We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of The Burren Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Burren Hostel
Roscommon, ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed at this hostel for two nights in an ensuite room. The place was quiet clean, beds comfortable and staff eager to please and friendly. I am deducting a mark as there was a large number of cobwebs and spiders in our room that could of benefitted from a little bit of "high dusting". There is a bar and a sitting room with a warm fire burning in the evening. There is a light breakfast available in the morning tea, coffee, brown, bread and toast. There is a new kitchen installed but the bathroom in the rooms are in bad need of a revamp. Its a short walk into the village.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graingern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    47
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
21
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed here for The Outing with a group of friends and had a very positive experience. The staff are absolutely lovely, the rooms are basic but clean, though ours was a little damp which was the only real problem I had with the place. It's a great base for a social weekend as they have a bar on-site to come back to after a night out, if you're not ready for bed yet. There's free toast and tea in the mornings and use of the kitchen if you want to make your own food. Hope to be back next year for the next round!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lil_punk_pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
key west
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Be careful with Sleepzone, if you reserve with one card and pay for the room with another they will charge both and not attempt to persue a refund on your behalf.

Several emails were exchanged and I was assured it was being processed. Got back home contacted my bank to learn no refund was in the works.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonconformists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We arrived pretty late on a Friday night, were welcomed by friendly staff. We then walked a mere 5 minutes to 'The Roadside Tavern' (Lisdoonvarna) to enjoy live Irish music and a few drinks. There were no issues with returning late, and we had comfortable nights sleep. You were very accommodating, and helped direct us to Father Ted's House! We stayed for one night as we were travelling for the weekend. A bargain at €20pp. Thanks for providing such a comfortable stay for a hostel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorns_mcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I went there along with my friends (in all 10) and booked 2 rooms one 6 bed and another 4 bed. The cost per bed was only 13.5 euros per night which is very cheap. But there are no compromise on the facilities. They are great. The room has bathroom with shower facility and tub. There is a large kitchen with all the cookware and a large fridge to store food items. Hostel provides the facility to make breakfast materials such as bread, butter, jam, milk, tea & coffee. You have to clean your dishes after. There is a planing area in the hostel. The service is excellent.

This is the best budget place I have ever stayed in. It delivers more than expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nihar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights.
Staff were friendly and helpful. The hostel was spotlessly clean.
We stayed here as a group of 5 lads, we didn't make it up for breakfast so can't comment. The location is excellent. Located 2 mins off the main street.

Rooms are average - but then again its a hostel not a hotel, so you wouldn't expect anything too fancy!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian82ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepzoneManager, Manager at The Burren Hostel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Hi There, glad you guys had a good stay with us. We have a large fully stocked self-catering kitchen so it's pity one of you guys didn't manage to get up and cook up a fry up for the others! Hopefully we'll get to see ye again. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights in September during the Matchmaking Festival. The hostel is in a great location...only 5 minute walk away from the village centre. My friend and I were booked in to a 6 bed female dorm en suite which was very comfortable and all for only €20.00 per person per night. You won't find value like this anywhere else in Lisdoon during the matchmaking festival. Some hotels were charging €200 for a double! Crazy! The Reception staff were very friendly and gave good recommendations for places to visit close by. We'd highly recommend the Wild Honey Inn, just 5mins walk away for great food and lovely ambience. We went there for lunch & dinner one day! Also, highly recommended is An Fear Gorta Tea & Garden rooms in Ballyvaughan for a fabulous selection of homemade tarts, pies and desserts in general. They've a mouth watering display when you walk in the door. Impossible to have just a cup of tea here! The Best Pub in Lisdoon in the Roadside Tavern with great live music. It's a bit away from the other chaotic festival pubs and has a really nice atmosphere and crowd. The last final tip for Lisdoon visitors is...there is NO ATM in the village. So make sure you get cash out in Ennistymon or Lahinch or wherever before you arrive. The only alternative is to buy something in the local shop with a minimum €10.00 spend to get cash back with your laser card and NOT all shops offer this option. You've been warned! ;-)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigriofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.0 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 17 in Doolin
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doolin Hostel
Doolin Hostel
#1 of 17 in Doolin
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burren Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burren Hostel

Property: The Burren Hostel
Address: Doolin Rd, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of Galway's award-winning Sleepzone Hostel group. Great base for The Cliffs of Moher, walking in The Burren, surfing at beaches in Fanore and Lahinch. Across the road from some of the region's best Food & Drink in The Wild Honey Inn; The Burren Smokehouse and The Roadside Tavern (great traditional music nightly in summer and weekends all year) - with its new Burren Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Burren Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burren Hostel Lisdoonvarna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing