We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay in sheraton”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012

really had a very nice stay,staff very friendly and accomodating! place is superb! was sorry that i didnt have the time to use spa..

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmarion295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear “Jmarion295”

Thank you for your very kind review of our hotel following your time with us.

It was a pleasure to share your feedback with the team at our weekly meeting and I would like to thank you on their behalf for your very kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. There are some fantastic packages on offer in our Sirana Spa throughout the summer months so please do speak to a member of the team to book some time for yourself during your next visit.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan
General Manager
Sheraton Athlone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,538 - 1,544 of 1,959 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

Nice, modern, hotel centrally located in Athlone Town Centre. We upgraded to a room with a view, unfortunately the large windows meant the room was like a glass house and the air conditioning wasnt effective - prob not something you'd need to worry about on most trips to Athlone, it was particularly hot the day we were there!

The hotel has a very strange layout which meant we needed to use three different lifts to get to our room from the carpark. Overall though a nice hotel and if you can get it for a good price I'd recommend.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank beamaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

stayed here for a family wedding (6thand 7th of June)and couldnt recommend it highly enough,the facilities are brilliant,staff are friendly and helpful,restaruant food was gorgeous,everyone had a great time,,,

Room Tip: if you like firm pillows ask for them,our ones were way too soft but thats a personal thing,fine roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Last Saturday my husband and I had lunch in the Sheraton Athlone, the food was excellent, the service was second to none, the staff were extremely helpful but not intrusive. The last time I was in the Sheraton, I mentioned that it was very noisy as the bar is a lobby bar and you can see people coming and going, if the place is not very busy, this can actually add to the atmosphere of the place. Also the toilets are immaculately clean and no attention to detail is spared. I will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galwaybay_lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

A clean room & a good nights sleep & I will give a good review. But this bed - ohhhh - how happy it made me! The sweetest sleep of our 12 days in Ireland. The rooms are spotless, bathrooms are spacious - we had a shower and separate bath. Even the toiletries were great (not the standard soaps that leave you feeling like you just bathed with sandpaper!) But the bed..that is the point here. They have a spa that offers all sorts of massage & facial treatments at very reasonable prices! Whatever it costs, treat yourself to at least one night & sleep like a queen or king! Athlone is pretty town & worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WannaBgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My partner and I travelled to Athlone for a mid-week break, and paid quite a lot for what we considered would be a "good" hotel. We arrived to be told that the tower was closed due to a maintenance problem, so we couldn't have the superior view room that we paid for. The price was lowered to that of a standard room and we were offered a free bottle of wine for the inconvenience. Great service in a bad situation - or so we thought!
We went to our room (the "best available") to find out that the window faced a blank wall about 2 metres away. Not only did we not get our view but we didn't even have any natural light! We had to go back to reception and ask to speak to a manager, who eventually (after about ten minutes of arguing) managed to "find" a better room for us.
The rest of our stay was generally good. The hotel bar is not great on atmosphere, but there is decent bar food.
The spa is excellent. We had 30 minute treatments included with our rate and thought we would be rushed through, but they spent a lot of time and effort on us, making sure we have plenty of time to relax both before and after the treatments.
The breakfast was very poor, overcooked food left sitting for too long.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank braystoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We are just back from our stay at The Sheraton, from the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful without being intrusive. We stayed in one of the tower suites and in our opinion it is definitely worth the extra few euro. The jacuzzi bath is a treat, decor is tasteful and room is very spacious. The location of the hotel is great and some lovely pubs and restaurants near by. The staff were very willing to recommend pubs etc and nothing was too much trouble. Considering there was a wedding and hen party there the same time as us, there was absolutely no disruption or delays in bar etc.
Over all, having stayed in plenty four and five star hotels in Ireland, this really comes out on top for service, value and location. We will definitely return soon! Oh and the shopping centre is a big plus too

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessanne86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,162 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £63 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing