We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Burren Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Room spacious clean with multi channel flat screen tv..Bar had live music and food very good and staff very friendly and helpful and very reasonably priced..........
Near clifs of moher burren and many more attractions in west clare ...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Daithi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    45
    23
    2
    7
See reviews for
29
47
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was with the Vintage Motorcycle club as was the reviewer Fran-Maria below, I can only echo the sentiments made by Fran and Maria. A great welcome was given to all of us by Svenja and her staff. We were all delighted with our stay, the rooms, the food, plenty of room to sit and relax. The staff were excellent, and made our stay one to remember. The Burren Castle is a wee gem of a place, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Our room face onto the side of the hotel. As the hotel is in a secluded location I would not see an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingCouple64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Honestly, our feelings about accommodation were not great for Burren Castle Hotel as we approached. A late decision to travel, up against the bruise for beds with Slow Food Festival and then, grim weather.
Cold small photos on booking.com did nothing to warm the soul but availability, the price point and follow-up call to polite reception staff won us over.

Wow. This crenellated wonder is well kept all over, from its ivy and window boxes, to shampooed carpets to a silent lift to well drilled staff that charm.
Huge rooms, good linens, black out blinds, a full bathroom. Good plumbing and towels.

A conservatory catches sun but there's plenty of welcome seating area around, increasingly rare in Irish hotels,if you don't want to soak at the bar. Excellent quality musicianship played to 11pm.

Apparently this castle is only home to king, queen and every nation if it gets a tour booking? Shame, shame. We found it warm, sunny, generous and again, mint fresh through out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here last weekend with a Vintage Motorbike Club, There were 16 of us staying for the Friday till Sunday. This is a big Hotel & on arrival we were greeted with a huge friendly welcome. Nothing was too much to ask for & the rooms were big, clean, and there was lots of hot water. Hot water is something I rate highly where ever I stay & I like nothing more than to have a good long hot shower after being on the bike for hours on end. I have always reckoned that if hot water is skimped on then you can expect more cuts during your stay. Well the Burren Castle excelled here so congratulations is due for this. The rooms as I have said are big and clean, basic furnishings but plenty of space for your items, the beds (two in each room) were very comfortable. The menu is changed daily & there is normally 3 choices of main course. The deserts are good and the quantity is generous. Good coffee & no problem getting refills. The staff are the most friendly & they are delighted to accommodate your requests. You can have drinks from the bar brought to your table while you dine. The breakfast is very good & you can have continental or a good old full Irish. We had a lovely waitress with our table for most of the weekend called Sara and she was ever so witty & we enjoyed her banter as we had our meals. There was traditional music in the bar on both nights we stayed & it was very enjoyable. A good pint of beer & the Guinness drinkers said it was a good pint also. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fran-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I am writting this review for my daughter who stayed there . Just like to say thank you to the staff of the Burren Castle for looking after my daughter on her school trip , she enjoyed her she fully down there and they also returned an item that she left there . Thank you very much .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul Possy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here last week for 3 nights as members of a coach party touring Ireland. I cannot fault it. The rooms were lovely, the staff attentive and the food was wonderful. Considering there were 3 coach parties in at the same time plus other guests the food was delicious and piping hot. We had a full breakfast and a three course dinner - with a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 deserts. One thing you should be aware of though is that it is in the middle of the countryside so transport is essential. There is a local taxi service readily available. A great base for touring County Clare.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel is a short car distance from lisdoonvarna. Lisdoon itself is worth a visit but hotel is central for exploring cliffs of moher doolin the burren and ballyvaughan. Breakfast was a great irish served by a very informative south african.staff were great with an especially helpful attitude. We hope to call again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
1.1 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
6.5 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aran View Country House
2.9 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burren Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burren Castle Hotel

Property: The Burren Castle Hotel
Address: Bog Road | R478 Direction to Doolin & Cliffs of Moher, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland (Formerly White's Burren Castle)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burren Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Burren Castle Hotel Lisdoonvarna is an 81 bedroom hotel nestled in the rolling Burren landscape of West Clare. All our rooms are en-suite with a view of the countryside, along with tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial phone, toiletries and multi-channel television. Wifi is available free of charge in the Lobby. Pets are only allowed on request and must be pre-arranged. Ther is a charge per night and terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Burren Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whites Burren Castle Lisdoonvarna
Burren Castle Hotel
The Burren Castle Hotel Lisdoonvarna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing