comfortable meal”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stopped at this place by chance because we couldn't find anywhere else open. The rooms are very comfortable, candle lit and cosy. The food was good but the portions were small. One of our party was coeliac and needed something gluten free. They settled for cold meats and chips. A few items marked gluten free on the menu would be helpful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank diamond010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mixed delights”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had an evening meal there whilst on holiday in the area. The atmosphere is very pleasant and welcoming and the service was very good. Our starters were both good but my husbands (terrine of black pudding and foie gras) was exceptionally good. My husband had the pigs cheeks as a main and these were beautifully cooked and a real delight. I had the special of neck of rare breed pork and found it very tough which was a shame as the concept of the dish was excellent - it just failed a little in the execution. My husband's meal was superb and mine was mixed - good starter but tough meat on the main.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kidja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick county
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Fantastic belly of pork. The service was slow but I did visit at 3pm on a sunday. The bar is very welcomng. There is a great selection of local foods prepared really well

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rockjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food prepared and presented beautifully”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Visited this wonderful Bistro on Sunday after walking the Wild Atlantic Way from Liscannor to Doolin (which is outstanding and due for a future review) so was quiet peckish on arrival. Had heard about this place from various reviews some good and some not so good.

From the moment we arrived we were made feel welcome in a warm relaxing atmosphere. There was a little waiting list as it was post rush hour Sunday lunch but we were offered seats at the bar and had an aperitif while perusing the fare. I was accompanied on this trip by my good wife and two long time friends. The food selection was mouthwatering and explained as simple but with great tastes and everything is cooked to order. We were prepared for the wait and our conversation passed the time so that we did not notice the wait of approximately 20 minutes.

We opted for main course only and had Wild Atlantic Hake, Slow Roast Belly of Pork and a whole Organic Chicken for two. These were accompanied by a selection of vegetables and potatoes served in individual pots. The tastes of the various top class ingredients worked so well together and were bursting with flavour that made you savour every bite and swallow.

The mains were so good we decided we had to try desert and had a caramelized apple and bread and butter pudding which continued the taste extavaganza.

Top marks to Chef Aidan McGrath and his team we will certainly be back.

You get the General Sir Clive Alderney Peepers mark of excellence.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sir_Clive_Peepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Honey Inn Bar also viewed

 
Lisdoonvarna, The Burren
 

Been to Wild Honey Inn Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing