We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a beautiful town”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel in a beautiful town”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Beautiful hotel in a really lovely part of the country. Great central place to stay on our recent trip down to Kerry.
Rooms great, beds comfortable, good wi fi and fab breakfast.
Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear “Freddie m”,
Thank you most sincerely for your kind words following your stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in Athlone. A lot of effort has been put into the tourism product which is on offer in Athlone over recent years and it is great to read that you chose to come here on route to one of the more traditional tourism hot spots!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone soon and thank you again for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    503
    155
    47
    27
See reviews for
393
761
55
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

from the time weverything was wonderful the friendly staff cleandlyness of the hotele landed to the time of departure

Room Tip: all rooms are spacious and spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boydo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear “Boydo 11”
On behalf of myself and the team here at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for providing a review of your experience.
Two areas which we place particular emphasis on providing a high level of quality are clealiness and friendliness and it is very kind of you to make mention of these.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Sheraton is always to be relied on. Sheraton in Athlon, Ireland is no exception. Friendly and forth coming, A bit expensive, but worth every cent.

Room Tip: You may well ask for rooms not at the 3rd floorwhich are at ground level at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerBaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear “PerBaad”,

On behalf of myself and the team at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel I would like to thank you most sincerely for your feedback. We are delighted to read that we are maintaining the high standards that our colleagues are striving to achieve in Sheraton and Starwood properties globally.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira, Northern Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I've stayed in many Sheratons and to be honest never been disappointed. The staff here made us feel very welcomed and as I said on my departure the 4 stars don't do this hotel justice.
Rooms where very cle an, food was excellent (i am very fussy) pool and spa facilities are 5 star spec.
Thank you to all.
James, Linda and Angus

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JST206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear James, Linda and Angus,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to provide a review following your most recent stay with us and in particular thank you for your repeat custom at our hotel.

I am delighted to read that you feel that our service is provide to 5 star standard and I do hope that we can continue to maintain these standards as we welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

We look forward to seeing you then.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
America, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The carpet was dirty , location was very good ., nice hotel , restorant ,night and
day all staff was lovely .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kumar m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear “Kumar m”,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience with us and for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Thank you for your compliments towards our staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. I would like to reassure you that I have reviewed any areas which have not been tended to by our professional carpet clears and that we will be having these areas tended to immediately.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for the past two years and found it to be convenient, very well equipped and well run. Staff are professional and polite and standards are high. There is car parking under the hotel which is very handy for luggage and also for shopping. The Athlone Shopping Centre forms part of the building with the hotel so that once you hit the carpark you are indoors for as long as you like. No need to get caught out in the rain.

Room Tip: Try getting one overlooking the shopping centre. Huge windows with loads of light. Also more spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkcollinsirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear “jkcollinsirl”,

On behalf of myself and the team here at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel I would like to thank you for your very kind review following your experience with us.

I am delighted to read that you found our standards to be very high and our associates professional. It was a great pleasure to share this feedback with the team at our weekly review of guest feedback.

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We had our wedding in the Sheraton Hotel Athlone last month and it was fabulous. I can't praise the staff enough. In the lead up to the wedding we were consistently delighted with the service and warmness of the staff. All our guests have been commenting on the quality of the food on the day, most people saying it was the best food they've ever had at a wedding. We had a deal which included our cake, car and flowers, and they were all top quality, we couldn't have had better. The rooms were beautiful, and as I said the service before and during our wedding was outstanding. Thank you so much to everyone there for making our day so magical.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Jade,
It was a pleasure to share your review with the team at our weekly meeting and I would like to take the opportunity to congratulate yourself and Gerry once again and to wish you both a very happy life together from everyone here at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
I am delighted to read of the positive feedback you have been receiving about the quality of the food offering which Kevin Ward and his team prepared for your wedding. In our experience this is the one area which couples receive the most feed back and for very good reason, what more enjoyable way could we celebrate such a special occasion than a meal with family and friends.
Our Ultimate Package has been well received as it takes a few of the tasks (of which there are many!) in preparation for your wedding and lets us help.
So once again thank you for choosing to share your day with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in to the hotel soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny
Johnny O’Sullivan
General Manager
Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,099 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing