We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Burren Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Location very good for seeing parts of Galway and Galway City. Short drive to The Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ballyvaughan and many other places.

Hotel staff very friendly, food good and plentiful, rooms large and clean and very nice. Hotel is out of the town and in my opinion not safe to walk into a night. No street lights along a country lane.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skier12Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for The Burren Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2010

Back again this year for a stay during the Matchmaking Festival, and was not dissapointed. Food this year was excellent. Breakfast was great and really filling and tasty. Dancing during the weekend in Lisdoonvarna was amazing, really had a great time. Rooms were clean and service was very good in the resaurant. Had an amazing stay and will no doubt be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nige60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Stayed here with the Galway Vintage Car Rally. We had a great time, rooms were clean and airy. The dinner was really great, tasty and a big choice, all the folks with the rally complemented the meal and the stay. Staff were amazingly friendly. What was really good was the parking for all the cars, safe and covered with ccv cameras. Great stay

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triplover51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Having read some of the reviews we were anxious ! There was no need to be. The Burren Castle hotel was clean, with spacious bedrooms and tastefully decorated public areas. The staff were very good and the standard of food was higher than 3*. The major problem with the hotel was its location. Situated 2k from the village of Lisdoonvarna. There are no street lights or pavements into the village and this gives a feeling of isolation. The hotel does offer to arrange taxis. The advertised "entertainment" was a little tired, and ended at 2230. This wouldn't have been that bad if somekind of background music was played. But it was early nights for all !

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank permarperterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Stayed here with a tour group from the states, from past revies was not expecting too much. I can say i was surprised, the staff are as friendly as ever, the rooms, though old fashioned are big and clean and have great views of the lovely country side. The food was outstanding, and the waiters were very helpful. Very much enjoyed our stay, and would come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myles1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We stayed here for four nights at the end of July '08. It is located about a 20 minute walk from Lisdoonvarna which is the closest town although the road has no pavement or lighting and is therefore only suitable for pedestrians to use with extreme care (It is a national speed limit road)

The hotel itself is perhaps the poorest 3 star Hotel we have stayed in. The rooms were very dirty, had clearly not had a good clean for months and had an unpleasent odour. On checking into the room, we found that the toilet had not been cleaned, and, in fact, had faeces covering the inside. When this was pointed out to the manager, he seemed non plussed although sent someone up to clean it (The person who came to clean it thought it was ok to use a toilet brush and flush it away rather than use any disinfectant!) - which in my opinion says a lot about the standards of cleaning in the hotel.

The rooms are sparsely equipped, the shower alternates between scolding hot and ice cold no matter where the thermostat is moved (other guests we spoke to experienced the same) The grounds include a tennis court, mini golf course and childrens swing/ seesaw at the front of the building which have long since fallen into disrepair.

The food was variable, although the chef did seem to have a fixation with the use of huge amounts of salt in everything he made, at least half of the meals were inedible and several guests were complaining as such. Also much of the food was processed - for example, mixed fruit crumble was canned fruit cocktail with a crumble crust on top !

The service in the restaurant was ok, the only really redeeming feature of the hotel was the excellent service in the bar, unfortunately (for the hotel) the Barmaid told us she was leaving soon.

Needless to say, we would not recommend this hotel to anyone at all.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wand3223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2007

Came to Ireland on a coach tour to this hotel, and was wonderfully surprised at the comfort and friendlyness of the staff.
Food was excellent and the staff were ever eager to help in any way. Rooms where basic yet had all that we needed. They were warm and very comfortable. The ones we stayed in had just been re-wallpapered.
We would recomend this hotel to all,
Mr B.Rowe
Wales

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nige60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
1.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
179 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,034 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
315 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burren Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burren Castle Hotel

Address: Bog Road | R478 Direction to Doolin & Cliffs of Moher, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland (Formerly White's Burren Castle)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range: £95 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burren Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Burren Castle Hotel Lisdoonvarna is an 81 bedroom hotel nestled in the rolling Burren landscape of West Clare. All our rooms are en-suite with a view of the countryside, along with tea and coffee making facilities, direct dial phone, toiletries and multi-channel television. Wifi is available free of charge in the Lobby. Pets are only allowed on request and must be pre-arranged. Ther is a charge per night and terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Burren Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whites Burren Castle Lisdoonvarna
Burren Castle Hotel
The Burren Castle Hotel Lisdoonvarna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing