We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in a Great Hotel”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed in the Sheraton Athlone for 1 night recently. The staff were absolutely brilliant. No job was too small. The rooms were spacious and very well decorated. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in! Check-in was quick and efficient. Breakfast the following morning was faultless and again the staff were brilliant. The whole experience was very enjoyable and certainly I will be going back again at some stage in the future. I have recommended this hotel to everyone. Shopping, good pubs, good food, good accommodation. What more does anyone need!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear “Trippy3”,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone and for providing such a positive review following your time with us.

Our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper is actually designed to eliminate the pressure points that cause tossing and turning and to improve circulation during your night’s sleep and is regularly commented on by our guests so thank you for your feedback on this.

I am delighted to read that you found our staff to be so accommodating and am looking forward to sharing your post with the teams in our restaurant and front office.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone soon.

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,941)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Athlone
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,537 - 1,543 of 1,941 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Terrific location. Facilities and service excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear “Jomacg”,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you found the facilities and service to be of a high standard.

We are fortunate to be located just a couple of hundred metres from the motorway connecting Dublin and Galway, right in the centre of Athlone.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a special occasian. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful, especially Dan on the front desk. They really went beyond what you could expect which made the night all the more special. Stayed in the deluxe room on the 9th floor... Lovely room with a view. Dinner was very nice and again the staff and manager very accomadating .... Leisure facilities and spa were excellent. I will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazman_0079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear “Bazman_0079”,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was a great pleasure to share your feedback with our teams and I am delighted to read that we helped you to celebrate a special occasion.

We take great pride in making each of our guest’s experiences uniquely enjoyable and I am delighted to read that we helped you to celebrate an important occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Fab hotel
Perfect location
Connected to shopping centre, hotel gives your dsicount for shops on arrival to Hotel
Pool area, spotless
Hotel bar, cosy with lovely bar food menu
Breakfast was well cooked and plentiful
Would return again

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arsenal1_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I visited this hotel recently as part of a group on business, I found the service brilliant, staff fantastic and the food was excellent. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff could not have been more helpful and the food and service was second to none, to the point that if there was something you really wanted and was not on the menu they would accommodate you. It is in a very good location in the shopping center. I would highly recommend this hotel to any of my friends and family and is worth a revisit in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabbynew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear “Gabbynew”,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

In particular you were very complimentary of the staff here at the hotel. We are extremely fortunate to have a very dedicated team who are focused on delivering extremely high standards of service and it was a great pleasure to share your feedback with them at our weekly review of guest feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just back from a two night break in this hotel. We were a hen party of 14.

Hotel is in a great location for shopping (attached to shopping centre), Some shops provide discounts to Sheraton guests so don't forget to ask for your card on arrival. The train station is also within walking distance from the hotel.

Its a very busy hotel but has a great atmosphere. Staff are great, very friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night, menu read ok, but food was great. (To be honest we were on a package meal and from experience i know the menus for this can be quite limited). I would think their normal A La Carte Menu would be even better with a larger choice.

Rooms were clean and had everything you might want. The only downside I can think of is the hotel is laid out like a maze, you could have to take at least three different lifts to get from the car park to your room in the tower section. There is also free fast WiFi in the rooms which was great.

We booked the cocktail making class as an activity. Phillip was not daunted with the task of teaching 14 excited hens how to make cocktails and joined in with the festivities. It was done really well, two cocktails each and everyone had at least two opportunites to make theirs.

Some of the party used the leisure centre and said it was great.

I would not hesitate recommending this hotel and I will defiately be staying here on my next visit to Athlone.
I cannot compliment the staff enough for all their help over the weekend. Special thanks to Mark, Ann Marie & Phillip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaz2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear “Kaz2001”,
Thank you most sincerely to you and all of the members of your group for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and once again our congratulations to the bride to be.
Mark in La Provence Restaurant, Anne Marie with the Reservations Team and Philip in our Sheraton Bar have all been with the team for a number of years and it was very kind of you to make special mention of them in your feedback.
I am delighted to read that you found the food in our restaurant to be of a very high standard and that Philip was well able to look after the group of hens during your cocktail lessons!
I hope that you enjoy the upcoming wedding as much and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I don't often give the hotels I stay in an unequivocal 5 starts, but this one surely deserves it. Athlone is a small town in the middle of nowhere, but benefits from a large and comfortable Sheraton. The staff are ultra friendly (as are all the Irish people I met during our 3-day stay), the rooms are large, modern and clean with very comfortable beds and the breakfast is superb - all-you-can eat full English + cereals, cheeses and hams. 5-minute walk from Athlone town centre, free parking, free wifi; what more could you want? A really very good hotel which I would willingly stay at again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul330d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review of our hotel and it was a great pleasure to share your feedback with the team at our weekly review of guest feedback.

Athlone is indeed a relatively small town, but with a great selections of activities, restaurants, bars and shops which have helped us to become an extremely popular tourism destination here in the Lakelands and Inland Waterways region.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,135 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £63 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing