We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of The Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hydro Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very friendly, helpful staff. We went as a coach party and there were 2 other coach parties staying as well. The rooms were clean and the en suite a good size, with a bath and a shower. The meals were well presented, and served by very cheerful staff. We had a good choice of food, which was served very quickly to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue100107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for The Hydro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at the Hydro Hotel in central Lisdoonvarna and overall, had a very positive experience. A charming old hotel with lots of character. The staff were incredibly friendly and approachable, not only at reception but also in the huge bar and restaurant. Our room (44) was recently refurbished very well appointed. Our room did face the front of the hotel, which was quite noisy due to a huge party taking place and directly underneath our windows were many smokers standing outside the hotel, so with our window open, we caught quite a bit of second hand smoke. For 2 nights, this didn't really bother us so much, but might be a consideration if you are hyper sensitive to smoke. The bathroom was freshly remodeled, but could use with higher quality towels and toiletries.... but for a 3-star hotel, it can't really be faulted for this. The breakfast was nothing special, but was filling and served with a smile... so no complaints here. The decor is a total mish-mash of styles, ranging from modern to granny's living room, pan-asian to old world Ireland. Could use a rethink on the decor motif, but it did not in anyway distract from a very pleasant stay! Would stay here again anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently remodeled room with updated decor
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kansasforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

As a tourist guide I travel a lot with large groups and it is important that a Hotel ticks the right box. In the Hydro you can tick all boxes when it comes to service and cleanliness. The rooms are not overexciting big but they have what you need and offer a high level of comfort. The hotel itself is quiet big but has a feeling of home and at the bar you have a barman that knows how to make a perfect shamrock .The staff is highly professional and a great team.As for the restaurant I would like to say that taste is difficult to review as each of us have their own preferences but as an echo from my groups I can honestly say that the food is good. Lisdoonvarna is a dreamy little village and seems to be forgotten in time and the Hydro fits perfectly in to this spot. As an old queens hotel...refurbished with a lot of taste it is a well done mixture of old and new and a perfect getaway for anyone in need to oil their soul.

Room Tip: Just be nice to reception and they will do all they can to accommodate your needs
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kfoyle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

First impressions count and our first impression was formed by a most pleasant and friendly receptionist who was full of chat and very welcoming. There is definitely an air of the, dare I say it, "Old English" country hotels of bygone days. Lots of photos on the walls, lots of seating areas around the lobby areas - all in all, very relaxing. The rooms were clean and comfortable - if not luxurious, but it is a 3 star after all. Breakfast was good and we found the service prompt and the staff attentive. Clare is famous for it's traditional music and tere are pleny venues in Lisdoonvarna and in the region where this can be enjoyed. Try the Roadside Tavern for this within a couple of minutes walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face onto other rooms across a back yard - not the most inspiring view. Try to ge...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

The Hydro Hotel is a grand old hotel near the town center. You walk in and you feel as though you have walked through a time portal taking you back to the early 1900's, when this gem, formally The Queen's Hotel was built. The lobby contains many sitting areas for you to just sit back and enjoy a book, some wine or the free wifi that is available in this area.
Some rooms have been gorgeously renovated, so request one of these. We stayed in an older one. It was clean and comfortable and I have no complaints but after the hotel owner, Marcus White, personally toured us through his pride of a hotel, I would definitely have preferred the renovated room.
Mentioning this hotel is mentioning Marcus White, who is a lively, energetic hands on owner who greets his hotel guests and personally helps you with any needs you may have. In fact, all the staff was exceptionally friendly.
The hotel is in a great location to use as a launching point for your visit to the Cliffs of Moher and The Doolin Cave.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle6007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Its located on the outskirts of the town and is a pleasant mix of the original building and the modernised rooms. Dinner was ok but nothing special. Breakfast time and we seemed to be invisible after we were seated. Took a while to get some service and then only as we asked. It was ok when it came.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The Hydro is an excellent 3 star hotel near the centreof the village and its amenities. It is based on a 19C building with subsequent additions. The hotel has a slightly old fashioned look , The public rooms have lots of lovely wooden features, with many pictures decorating the walls . The building is nicely decorated to a high standard.
All the staff were excellent. They were helpful, attentetive and efficient. Everything was well organised.
Food was of a good standard to a well thought out menu,beautifully served with true Irish charm( despite the fact that few seemed local )
The bedroom was somewhat compact , and the beds extremely comfortable. the en suite was roomy enough and immaculate. Everything worked.
Our visit was very comfortable and enjoyable.
Apart from the slightly small bedroom and dining room chairs being a little hard, everything was first class, and highly recommendable

Room Tip: We had a room on the left of the entrance , which looked out over a playing field which was interest...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatC2549600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
1.0 mi away
The Burren Castle Hotel
The Burren Castle Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
315 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
6.0 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hydro Hotel

Address: Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range: £78 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Lisdoonvarna
The Hydro Hotel Lisdoonvarna, The Burren, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing