We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This was a Lovely Hotel with friendly helpful staff, lovely clean rooms, excellent leisure facilities. The dining is excellent, the only down side is the bar area which is not comfortable.
The Hotel is built into a shopping centre which is a little odd but doesn't take away from Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Shane,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you found of staff to be friendly and helpful and that the leisure facilities were excellent.

I have reviewed your feedback on our bar with our bar manager and we will be looking at various measures in response to your feedback. Guest feedback and suggestions are very important to us and I would welcome the opportunity to review this with you in more detail if you would like to contact me here at the hotel on 0906451000.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and a I look forward to speaking with you if the opportunity permits.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,089
    462
    143
    39
    24
See reviews for
353
694
51
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

It was first time stating with this hotel even staying on Athlone so it was an experience usually it is Galway we head for. I decided to bring my mum away for an early mothers day present and choose to stay in a club room which came with a club lounge benefits which is a quite space away from the bar with minerals and snacks and wifi and you can bar food delivered to the area also. I though this was wonderful as we were the only ones using it was very nice. The room was lovely robes and slippers provided the only thing would COMPLAIN ABOUT WOULD BE THERE WAS NO ANTI SLIP MAT IN THE SHOWER I DID NOT FEEL SAFE HAVING A SHOWER, I could have had a bath but did not want one but apart from that the room was lovely. I did have to call a few times to the front desk for different things and every time I got a very nice staff member on it and it was sorted there and then. We had the club sandwiches in the club lounge and they were very nice and well worth the money we paid, the breakfast was nice a bit of confusion to start but after that was sorted it was lovely. The staff were all very nice and very helpful and we will stay again and my mum was very happy and that's all I was worried about but all was good and we will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jewel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear “Jewel18”,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and it is great to read that you chose Athlone as a destination for a leisure break away. Over the past few years a lot of effort has been put into developing Athlone and it’s surrounding lakelands as a tourism destination. Feedback from our guests has been very positive and there are more activities on offer in the area every season.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on the team and our club lounge.

We have started a review of our showers for slip resistance and any appropriate measures will be implemented immediately as guest safety is of paramount concern for us. Thank you for highlighting this to us.

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buncrana, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just want to say what a wonderful meal we had in La Provence for our christening. Joe, Tracey and all the staff were brilliant. We had young children with us, so we got a table that was out of the other customers way, the kids could play and not be in anybodys way. The Food was superb and my dad is still talking about the braised beef !!!! Thank you also to Abdalla and his team for reserving a table for us in the bar and your great service also. My sister and her family stayed in the hotel and had and excellent time and will be coming back.
Thank you Everyone
Clare

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Clare,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion as a family christening with us. I am delighted that the service and food exceeded your expectations and that we helped you to enjoy celebrating this time with your family..

It was a pleasure to share your feedback with Abdalla and his team in the bar as well as the team in the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel twice last year. Central location, built in shopping center complex, close to everything. Rooms are ok, expected better for newish 4* hotel. Had lunch in bar and got dirty glass with lipstick on, returned glass and they brought me glass with water stains on!!!! Staff was ok, can't say that very friendly... I would rate it more like 3* hotel rather then 4.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hona7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear “Hona7”,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for providing a review of your stay with us.

I am glad to read that you found our location to be central. There were a number of areas for me to address and I would like to reassure you that those items you have highlighted to us regarding bar service have been addressed.

While we do receive a large volume of feedback regarding the friendliness of our staff I would like to apologise that you did not find this to be the case. We have ensured that a renewed focus is placed on guest care and I do hope that you will experience this should you choose to return.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
318 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

If you know the Sheraton brand, you'll know what to expect, though the style of this hotel is a mix of Le Meridien and Westin/Aloft. I got a room in the tower with a wonderful view over the Shannon. The room itself was very clean and modern. The shower had good power and the amenities in the bathroom are fine. I like the 'stone' effect of the decor though having a bath and separate shower means the toilet placement and space is a little cramped (or at least it was in my room!).

Staff were very friendly, breakfast set me up for the day, access to the club allowed me to have tea or coffee at any time during my stay and there is also an on-site pool and fitness facility. All in all, a very pleasant surprise and a definite destination if I have to stay in the midlands and want to have some certainty about what awaits! Athlone itself also has a few things worth visiting, though I only managed a brief walking tour.

Room Tip: Ask (or pay) for a room in the tower and ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pi31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear “Pi31415”,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a comprehensive and positive review following your stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback on Sheraton Hotels, we are very proud to be part of such a strong brand and to be representing The Sheraton brand here in Ireland.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone soon, and I would be delighted if you could ask for me at the desk on your return so that I might thank you for your feedback personally.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trim, Co. Meath
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed in the Sheraton last weekend and have to say the Hotel was great. Staff were very friendly and facilities were second to none. Stayed in a fabulous suite and views from the 'tower' were breathtaking. We dined in the restaurant on Saturday evening and the food exceeded our expectations, not a lover of hotel food generally but our experience in the Sheraton changed my views. There was a lovely atmosphere in the hotel and staff couldn't do enough to make our experience as enjoyable as possible. Keep up the good work and looking forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to have a suite and it was beautiful - couldn't ask for better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear “Maria W”

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel following your stay and for your wonderful feedback.

It was a pleasure to share your post with our team during our weekly review of guest feedback.

I am delighted to read that our restaurant food has exceeded your expectations, something we strive to do in all aspects of our service. I would like to thank you in particular on behalf of Mark Glennon, restaurant manager in our La Provence Restaurant. Mark and his team are constantly developing their offering and we will be launching a new menu in the coming weeks.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Had a great stay here in September couldnt ask for anymore got the breakfast delivered to the room the next morning everything we asked for we got.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear “Michael M”,
It was wonderful to read your positive review and I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing