We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and homely. Livingsocial deal. Well located for Aran Islands.”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Leinster, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice and homely. Livingsocial deal. Well located for Aran Islands.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was a quick two night break in the heart of The Burren, in Co. Clare.

I set off late from Dublin and arrived at around 9pm.

The staff were very helpful and explained that although the dining room had finished evening meals for the night, there was another restaurant down the street - a Chinese. It was fine.

Came back, and a sessiun was in full swing, with a storyteller and irish dancers in the bar. Good craic. There was a lrge group of German tourists in the hotel and they were enjoying it too.

Had a good night's sleep.

Got up early in the morning and had a filling full Irish Breakfast.

I enquired with the reception did a full ferry service operate on Sundays from Doolin to the Aran Islands. They said yes, as this time of year was their busiest season.

They recommended O'Brien's Ferries of Doolin.

So I drove to Doolin, got parked and made my way to the Pier.
Met O'Brien himself! Because I mentioned The Imperial Hotel, I got a concession of €5 off the ferry fare of €20.00 return. Nice.

Ferry was packed, a good sign. We set off at 11.03. The crossing was a little rough as the Atlantic was choppy and a lot of spray, but we got to Inish Oirr island after 50 minutes.

I hired a bike for the day off Rotai Inish Oirr (just up from the harbour) for €10.00 (good value!) and proceeded to cycle the island from end to end.

What a day! And the weather! Sunny, fresh and relaxed. Wonderful!

Had a great day, and even seen The shipwreck ''Rossaveal'' (made famous by the ''Fr. Ted'' television series) up close. Class.

Had a wrap at a an island bar/coffeehouse. Hit the spot.

I will definitely be back to this island. It is lovely. Might even stay in a B&B here next time!

After a full days fun, I landed back at Doolin just after six in the evening - we had to wait 15 or 20 minutes as there was a traffic jam of ferries waiting to take their turn at the berth in Doolin - Doolin Pier can only hold one ferry at a time - Inish Oirr pier can hold three at a time, and two abreast! Extraordinary.

When I got back to Hotel at 7, they were very helpful, and said as my friend couldnt make it, I could have the starter, main course & dessert for free on the Livingsocial voucher, so I got the value of it that I paid! Cool!

I had a lovely holiday, and I would like to come back to Lisdoonvarna again.

Would I recommend here?

Yes, it is excellently located for Aran Islands, The Burren, and more.
Clean, homely and very well trained staff. Thoughtful too - they are good at their jobs.

I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for O Briens ferries to Aran Islands. Hotel sometimes has a special offer with ferry company.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babsi_Opole, Front Office Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Thank you very much for your review and description of your stay. Looking forward to welcome you again at the Imperial Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    52
    44
    15
    15
See reviews for
19
70
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The outside looks fine, well presented and clean. Inside the hotel was similarly clean and well presented. It is however dated and basic throughout. I have to remember that the price we paid to stay here was minimal so as far as value for money this was excellent.
The room was basic but comfortable, free wifi in public areas and a central location.
The food was was not of a low standard but very budget indeed.

I wouldn't stay here again as I have been used to staying in much more expensive hotels. It's great for a budget place to put your head down. I'd rather have paid more to stay somewhere more upmarket but you get pay for and we paid for a budget hotel for 2 nights. The value for money was very good. Just wasn't to my personal preference.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jimmypirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Recently stayed in this hotel with a coach tour. Do not normally holiday in this way but had an elderly family member with us and felt it would suit her. Having read some of the reviews of this hotel we were not sure what to expect. The outside looks a little tired but reception area was very attractive. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. We had requested a double and a single room and in some hotels this has consisted of little more than a broom cupboard but here it was a full sized double room just across the corridor from our own. I require a special diet and great care was taken to ensure that this was available to me. The food was simple but good quality and plentiful but what makes this hotel stand out is the quality of its staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them and from the first night they made us feel very special. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room one the second floor at the front and apart from a little noise the first night it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babsi_Opole, Front Office Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Thank you for you review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always happy to accommodate our guests needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just back from an Urquhart's coach tour, however, very rigid meal times, including early breakfast each day. Pretty exhausting after long bus journey! Rooms are small but very clean and we had nice outlook towards the rear of hotel, bathroom good size and great shower. Good entertainment each evening. Hotel is in a good situation but a long, winding road to Lisdoonvarna!

Room Tip: High floor with rear view rooms are peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babsi_Opole, Front Office Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlewellan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had a two night Living Social Voucher which included breakfast, an evening meal and bottle of wine. Arrived a few days ago - hotel and rooms were clean and comfortable. However our experience in the dining room was hopefully a one off. All but two main courses had a supplement charge of 10 euros. The restaurant had over 100 guests dining at the same time which meant all the food had been pre cooked in advance and everything we ordered was inedible. The wine was spanish table wine which was undrinkable. When we asked for alternative food and wine we were told that was all that was left. As all staff were foreigners with very little English speaking we just left. Breakfast was a tad better but not much. Such a pity as it is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lisdoonvarna hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Clean,staff nice,food terrible ate one out of four evening meal.breakfast good I would not recommend this hotel to any friends.Our party had to have breakfast at 8am not a minute later.
Entertaiment was pretty average.room at back of hotel all you got when window opened was the smell of food.

Room Tip: B&B only not any other meals
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We decided to have out evening meal here one night last week. The menu was in the entrance next to the open inner door of the restaurant. As we moved away from the menu board to the open door a smartly dressed lady manager came forwards as if to greet us. I smiled and she closed the door in my face! Great Clare welcome.
Have given a nominal '3' for a rate where I could not honestly comment.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel organiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.1 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
230 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Burren Castle Hotel
The Burren Castle Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Spa Hotel
Royal Spa Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
75 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is located in Lisdoonvarna, just a 10-minute drive from the Cliffs of Moher. It offers en suite bedrooms, a restaurant and a bar with live music most nights. Bedrooms at the Imperial feature satellite TVs, hair-dryers and telephones. Tea and coffee making facilities are also available and there is free Wi-Fi in public areas of the hotel. The restaurant offers international cuisine and traditional Irish breakfasts are served daily. There is a large lobby area which is adjoined by a sunny conservatory. The Burren National Park is a 15-minute drive and there are several golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Lisdoonvarna, The Burren, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing