We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hostel near Cliffs of Moher”
Review of The Burren Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Burren Hostel
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed there for two night in a 6 bed female dorm.
The Hostel is situated beautifully in the burren national park, near the Cliffs of Moher.
Rooms are big and nice but there were no reading lights.
The building is very pretty. There was a totally cosy common room with a fireplace that was lit in the afternoons. Kitchen and dining room are great, with much space.
The staff was really nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepzoneManager, General Manager at The Burren Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thanks you Madeline007 for your very positive review in our first few weeks of opening after the winter.
Yes we are amazingly lucky with our location only a few miles from the stunning Cliffs of Moher and right in the heart of the lunar landscape of The Burren Co. Clare.
We are lucky that our hotel was formerly a hotel so the rooms are large and more like a hotel than a hostel with all the rooms having En-Suite bathrooms.
I am the new manageress here and did notice no reading lights here when I arrived last week - so will order these.
The building used to be a house belonging to Gentry years ago and then a hotel so yes it is very pretty and I personally love walking up the driveway through the garden - I think it is a lovely feature.
The open fire is great to have to cosy up the place & is an authentic Irish experience.
Kitchen is only new and the dining room is great size for even group dinners.
Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff which I shall pass onto the team.
We hope you see you again soon Madeline
Warmest Regards
Aoibhinn McGee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Much of the staff here have been travelers that haven't left! They got a job at a hostel and are some of the nicest people! Of course, most of Ireland is "the nicest" but I loved hanging out with this crew! They met us at a pub nearby and we had a grand time. They're professional too, accommodating us the best that they could. This is a well-run hostel, the owner was always willing to help us find whatever we were looking for, and had great recommendations for cab drivers! (If you get a hold of John, get him. He is the ABSOLUTE best!)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed in the burren hostel for 3 nights and it was lovely! The building looks like a little castle and everything is so pretty in there. Besides that, the nicest staff is working there. Heloise is supercool and really nice and aoibhinn even gave me a lift back to the hostel from the cliffs of moher! The rooms were big, clean and really cozy. Only thing I didn't like had been the location, but you can go everywhere by bus if you ain't got a car.
Thanks for my great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franzi95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepzoneManager, General Manager at The Burren Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you Franzi for being our first guest of the season and for taking the time to write up a lovely positive review. The building is truly lovely and impressive, as it was once someone's home and then a hotel and now a gorgeous hostel, with gardens and lots of space. Thank you so much for your kind comments about Heloise and myself - we are just new to the area and property and have great things planned for The Burren Hostel. I hope you enjoyed your experience of the world famous cliffs of moher and you got to imagine Harry Potter & Dumbledor there!! The weather up there was amazing the day you went up - which was great. The rooms are really spacious and yet warm and cozy. In the upcoming season, there will be more buses over the day to the fantastic attractions we have in the area - apologies, but the winter bus schedule is decreased.
You were a great first guest to have and thank you and we hope to see you again someday. Take care.
Aoibhinn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The beds were damp and the bathroom room floor had a puddle of water in it. We left the window open to air the room but then we had a room full of midgets. Not very helpful at reception!! Paid €28 for the "pleasure" of staying when we should of stayed on a B&B. The bar man was very nice. If you want to enjoy your time in lisdoonvarna do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniebarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepzoneManager, Manager at The Burren Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest

We're sorry that you were unhappy with your stay with us - but we wish to clarify a few points in relation to your comments.

First, one bathroom between 8 ladies preparing for a night out can lead to some water on the bathroom floor. As soon as you made us aware of this we offered you towels to clear. When you mentioned dampness we offered to change all the linen in the room but when staff arrived to do this you turned them away ans said it was ok ?

We feel your comments are motivated not by issues with your room but more by your constant requests for us to sell a spare bed you had (as one of your party did not show) and refund you the difference. We tried to sell this spare bed but there were no takers for it. We would have been glad to do so if we could - as we explained to you at the desk several times over the weekend.

We remained sympathetic and helpful over the weekend and you assured us on departure that you had had a great weekend - in spite of the issues you raised.

Many of the guests who were here last weekend - and other weekends in September have already booked with us again for next year. We're sorry we will not be seeing you again. Best of luck ' on ' the B and B .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hostel being part of the sleepzone group, we knew we'd get what we paid for. Very friendly staff who informed us of the various attractions in the area. 3 of us stayed in a 6 bed room. Very spacious and clean. We happened to land in the middle of the Lisdoonvarna Festival. Room cost was €30 per head with coffee and toast self-served for breakfast. Overall, we were very happy with our stay. We weren't looking for anything fancy, just a comfortable and clean place to stay and thats what we got.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texasdawg420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepzoneManager, Manager at The Burren Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We do our best to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay with us and so are delighted that you were happy with your stay here. Hopefully we will get another chance to welcome you back in the future. All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

While not on Lisdoonvarna's Main street, it's very close (litereally 200 metres).

Stayed here for the Lisdoonvarna weekend in Sept 2013 and we went for hostel accommodation based on the price offered. The hostel is right beside the bus stops and has lots of car parking.

The staff were nice but did seem very obsessed with talking about the terms and conditions of the deposits to be paid (incl a key deposit of €5 and a general deposit and disclaimer for €25 each). The room itself (a four bed private dorm) was very spacious.

There was quite a good after hours bar in the hostel and there was no issue eating chipper food in the bar. There were two drawbacks- the room itself was quite cold during the night, but perhaps the heat wasn't on as it was still summer season. We didn't raise it was a concern as we were only there for one night. The second was the breakfast and kitchen area did seem very basic.

Overall, it was grand and probably the largest hostel in Lisdoonvarna. If you're going to Lisdoonvarna you probably are not worried about where you stay so this hostel will suit fine.

Room Tip: ASk for a private dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed at this hostel for two nights in an ensuite room. The place was quiet clean, beds comfortable and staff eager to please and friendly. I am deducting a mark as there was a large number of cobwebs and spiders in our room that could of benefitted from a little bit of "high dusting". There is a bar and a sitting room with a warm fire burning in the evening. There is a light breakfast available in the morning tea, coffee, brown, bread and toast. There is a new kitchen installed but the bathroom in the rooms are in bad need of a revamp. Its a short walk into the village.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graingern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
0.0 mi away
Doolin Inn & Hostel
Doolin Inn & Hostel
#1 of 20 in Doolin
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burren Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burren Hostel

Address: Doolin Rd, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range: £13 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of Galway's award-winning Sleepzone Hostel group. Great base for The Cliffs of Moher, walking in The Burren, surfing at beaches in Fanore and Lahinch. Across the road from some of the region's best Food & Drink in The Wild Honey Inn; The Burren Smokehouse and The Roadside Tavern (great traditional music nightly in summer and weekends all year) - with its new Burren Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Burren Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burren Hostel Lisdoonvarna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing