We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christening Party at The Sheraton”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Buncrana, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Christening Party at The Sheraton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just want to say what a wonderful meal we had in La Provence for our christening. Joe, Tracey and all the staff were brilliant. We had young children with us, so we got a table that was out of the other customers way, the kids could play and not be in anybodys way. The Food was superb and my dad is still talking about the braised beef !!!! Thank you also to Abdalla and his team for reserving a table for us in the bar and your great service also. My sister and her family stayed in the hotel and had and excellent time and will be coming back.
Thank you Everyone
Clare

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Clare,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion as a family christening with us. I am delighted that the service and food exceeded your expectations and that we helped you to enjoy celebrating this time with your family..

It was a pleasure to share your feedback with Abdalla and his team in the bar as well as the team in the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    474
    145
    41
    24
See reviews for
365
702
52
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel twice last year. Central location, built in shopping center complex, close to everything. Rooms are ok, expected better for newish 4* hotel. Had lunch in bar and got dirty glass with lipstick on, returned glass and they brought me glass with water stains on!!!! Staff was ok, can't say that very friendly... I would rate it more like 3* hotel rather then 4.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hona7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear “Hona7”,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for providing a review of your stay with us.

I am glad to read that you found our location to be central. There were a number of areas for me to address and I would like to reassure you that those items you have highlighted to us regarding bar service have been addressed.

While we do receive a large volume of feedback regarding the friendliness of our staff I would like to apologise that you did not find this to be the case. We have ensured that a renewed focus is placed on guest care and I do hope that you will experience this should you choose to return.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
322 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

If you know the Sheraton brand, you'll know what to expect, though the style of this hotel is a mix of Le Meridien and Westin/Aloft. I got a room in the tower with a wonderful view over the Shannon. The room itself was very clean and modern. The shower had good power and the amenities in the bathroom are fine. I like the 'stone' effect of the decor though having a bath and separate shower means the toilet placement and space is a little cramped (or at least it was in my room!).

Staff were very friendly, breakfast set me up for the day, access to the club allowed me to have tea or coffee at any time during my stay and there is also an on-site pool and fitness facility. All in all, a very pleasant surprise and a definite destination if I have to stay in the midlands and want to have some certainty about what awaits! Athlone itself also has a few things worth visiting, though I only managed a brief walking tour.

Room Tip: Ask (or pay) for a room in the tower and ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pi31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear “Pi31415”,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a comprehensive and positive review following your stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback on Sheraton Hotels, we are very proud to be part of such a strong brand and to be representing The Sheraton brand here in Ireland.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone soon, and I would be delighted if you could ask for me at the desk on your return so that I might thank you for your feedback personally.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trim, Co. Meath
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed in the Sheraton last weekend and have to say the Hotel was great. Staff were very friendly and facilities were second to none. Stayed in a fabulous suite and views from the 'tower' were breathtaking. We dined in the restaurant on Saturday evening and the food exceeded our expectations, not a lover of hotel food generally but our experience in the Sheraton changed my views. There was a lovely atmosphere in the hotel and staff couldn't do enough to make our experience as enjoyable as possible. Keep up the good work and looking forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to have a suite and it was beautiful - couldn't ask for better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear “Maria W”

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel following your stay and for your wonderful feedback.

It was a pleasure to share your post with our team during our weekly review of guest feedback.

I am delighted to read that our restaurant food has exceeded your expectations, something we strive to do in all aspects of our service. I would like to thank you in particular on behalf of Mark Glennon, restaurant manager in our La Provence Restaurant. Mark and his team are constantly developing their offering and we will be launching a new menu in the coming weeks.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Had a great stay here in September couldnt ask for anymore got the breakfast delivered to the room the next morning everything we asked for we got.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear “Michael M”,
It was wonderful to read your positive review and I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have stayed here a few times over the last year and each visit exceeds the previous. The staff from the reception to the guy at the pool to the chambermaids and the manager are so helpful, enthusiastic pleasant, and go out of their way to help. I cannot recommend this hotel enough . We stayed in a v well known 5 star spa after our stay in the Sheraton athlone and it coukd learn a lot from them. You will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roziemurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear “Roziemurt”,

On behalf of the management and staff here at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel I would like to thank you for your wonderful review. It is a genuine pleasure to have the hotel described as a Gem and Dara and her team in Sirana Spa were thrilled to have our service and facilities compared with the great selection of five star spas in the Irish Market.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gweedore Letterkenny.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Great hotel - Great staff - Great food - beautiful place to stay and very close to all amenities, would definitely recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear “Jacqueline D”

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to review our hotel and for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone.

It is wonderful to see the huge effort which the team put into customer care recognized in your feedback, there was a hugely positive response from the various departments when we reviewed the feedback recently.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our central location here in Athlone. The many tourism providers in Athlone, from boat trips to arts & crafts, retail to the essential pub offerings, have been receiving wonderful feedback and it is great to have this acknowledged on such a public forum as Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing