We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel with yellow pack toilet paper”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Luxury hotel with yellow pack toilet paper”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This is a modern well situated and luxuriously equipped hotel in Athlone town centre. Bedrooms are a good size with very nice bathrooms and lots of nice toiletries. There is also lovely pool and spa. For some reason however the bath towels were the smallest I'd ever seen and one had a three inch tear in it. The toilet paper was also cheap and nasty.
Dinner was good. Great steak but the side of onion rings were deep fried from frozen and unpleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and a window that opens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenorIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,166
    495
    154
    45
    26
See reviews for
383
746
55
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Hotel was great, would stay again, food was great in both the resaturant and in harvest. Bar tender made the best cocktail i've ever had. Only problem was that the receptionist was a little too "friendly" towards my boyfriend, made us both uncomfortable- minor problem though, overall very pleased with the service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Great location,lovely big family rooms,very well presented and clean.Bar is nice,food was good,staff friendly and helpful.We arrived early and were immediately given a room.Location above the shopping centre ideal for the Irish climate and free parking!Free wifi was great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed here last weekend. This hotel ticks all the boxes. Good location cos the shopping centre is attached to the hotel so if the weather is bad you don't even have to go outside. Lively hotel with the music in the bar at night time. We didn't eat in the hotel bar but the harvest cafe is attached and ran by the hotel and is ideal for lunch before shopping. Breakfast was fab. The leisure centre is lovely but the swimming pool can get over crowded even with a few people as it is not very big however there is 2 other small pools you use to relax, sauna and steam room also. Very clean. Good service. Car park is attached to the hotel and is included in your price. Queen size bed. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the tower side of the hotel which is a bit of a trip but it is quiet over this side. Qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noname B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I arrived late in the middle of a storm midweek to a friendly welcome. The receptionist went out of her way to be helpful, ordering me room service even though the kitchen was already closed - it was the first food of the day and I could have kissed her ! She also happily wrote out turn by turn directions for me to find the location of my meeting the next morning.

I had a room in the tower which was on floor 10 and it was great - quiet, stylish and with a good shower.

Free, albeit low strength wifi with breakfast and parking included in the room rate for under 100 Euros was a good deal I thought.

I'd been travelling all week and this way by far the best stay I had.

Thanks for being the nicest people providing the best service. I'd go back in flash. I'd also like to send the people from Novotel Orly Paris (where I also stayed this week) to see what a good hotel looks and hows it is run...

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower on a high floor facing the water - You can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DepDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This is a nice hotel in a good location but its not a great hotel in a great location, I know the hotel hasn't claimed its a great hotel but there's something weird about the lay out, You park in a basement eat in a room the size of a football field and sleep in a tower,
We had lunch in the bar on arrival while we waited for our room to come available and it was poor to say the least, lets say the baked goats cheese is not baked and the home made mango chutney is not home made,see where i'm going with this.
There is an M&S in the shopping center below if you get peckish,
The room was very nice and very clean but for €230 for a suite per night it better be, Maybe i paid to much for the room and paid to much for lunch and even to much for a pint at the bar but what this hotel has going for it is, its on the way to "GALWAY"

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodhero11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for providing us with such constructive feedback.
We are always very conscious of reacting to feedback when a guest has not enjoyed their time with us as much as they might have hoped. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you if you would be kind enough to contact me here at the hotel on 09064 51000.
In the meantime we have come together to review the feedback relating to specific departments and implement actions where appropriate. While we do receive a lot of positive feedback on the hotel itself and in particular our restaurant and tower rooms, I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy this aspect of your stay.
I have passed on your compliments about the cleanliness of the room to our accommodation manager and team.
I have spoken to our Executive Chef in relation to the quality of you bar food as mentioned in your feedback and we will review these dishes to ensure consistent quality. I can reassure you that our mango chutney is home made and once again we will endeavour to ensure quality in this element of the dish.
While we have do feel that our pricing structure is very competitive I appreciate your feedback and will review the rate applied for our main suites on the weekend with the revenue team. Our bar pricing in particular has been based on competitive analysis in the area and is very keen value.
Once again my apologies that you did not enjoy your time with us.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed here for a night with my mother and sister for a girls weekend away. Perfect for this. It was a miserable rainy day and we just drove straight into the underground car park for the hotel & shopping centre and got the lift up to the hotel. Checkin in was a little slow but reception just happened to be busy. Room was really nice, the nicest i've stayed in a while. Plenty of room for the three of us. Wished we were staying for more than one night. Just off reception area you get a lift to the shopping centre. The lift comes out in a restaurant which is a little wierd but fine. Great shopping centre and great not to have to go out in the rain. The hotel has a spa which we didn't use but looked very good. Watched a movie in our room €10 for it is a little expensive. Didn't eat dinner in the hotel so can't comment on the restaurant. The breakfast was very nice though. We ate in 'The Olive Grove' down the town for our evening meal and it was gorgeous and real pretty beside the water. Went back to the hotel bar not expecting much but the place was buzzing with lots of other guests and a one man band that was brilliant and lots out dancing. The bar staff were really under pressure but were great. When the bar quietened down they went around getting chairs for everyone. Would def stay here again if i was in Athlone and would recommend it over other hotels in athlone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwaygirlSinead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and associates here at the hotel I would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our property. It was a great pleasure to share your feedback at our weekly meeting.

We are fortunate to have a strong relationship with the Athlone Towncentre Shopping Centre. Our Premium Club discount card is provided exclusively for our guests and receives a lot of positive feedback. As we come into the Christmas season our Shop Stop and Spa special offers have been receiving a lot of interest.

Abdallah and his team in the bar were delighted to read your feedback and I would like to thank you for recognizing their efforts.

I have carried out a full review of the movie pricing on our in room entertainment system and we will be introducing revised special offers in the next few weeks in light of your feedback. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Once again thank you for your review. We hope to see you back at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,063 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing