We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go on treat yourself, you deserve it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Certificate of Excellence
Newry
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Go on treat yourself, you deserve it”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This Hotel is ideal for a visit to the Burren area and Cliffs of Moher. I stayed with my wife and 3 friends from Spain, we were made to feel welcome from arrival to departure, the rooms were first class, great attention to detail and a fantastic shower. The breakfast was excellent, everything including cereal, juice and toast was served to our table adding to a 5 star experience for me, seeing the quality breakfast I regretted not dining in the restaurant the previous evening.
One of the nicest places I have ever stayed in, I hope to return again for a few nights of luxury.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank higadoconchianti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    34
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
165
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This hotel is a perfect place to stop if you wish to visit the Burren area as well as the Cliffs of Moher. The rooms are spacious, clean, the shower is superb and the staff is very nice. Do have a meal there because the food is very good, breakfast too, but too much food for breakfast! I could have eaten much less.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinaheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Each meal was superb. The level of comfort and thoughtfulness at Sheedy's Country House made it our favorite of the trip. This is a locally owned and run hotel. The guest were also lovely. It was our first true conversations with Irish people. The atmosphere created topped our 5 star stays in Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is an amazing place. Gracious people, excellent food, professional staff....highly recommend! Breakfast and dinner were the highlights of our days here. Martina is helpful, friendly, and a wealth of information about the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gablefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton IL
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

First of all, Martina, the owner, greeted us with genuine warmth and kindness. She showed us to our room, which was in the old section of the hotel, circa 1700's. It had a separate sitting room with an old fireplace. We set up our computer there and had wireless connection. The bedroom was comfortable and the bath and shower were modern. Even though the temperature was hot and there was no air conditioning, we slept well. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, and it was absolutely 5 stars. My husband had rabbit, and he raved about it! Breakfast, included in the price, was also lovely. A perfect place to stay for our trip to The Cliffs of Moher.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I can't say enough about Sheedy's. It was the first place we stayed in and it set the bar extremely high. Everything about it was perfect.....from the rooms to the food, to the help. It was perfect in every way. Martina was the perfect hostess and her husband, John, was a wonderful chef. We arrived early and our rooms weren't ready but she put us in rooms that were rather than have us wait and asked us if we would like tea. We put our luggage in our rooms and came back out to the sitting area where we were given a pot of tea and some brown bread and banana bread. Would give it 10 stars if I could. You won't be sorry if you stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We loved our two-night stay here. Everything about Sheedy's was delightful. Martina welcomed us warmly upon arrival and often upon our return from touring the area. The room was bright and clean and included tea and coffee making facilities, with some welcoming shortbreads on the first night. The breakfasts were wonderful, offering and range of choices with extra touches such as the use of local produce (e.g. the local smoked salmon, cheese, tomatoes and black pudding), and home-made dishes (e.g. rhubarb compote with yoghurt). The food at the restaurant was really delicious and I would highly recommend spending one evening either eating there or, more cheaply, at the bar. The hotel is a very short walk from the centre of town and the local pubs. I recommend this hotel for a peaceful retreat from a busy life and a chance to visit the Burren, Doolin caves and other local treasures.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRL622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
2.4 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
5.5 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
151 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheedy's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheedy's Country House Hotel

Property: Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Address: Main Street | The Burren, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheedy's Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheedy's Hotel and Restaurant offers the very best in traditional hospitality and service. This 4* hotel is located in Lisdoonvarna village, just 10 minutes drive from the Cliffs of Moher, 3 miles from Doolin and the Burren is on our doorstep. Our Restaurant holds Two Rosettes from AA. Bar food also available each evening. Free internet access througout the hotel. Free on site car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheedy's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheedy's Country House Hotel Lisdoonvarna, The Burren, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing