We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
71
54
15
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
54
15
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssitting roomkitchen areakind staffsuper niceshort noticestay there againlocal pubcounty clarefacilitiestvburrenmohercliffscereal
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Just stayed with the family ( four unruly kids ) and I have to say it was most excellent , kids enjoyed themselves and had a great time in the hostel , with plenty of space and patience for them . The room was spacious and the amenities spot on . Staff are wonderful . It makes a great base for heading off around the beautiful Burren and the rest of beautiful Clare . Kitchen facilities are top notch , and the Dining room , common areas and TV room are most comfortable . Parking is great ,and the location is perfect , seconds walk from the Pub ( the Roadside Tavern ), the local shops , and Bus stop yet nicely secluded and not bustling .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanieWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We chose this hostel as our “base” for trips around (Doolin caves, Cliffs of Moher, etc.), location is great. We were 4 people and had 6 bed room, which was large with private bathroom with WC and bathtub. Air in the room was a bit stale, but room and bathroom was clean. Staff was really great and helpful. We could cook anything in fully equipped kitchen, in fact we didn’t cook anything, but possibility was there. We just made tea, which was free and used mugs which were sometimes not well washed up, because dishes is washing up by guests – but probably everyone checks dishes before use, so no big deal. Near hostel is take away China restaurant or pizza. For me, rooms were a bit cold, but other 3 fellows were OK :-) I could recommend this hostel and I would return there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sislik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Although we found the staff (the majority being French students) friendly and helpful and the public spaces clean and comfortable this hostel was a disappointment due to the lack of maintenance of the dormitories and care for the needs of self caterers. Our first dorm was rather dank and cold, the built in was hair drier was shorted out at the wall and its shower room suffering from black mould. We were met with great politeness when we requested a move and indeed the room was an improvement but it too had problems with the curtains being held up with cable ties and thus unable to draw across the window fully and the door knob falling off in our hands. The beds were comfortable and the hostel was quiet apart from two false fire alarms in the early hours which caused us hammering hearts and rushed dressing. Apparently they are a common occurrence and they intend to get the fault fixed sometime....
The old hotel kitchen is huge but strangely difficult to use by self caterers - some thought is needed by the managers on how best to apply the space to the new function.
All in all in need of a good handyperson and practical management to do justice to the high quality of staff helpfulness and service and the lovely location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The service was absolutely great. My friend and I were interested in catching some trad music, and our host found us a good pub and arranged taxis for us. We ran into a problem with cash (for our bus out) and she helped us find the right tickets and printed them for us. We had arranged to go horseback riding the day we were leaving, and she spoke with the company to get us picked up and dropped off. It was such a relief to talk to someone who knew so much and could make the calls for us!

The stay itself was fairly average. There wasn't much hot water. But it was a really cheap place, and well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midenianscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We booked this hostel as we wanted to be close to the Cliffs of Moher. It was the best random choice we've done in a while! The location is perfect for driving along the Burrens - great destination in Ireland with loads of places to see! The staff was really really friendly and the environment in the hostel was very good! The room was nothing too fancy but very clean and neat!

Best thing about this hostel? the location! it is immediately close by to the pub Roadside Tavern which served us the most awesome food and live music!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helder_rf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews