We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rathbaun Hotel Lisdoonvarna”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rathbaun Hotel

Rathbaun Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rathbaun Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rathbaun Hotel Lisdoonvarna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a fantastic "mini break" in the Rathbaun Hotel Lisdoonvarna last week. We were warmly greeted on arrival by the owner "John" who went to great lengths' to explain the local amenities' and facilities to us. We were allowed have our dog stay with us. During our 3 days' there, we were treated to what can only be described to as the best of personal attention, right down to the minutest detail. Our room and all areas' of the hotel were sparkling clean. Not a single speck of dust to be seen. The bathroom was gleaming. We noticed the care being given to train new staff. Any staff trained by this hotel will indeed be great ambassadors for Ireland's Hospitality!. The food was cooked by the other owner. It was delicious. Particular dietary requirements of one of us was catered excellently for. The music each night was lovely, We will be back...and soon. Thank you from John. Teresa and Jessie.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    32
    13
    1
    12
See reviews for
30
61
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Did we ever enjoy our stay here. Everybody was very friendly and helpful. Our room was actually quite large and was clean. We had a late supper at the bar/restaurant downstairs and ended up so happy with that decision. Best fish and chips on our whole trip and authentic Irish music.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank prairie_winter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night, rooms are clean and quite big for the size of the place. We ate in the restaurant downstairs, the live music was fantastic, and they served THE best fish & chips I've ever had. Also the owners are super friendly and very helpful if you need anything. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights this summer with my children. I was completely appalled at the treatment of the staff there. More than once I witnessed one of the owners-usually the man, yelling at a girl or boy for not doing something as quick as they wanted, or for forgetting something basic, even when a mistake so little it did not disrupt the customers or cause any problems that I could see.

That is until he would publicly berate them in front of guests of the hotel. His language and swearing was appalling. I myself covered my youngest childs ears as he screamed and swore and an obviously upset and embarrassed member of staff and quickly left the premises. Although the hotel itself and the food was definitely satisfactory, it was not enough to make me stay there again. If they can't even be courteous to their staff, how can we know they're treating us rightly?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank maryayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here as part of our road trip around Ireland. The owners and staff are very friendly and give great tips on where to visit. Our trip to the Burren was a highlight of our tour. everyone had a great night watching the music provided for free every night. Would recommend anyone visiting the area to stay here. Thanks a million!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMarsh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I were do glad to have stayed at the Rathbaun Hotel. The owners were gracious, the food excellent, the prices reasonable, the location easy to find, and the music was the best we had heard anywhere during our trip to Ireland. We appreciated that the music began at the early hour of 8:00pm and lasted straight until midnight. No breaks for these talented young musicians! Our only disappointment was that we could not stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here as a solo traveler for 4 nights total. The hotel, food, staff, and entertainment were all wonderful during my stay. After a bit of a hiccup with checking in (no one had checked out yet), I had a great stay. Ample, free parking is available across the street and down the road a tad.

Location: Lisdoonvarna, though small, is conveniently located in the middle of all of the attractions in the area. A short drive (mind the narrow, twisting roads though) will bring you to Aillwee Cave, Doolin Cave, Doolin Ferries (to the Aran Islands or under the Cliffs of Moher), the Cliffs of Moher, nearby towns, and beaches.

The Room: my room was spacious and the bed was comfortable with more pillows available in the armoire. Plenty of towels were provided and the ensuite bathroom even has a towel warmer! Bottled water was provided daily and there is an electric kettle available for tea. There are plenty of outlets spread out throughout the room for anything you need electricity for. The Internet tended to go in and out a bit, though. Yes, you could hear a bit of hall noise and sound from the band downstairs like others have mentioned, but I enjoyed being able to retire to my room and still being able to hear the music if I went up before they finished.

The Restaurant: the restaurant and bar are in one large dining area with the stage where the band plays in a corner. The food was consistently delicious and at good prices, too, for the generous amounts you receive! If you are staying at the hotel, you can bill your food and drink to your room, eliminating the need to be carrying around a wallet or purse (especially good when you go down at night to listen to the music and don't want to be lugging anything extra around).

The Staff: Absolutely Grand! From Lynn and John, to everyone else working throughout the hotel: everyone was incredibly warm, friendly, and welcoming. Nothing was too much hassle, even when I came down rather late one night--in absolute agony from a second degree sunburn--asking for some pain reliever and ice or when I came down to listen to the music and just had huge pitchers of water (to rehydrate from my over-exposure to the sun). They also provided great suggestions on where to go and what to see.

The Band, Ceolan: Absolute Irish rockstars, guys! :-) Each night there was a slightly different lineup in the group, but the band was consistently of quality through the four nights I stayed at Rathbaun. They take requests and just about every request someone had they knew. Some of the band members even provided Irish dancing. Would be great if they had a website, as they deserve the popularity a website would bring in. That said, though, they had no problem bringing in the crowds: a couple of nights, Lynn and John even had to bring in more tables and chairs because it was so packed.

Thanks for a great time. Looking forward to hopefully returning in the future!

Room Tip: Just be aware that music is played from 8 PM-midnight nightly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodDreamer90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.0 mi away
Royal Spa Hotel
Royal Spa Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Burren Castle Hotel
The Burren Castle Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aran View Country House
2.4 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathbaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathbaun Hotel

Property: Rathbaun Hotel
Address: Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rathbaun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Rathbaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathbaun Hotel Lisdoonvarna, The Burren, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing