We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
71
54
15
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
54
15
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssitting roomkitchen areakind staffsuper niceshort noticestay there againlocal pubcounty clarefacilitiestvburrenmohercliffscereal
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights in September during the Matchmaking Festival. The hostel is in a great location...only 5 minute walk away from the village centre. My friend and I were booked in to a 6 bed female dorm en suite which was very comfortable and all for only €20.00 per person per night. You won't find value like this anywhere else in Lisdoon during the matchmaking festival. Some hotels were charging €200 for a double! Crazy! The Reception staff were very friendly and gave good recommendations for places to visit close by. We'd highly recommend the Wild Honey Inn, just 5mins walk away for great food and lovely ambience. We went there for lunch & dinner one day! Also, highly recommended is An Fear Gorta Tea & Garden rooms in Ballyvaughan for a fabulous selection of homemade tarts, pies and desserts in general. They've a mouth watering display when you walk in the door. Impossible to have just a cup of tea here! The Best Pub in Lisdoon in the Roadside Tavern with great live music. It's a bit away from the other chaotic festival pubs and has a really nice atmosphere and crowd. The last final tip for Lisdoon visitors is...there is NO ATM in the village. So make sure you get cash out in Ennistymon or Lahinch or wherever before you arrive. The only alternative is to buy something in the local shop with a minimum €10.00 spend to get cash back with your laser card and NOT all shops offer this option. You've been warned! ;-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigriofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Stayed for just one night 29th Sept. 2012, wished I had stayed longer, will next time. Came here with 3 friends for a night out in Lisdoonvarna for the match-making festival. We had 2 x 2 bunk beds and a double bed in room, spacious room, with bathroom. We had a brilliant night doing a pub crawl, spent most of the night in Meg Macguires dancing. In the morning we were not sure whether breakfast was included, so we popped down and the very friendly staff showed us the breakfast room, u help yourself to tea and toast, beautiful scones, it was a pleasant surprise as we were dying for cuppa! Thanks for wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojop99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The Burren Hostel is alright for what it is, a hostel. the only problem is that they charge the price of a B&B (even of you don't get a decent breakfast).
We booked a double room online with my partner and we ended up in a dorm room.
There was just us in the dorm but still... it wasn't the romantic double room we were hoping for.
Very disappointing...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agathe1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Just back from Sleepzone - Burren Hostel!!
What a pleasant surprise we are a family of 4 with 2 very active teenagers and are just back from a 3 night stay in Sleepzone Burren.
Exactly what it says on the tin! We used the hostel as a base and spent a day on Inis Oirr after taking a ferry from Doolin! Weather was excellent and fare to Island also included a return trip via the Cliffs of Moher. Another day was spent with my teenage kids getting surfing lessons on Fanore Beach. Spent yesterday evening swimming with Dusty the Dolphin in Doolin harbour.

Roadside Tavern is a 3 minute walk offering excellent food at realistic prices. Burren Black stout is made in their own micro brewery!! Thought I had died and gone to heaven!! Live traditional and jazz music on alternate nights. Burren smokehouse directly across the road.

As for the hostel this used to be a hotel in the past and you get to use the original hotel kitchen with walk in cold room...... no domestic fridges here! Complimentary continental breakfast. Free tea and coffee up to 11 pm. Free Wi-Fi, comfortable TV room with library. My teenagers spent the evening playing cards and meeting fellow teenagers from all over the world. Felt a little like the United Nations - email addresses exchanged.

All in all top marks for this gem of a hostel and will definitely return again. 6 bedroom family room for 60 euro per night with private bathroom! So save your money on accomodation and enjoy dining out and tons of fun filled activities for all the family. Definitely a recession buster!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beeker1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Just stayed with the family ( four unruly kids ) and I have to say it was most excellent , kids enjoyed themselves and had a great time in the hostel , with plenty of space and patience for them . The room was spacious and the amenities spot on . Staff are wonderful . It makes a great base for heading off around the beautiful Burren and the rest of beautiful Clare . Kitchen facilities are top notch , and the Dining room , common areas and TV room are most comfortable . Parking is great ,and the location is perfect , seconds walk from the Pub ( the Roadside Tavern ), the local shops , and Bus stop yet nicely secluded and not bustling .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanieWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews