We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Great host, good surroundings and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Certificate of Excellence
philsleepy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place, Great host, good surroundings and location”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel was a perfect starting point for our trip. Landed in Shannon and drove to the hotel. The room was spacious and loved the bathroom. Martina our host was very welcoming and helpful. She does give a lot of personal attention. Her cookies were the best, my regret I couldn't from her additional cookies to take back home :)
Quite and serene surroundings. Good and spacious room and bath. Clean and fresh feeling towels.
Dinner was top notch and accommodated special requests. Irish Breakfast with home made jams were delicious.
Close to Doolin to visit the Cliffs and Aaran islands and also close to Burren.

Room Tip: Specify what kind of a bedroom you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philsleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    34
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
163
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel was a wonderful surprise. Martina was a most gracious hostess, and cheerfully assisted us with every need. The rooms were tastefully decorated, spacious, comfortable and immaculately clean. Grounds were pleasant. Food was superb. We loved it so much we decided to alter our plans and stay a second night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Set in a sweet little Clare town, surrounded by the wild and wooly Burren, Sheedy's offers up large, comfortable rooms and terrific dining. Our room (number 12) featured a queen bed (which it seems Europeans refer to as a king bed) and a separate sitting room with a desk and two comfy chairs, each looking out its own window. The huge bathtub and Gilchrist & Soames goodies were very welcome after a long day of cycling.

Martina is an amazing host who obviously pays attention to every detail. I visited as part of a group of 18, and the remarkable Martina had learned all our names within a few hours of our check-in. She keeps the rooms spotless and is ready for any request. John, Martina's chef husband, dishes up the best food we had in Ireland. If it's available, try his salad with bleu cheese and pears. But really, everything is tasty, from the porridge served with Irish whiskey to the inventive fish dishes.

There's a small pub onsite, and a number of other pubs featuring live music are a quick walk away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knitcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurrenLady, Manager at Sheedy's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Kitty Many thanks for posting a review. John and I are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here, as part of a cycling group. Yes, Co. Clare is a great place for a cycling holiday and the views are terrific. I do hope we will have the pleasure of your company again, next time you visit Ireland. Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Only mistake we made was we had booked only 1 night. A quaint, ideally located gem just down the street from city center. Martina greeted us with a warmly , as well, a cup of tea. Room I had booked had 2 single beds( my mistake ) but Martina quickly moved us into a king bedroom which was excellent. One problem I have booking rooms throughout Europe is understanding what they refer to as double can very well mean king bed. Still trying to learn after all these years!
This place is very well run and has a lot of history. Very clean, matress good , very nice breakfast/dining and priced fairly. Use this as a place to visit Cliffs of Mohr and other nearby sites.
No downside to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurrenLady, Owner at Sheedy's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
John and I are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Sheedys. You are correct in that Lisdoonvarna is a great place to discover the Burren, and the Cliffs of Moher are just 10 minutes drive. Yes, generally in Ireland a double room means a room with 1 double bed in it! Every country seems to have a different system! We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Sheedys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had read the reviews online and chose Sheedy's for the food and the location - and we weren't disappointed. The welcome was warm and we immediately were served tea and biscuits on our room which was really spacious with a classic bathroom with heavy fixtures. But it's the food that's really worth going for. Amazing seafood and well designed dishes. The restaurant looks like something out the 80's but the food is definitely up to date with a big nod to classic, Irish fare. We had before dinner drinks and dessert w coffee by the fireplace. And a fantastic breakfast in the morning. Our only regret is that we only stayed one night. But we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurrenLady, Owner at Sheedy's Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Many thanks for posting a review. John and I are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and that you enjoyed the food. We source as much as possible locally and get the best lamb from a local butcher. Our fish is delivered fresh from Garrihy's of Doolin each day. We look forward to welcoming you back for more delicious dinners next time you visit Co. Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We were met at door by Martina and felt encompassed by her great hospitality. Our room was comfortable and all the details were thought of thick terry robes, tea as we arrived and the most delicious biscuits. This was followed by a meal prepared by her husband John which was amazing. I think this was the best lamb I have ever had. Breakfast was the same, This is a great place to visit and is surrounded by the beautiful countryside of Burnnen.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eliza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taveuni Island, Fiji
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I own a small b and b so I am always looking at other places with my eyes wide open.

We were on a bicycle trip thru Ireland and this was our 2nd stop.
the property was amazing, room was lovely and the food was 5 star.

As with many family owned businesses, the owners went out of their way.
But we all noticed a little extra something & this was the icing on the cake.

thanks for a wonderful stay~~

sincerely,
Ronna from Taveuni

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
2.4 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
5.5 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
450 reviews
6.9 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
406 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.1 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheedy's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheedy's Country House Hotel

Property: Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Address: Main Street | The Burren, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheedy's Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheedy's Hotel and Restaurant offers the very best in traditional hospitality and service. This 4* hotel is located in Lisdoonvarna village, just 10 minutes drive from the Cliffs of Moher, 3 miles from Doolin and the Burren is on our doorstep. Our Restaurant holds Two Rosettes from AA. Bar food also available each evening. Free internet access througout the hotel. Free on site car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Sheedy's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheedy's Country House Hotel Lisdoonvarna, The Burren, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing