We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, hospitable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
175 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Good hotel, hospitable and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and are definitely hands-on, so if there were to be any issues, they would be addressed right away. Our stay went very well, and in particular we found the food to be very good. Breakfasts were fantastic with many options to order and leaving one feeling quite full and satisfied. We had dinner one night in the pub and the food was delicious and the atmosphere very cosy. Our room was huge, and the only reason I am not giving five stars is because the furnishings seemed standard and perhaps the room a bit sterile, nothing extraordinarily luxurious but certainly fitting the bill. All in all I would most definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurrenLady, Owner at Sheedy's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
John and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sheedys last August. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are a seasonal hotel and we do try to keep our rooms updated to stay fresh looking. I am glad that you enjoyed eating dinner in our cosy bar - this room is in fact one of the oldest rooms in the house and is indeed very cosy. I hope we will have the pleasure of your company next time you visit Ireland. Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    34
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
46
162
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night. Two couples. Our room was a disappointment. It had two separate beds :-( Has been for a long time to sleep separate. Tiny bathroom (no separate shower). I would not call this a 4 star hotel. The food was right, but not that special as some write. For those prices you would expect this.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohndeJong_RDAM_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurrenLady, Owner at Sheedy's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
John and I are disappointed to hear that you were not 100 percent happy with your recent stay at Sheedys. We have noted all the points that you have outlined. We always try to offer the best in traditional hospitality and best service. We get our fish delivered Fresh each day from Garrihys of Doolin and we are always confident that we get the best lamb from our local butcher. I hope that you had a good onward journey to Killarney. Martina Sheedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marble Hill, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

If you are going to see the Cliffs of Moher, then you MUST find this hotel in Lisdoonvarna. It is run by Martine, and her husband, John, is the chef extraordinaire! The rooms are extremely spacious and well decorated, and you won't want to eat anywhere but in their cozy pub and dining room because the food is as beautifully prepared as it is delicious! Martine goes out of her way to inform you of the spots to see in their area! It was truely a lovely find!

Darlene

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

My yearly trip to sheedy's very consistent the fish and chips in beer batter our famous around the world.... Well especially in my English / part Irish family. We recommend this to all our relations whom travel to Lisdoonvarna. Well worth a nice walk to Sheedy's for a scrumptious meal !!! See you next year

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurrenLady, Owner at Sheedy's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Delighted to hear from you! yes, the Fish and Chips are always very popular. We only use the freshest fish, supplied from Garrihy's of Doolin, and John makes his own beer batter. Hope to see you soon again. We reopen after the Winter on March 28th. Give my regards to all the family. Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Having stayed here many times, I have never been disappointed. Martina is a wonderful host and John's food is to die for. I always look so forward to their breakfast!

The location is a good centre from which to explore the Burren and county Clare. The rooms are very comfortable and always clean and beautifully presented. The decor is charming, giving the hotel the feeling of an old country house. It is within a minute's walk to the pubs of Lisdoonvarna, where you will find lively traditional music (and matchmaking!).

It is a lovely intimate hotel offering a taste of real Irish hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach62442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Great location, close to the Cliffs of Moher. Owner and staff were most accommodating. Dinner was nicely served and most enjoyable, if a bit overpriced. Certainly hope to stay there again and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed there recently and what a beautiful haven. We were warmly welcomed to the hotel, by the hostess and she is such a good host! She let us know that we could eat there, handing us menus for the bar and the restaurant, we had a really beautiful meal in the hotel, the best steak we ever had! Our room was just perfect- the decor, the Queen Anne style chair, 5 lamps, beautiful biscuits in a tightly sealed jar, books, radio/ cd player and cushions: everything thoughtfully put together with the relaxation of the guests in mind. I left the festival to relax in the room! Had a blissful bath and watched t.v. Although the hotel is at edge of village I slept like a baby - no noise disturbed me. It is a very special place.

Room Tip: Hotel closes after Matchmaking festival until the following March ( I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollybawn190754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
2.4 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
5.5 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
6.9 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheedy's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheedy's Country House Hotel

Property: Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Address: Main Street | The Burren, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheedy's Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheedy's Hotel and Restaurant offers the very best in traditional hospitality and service. This 4* hotel is located in Lisdoonvarna village, just 10 minutes drive from the Cliffs of Moher, 3 miles from Doolin and the Burren is on our doorstep. Our Restaurant holds Two Rosettes from AA. Bar food also available each evening. Free internet access througout the hotel. Free on site car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheedy's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheedy's Country House Hotel Lisdoonvarna, The Burren, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing