We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Trim, Co. Meath
1 review
“Fantastic Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed in the Sheraton last weekend and have to say the Hotel was great. Staff were very friendly and facilities were second to none. Stayed in a fabulous suite and views from the 'tower' were breathtaking. We dined in the restaurant on Saturday evening and the food exceeded our expectations, not a lover of hotel food generally but our experience in the Sheraton changed my views. There was a lovely atmosphere in the hotel and staff couldn't do enough to make our experience as enjoyable as possible. Keep up the good work and looking forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to have a suite and it was beautiful - couldn't ask for better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear “Maria W”

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel following your stay and for your wonderful feedback.

It was a pleasure to share your post with our team during our weekly review of guest feedback.

I am delighted to read that our restaurant food has exceeded your expectations, something we strive to do in all aspects of our service. I would like to thank you in particular on behalf of Mark Glennon, restaurant manager in our La Provence Restaurant. Mark and his team are constantly developing their offering and we will be launching a new menu in the coming weeks.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,103
    472
    145
    41
    24
See reviews for
364
700
52
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Had a great stay here in September couldnt ask for anymore got the breakfast delivered to the room the next morning everything we asked for we got.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear “Michael M”,
It was wonderful to read your positive review and I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have stayed here a few times over the last year and each visit exceeds the previous. The staff from the reception to the guy at the pool to the chambermaids and the manager are so helpful, enthusiastic pleasant, and go out of their way to help. I cannot recommend this hotel enough . We stayed in a v well known 5 star spa after our stay in the Sheraton athlone and it coukd learn a lot from them. You will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roziemurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear “Roziemurt”,

On behalf of the management and staff here at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel I would like to thank you for your wonderful review. It is a genuine pleasure to have the hotel described as a Gem and Dara and her team in Sirana Spa were thrilled to have our service and facilities compared with the great selection of five star spas in the Irish Market.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gweedore Letterkenny.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Great hotel - Great staff - Great food - beautiful place to stay and very close to all amenities, would definitely recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear “Jacqueline D”

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to review our hotel and for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone.

It is wonderful to see the huge effort which the team put into customer care recognized in your feedback, there was a hugely positive response from the various departments when we reviewed the feedback recently.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our central location here in Athlone. The many tourism providers in Athlone, from boat trips to arts & crafts, retail to the essential pub offerings, have been receiving wonderful feedback and it is great to have this acknowledged on such a public forum as Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Nice hotel with good facilities. A few small things like not enough Pcoat hangers in rooms and lack of healthy options on menu stopped it getting 5 stars. Staff exceptionally helpful. Good gym good pool and very central.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewv45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear “Andreww45”

Thank you for your review and I would like to reassure you that I have taken your feedback on board in order to bridge that gap. I would welcome your feedback on how we have performed should you return to the hotel in the future.

We will be launching our “Colour your Plate” initiative over the coming weeks on our various menus. Launched in conjunction with our Core Performance brand standard which makes it easier for our regular guests to stay healthy while on the road. Colour your plate is based up taking a simple approach to healthy eating by choosing colourful, nutrition dense foods as part of a well balanced meal.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my wife for a W/E the hotel is in the hearth of the town and car parking in the shopping centre joined to the hotel is free for guests The bedroom was large but is it better to ash for a room above the 4th Floor to have a view there is no view from the ground floors

Room Tip: Ash for room above 4th Floor for a view of the Shannon River
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank silverjet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear “Silverjet9”,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel and for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

With a very central location our tower rooms provide a unique view across 2 provinces, 4 counties and the Shannon river. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I was impressed with this hotel from check-in to check-out. It is handily placed in Athlone, parking is free, excellent free internet access, staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. I had a bar meal. Good food, excellent selection. I used the swimming pool which was really good — clean, clear and with good facilities for changing and hair drying. I will definitely stay again if I'm in Athlone and recommend it thoroughly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheerfulchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear “Cheerfulchick”,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for providing such a positive review of your experience with us.

It was a pleasure to share your feedback with our various departments during our weekly review of guest feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing