We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not as good as I expected”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed in the hotel for one night on a B&B basis. It's a lovely hotel in a great location but I was disappointed that it wasnt anything special. The shower was very poor no power in it at all. This may sound petty but the toilet paper was the most basic I've ever seen.

The music in the bar was a bit old fashioned & loud. I didn't see any cocktail menu but there may have been one.

I recently stayed in the G Hotel which was far superior so this may have clouded my review somewhat.

It is a great hotel for a shopping trip. Breakfast was good too even self service cappuccinos.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caoimdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay.
There are a few areas where you have suggested room for improvement on which we have received very positive feedback on in recent times, including our evening entertainment, cocktail menu and showers. I would be very grateful of the opportunity to discuss with you, in order to ensure consistency and to apologise for if they were not of a high standard on the occasion of your visit.
I look forward to passing on your positive feedback to the team in La Provence and The Sheraton Kitchen following your breakfast experience.
I would like to offer my apologies that aspects of your stay were not as good as expected and I look forward to speaking with you personally if the opportunity permits.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,942)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Athlone
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,640 - 1,646 of 1,942 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Enjoyed my stay here, always a great buzz about the place, always loads of people about! Great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luecy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to review The Sheraton Athlone Hotel. I would like to thank you for your repeat custom and it is great to read that there has been a good atmosphere each time you have visited, and most importantly that you have found our services to provide excellent value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon, and please don’t hesitate to ask for me at the front desk if there is anything I can do to make your stay more enjoyable on your return.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Sheraton Athlone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had a one night stay in September 2011 in a standard double room with a king size bed.

The bedroom was pleasant and a good size. We had a good nights sleep in a very large and comfortable bed. The room was very quiet, no street noise or other guests interrupting our rest.

Breakfast was good with a good selection of fruit and natural yogurt. Also a good Irish breakfast and very good coffee.

Staff were at all times friendly and helpful.

Complimentary parking is provided and the hotel also have a good gym and swimming pool.

Location is right in town and above 5 minutes walk to the "old town"

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rangzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to review The Sheraton Athlone Hotel. It is great to receive such positive feedback and to have our staff recognised for the tremendous effort they put in to both welcoming and taking care of our guest’s needs.

We look forward to having you back in the hotel soon, and please do not hesitate to ask for me at the front desk if there is anything I can do to make your stay more enjoyable on your return.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

At a recent golfing trip to athlone westopped off for one night at the sheraton Hotel.
ihave tosay that the highlite of our stay was the the wonderful food that we had for both breakfast and dinner.we stayed on a thursday evening and the chef( kevin i think was his name) was giving a chocolate demonstration in the hotel lobby ,it was very impressive and he involved the kids in the demonstration which they loved.
all the staff which we encountered were very friendly and helpful
top marks to the sheraton

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kevin Ward is our Executive Chef, and I look forward to sharing your great feedback of Breakfast and Dinner in our La Provence restaurant.

In conjunction with our other department managers Kevin participates in one of several complimentary midweek activities which we offer to our guests, including making the perfect hot drink, wine tastings, makeup talks and demonstrations in our Sirana Spa and classed and activities in our leisure club. It is great to hear that Kevin got everyone involved on the day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone when you have the opportunity to return.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We (2 rooms) recently stayed one night. Overall this is a very nice hotel with nice atmosphere & great friendly staff. There was a wedding reception & unfortunately the wedding party took over the bar until 1030/11pm. On arrival it was difficult to find the elevator from the car park to reception, a local gave easy to follow directions. The bedrooms are good size with a decent bathroom. As with a previous review the bath towels are small (i have an 85cm waist & they barely wrapped around me) in both bathrooms. One pillow had a pillow case 50% bigger than required. As these details only became apparent on the morning we were leaving i didn't say it to staff. When I requested honey at breakfast i was given a 1 kg plastic squeez tub which is not satisfactory for a 4 star hotel.
The few small problems we encountered could easily be resolved and i would have no hesitation in recommending it & i will return

Room Tip: Place decent size towels in bathrooms and pay more attention to bedclothes
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corkmicheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and provide such constructive feedback following your experience with us.

Thank you for your kind feedback on our staff, we take great pride in providing a friendly welcome to our guests along with professional service and I do hope that you found this to be the case.

My apologies about the wedding party causing an inconvenience, I believe this may have been the evening of The Republic of Ireland playing Slovakia where some of the wedding guests returned to the bar after their meal had ended. Our usual standard is to ensure that the bar is made available to our guests and not taken over by any larger groups.
Individual portioned glass honey containers are available and I have asked our restaurant manager, Mark, to retrain the team to ensure that we make these available to our customers on request. My apologies also about this.
I will review your feedback on our linen with our accommodation manager immediately.

Once again thank you for your review and for recommending our property and we do look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Athlone.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Stayed here on a two night midweek break staying in a club room. On arrival parked in hotel undeground car park thats complementary then lift up to reception.
Check in was fast & efficient & we were delighted with our room.
Had a nice meal in hotel bar on first night then met some other guests where we all enjoyed a few drinks. The breakfast is buffet style and was excellent both mornings with lots of choice to suit all tastes.
You dont need to go outside to enter the shopping mall where there is a good choice of shops & a few restaurants.
The town centre is a short walk away and a 15min walk to the other side of town accross the Shannon.
Overall we enjoyed our stay in the Sheraton Athlone and willstay here again on our next visit .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bannerman-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the team here in the Sheraton Athlone I would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. It is great to read that you will be staying with us again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on you return.

We are very fortunate to have direct access to The Athlone Towncentre shopping centre, and are delighted to offer our guests exclusive discounts in the stores through our Premium Club discount card.

Once again our sincere thanks for taking the time to write about your experience and we look forward to seeing you back in Athlone soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at the Sheraton for my sister's wedding, the family room was spacious, Staff helpful especially Anne Marie ,,,,, I think , in reservations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dungarpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us during your family wedding.

I look forward to sharing your review with Anne Marie and the team in our Reservations Department. Anne Marie has been a part of our team since before the hotel opened in 2008 and has consistently received wonderful feedback for exceeding our guest’s expectations. It is great for her to have her efforts acknowledged on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone should you choose to return in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,136 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £62 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing