We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheep and good!”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheep and good!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Staying in this hotel on a Saturday night in May.
Its an honest hotel that does what it is supposed to deliver.
Everything is clean, although nothing special, the room is well kept and clean, lots of towels in the bathroom, there is functioning WiFi in the rooms as well.
The breakfast is served, rather than being a buffet, but still gives a decent choice, even if you have to ask for another glass of juice, coffee etc.
Service was excellent, both from the evening porter and from the young waiter at breakfast!
Only complaint is that there is no private car park, though there is a communal car park on the other side of the street.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up have a decent view of the village
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webman692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    57
    48
    16
    15
See reviews for
21
76
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cagliari, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is a great hotel at B&B prices. The corridors are old but the rooms are renovated, fresh and finished to a good quality. The best part is the 5 star bed. This hotel was a great surprise, I normally don't go for this type of big hotel, that caters for bus loads of tourists.

Room Tip: Get a room right at the back of the hotel over looking the rolling green countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West of Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I was here with a group during summer. This is the type of functional hotel that is fine when you are touring going from point A to point B, but I wouldn't choose it for a relaxing break or with family. During summer, this is really "industrial tourism" and this hotel, like most in Lisdoon cater primarily for the large tour coach business, ferrying people in and out. Don't expect an Irish welcome or a feel for the culture of the country.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfmireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was our first holiday to Ireland. We opted for a David Urquhart tour, so we had high expectations, (as we have travelled with them many times before) and I am pleased to say we were not disappointed. The only blip was on our outward journey, we arrived at Cairn Ryan just as our ferry boat was leaving. Not to worry we caught the next one two hours later. This then impounded on our arrival time at the hotel, which should have been 7.30pm for dinner. We finally arrived at the hotel at 10.10pm. We were all tired and hungry but thought that we had definitely missed out on dinner. Not at all! The staff were waiting for us, not at all grumpy as you might expect, but smiling and friendly and pleased to see us. We were led into the dining room and served with our meal, excellent service, as it was throughout the coming week. Our cases were dealt with while we were in the dining room, all we had to do was go to reception and pick up our room key. We had a room on the second floor which looked out over the rear of the building so no traffic noise, but in the morning we had mouth watering smells drifting up from the kitchen as we sleep with our window open. We had quite a big room with a double bed and a single plus en-suite. Tea and coffee making facilities, which we love first thing in the morning. At first glance the Hotel doesn't look very big from the outside, but when you walk through on the inside it just gets bigger and bigger. The reception is in a large lounge area, go through and you come to a snug area, continue and you come to a bar area which extends right back, and where the evening entertainment is held. We had days out in Limerick and Galway and enjoyed them immensely. We didn't know what to expect but it was a fabulous holiday. The countryside is beautiful. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms over the kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tyl1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUMBARTON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just returned from a five day trip to Lisdoonvarna and had a wonderful stay in the Imperial Hotel. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for them. The waiting staff were brilliant. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed at the hotel on a 5 day coach tour of S. West Ireland.We arrived late about 10p.m.The staff was at the door to greet us and usher us into dinner, while the luggage was unloaded and taken up to the rooms.No queue at reception for keys or struggling along long corridors with a case. People were impressed with the modern decor in the rooms with the Gaelic sash across the white bedcover and the new dark carpet.The dining room is well organised with set areas for different groups.The food is is good ,served quickly by the skilled dining staff. We could ,in the evening, walk along the town to visit local pubs or call into the two supermarkets and the outerwear shop.opened late. Dave, musician and singer entertained us in the Matchmaker Bar, part of the hotel.Our room was too small and Reception was helpful and moved us. We found our stay at the hotel comfortable, but we felt the road up the to Lisdoonvarna in the dark a bit stressful.It is known as 'Corkscrew Hill'.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alice183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

had a wonderful 5 days lovely hotel with very polite and staff no complaints whatsoever waiters and bar staff very friendly ,especially home if ive spelt it right she,s a gem the location was very good nice quiet town yet full of life and friendly people ,handy for trips to limerick and galway city county clare and your hotel are second to none

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.1 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Spa Hotel
Royal Spa Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
78 reviews
6.1 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,016 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is located in Lisdoonvarna, just a 10-minute drive from the Cliffs of Moher. It offers en suite bedrooms, a restaurant and a bar with live music most nights. Bedrooms at the Imperial feature satellite TVs, hair-dryers and telephones. Tea and coffee making facilities are also available and there is free Wi-Fi in public areas of the hotel. The restaurant offers international cuisine and traditional Irish breakfasts are served daily. There is a large lobby area which is adjoined by a sunny conservatory. The Burren National Park is a 15-minute drive and there are several golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Lisdoonvarna, The Burren, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing