We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel,”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great hotel,”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Great hotel,even better staff. Always friendly and helpfull. Room good and big with a huge bed.
Perfect location for visiting Athlone. Best hotel in the town. Great value if using the family package. Kids club plus meal,free entry into attraction of your choice included.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    480
    147
    43
    25
See reviews for
370
714
53
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This was a very nice hotel in the middle of Ireland. It is only a 5 minute walk from the train station and is attached to a large shopping mall (with a lot of food options and a pharmacy with decent hours). The bathroom was huge (shower and bathtub). There were a number of hen parties and weddings since this is a large hotel, but they keep them separate from individual guest floors so it was very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCAdria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Staff were very friendly and talkative. Breakfast was lovely. Rooms were very clean couldn't complain.The rooms were very spacious and modern. Lovely view of Athlone from the rooms. Great location right in the heart of the shopping centre. Great little restaurant below the hotel, lovely food and great prices. Overall i had a great experience and I would definetly go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear “Martina C”,

I would like to thank you most sincerely on behalf of myself and the team here at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel, both for choosing to stay with us and for providing such a positive review of your experience with us.

We are extremely fortunate to have a team who take great pride in providing a very genuine and friendly welcome and it is very kind of you to remark upon this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clare
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at the Sheraton this week for two nights. Chose this hotel because of the location initially but it became very evident from the outset that we had definitely made the right choice. We were checked in quickly and professionally by Marissa on the desk. On our first night we dined in the Bar and it was really lovely-just hit the spot, would loved to have stayed and watched the world go by but our 3 month old was dictating. The room was immaculate, and housekeeping deserve recognition for this. The location is fantastic and on a rainy summers day access to the shopping centre is all under one roof which was brilliant. On our second night we dined in the restaurant and the supervisor on duty (sorry I have forgotten her name) was really very pleasant.Thank you.
All in all, we met a lot of staff during our stay- Eve, Evan, Deirdre, Evelina and every one of them were so pleasant. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have decided to go back for 4 nights this time. Really looking forward to returning in August!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear “MollyClare”,

It was a great pleasure to read your review and to share it with the team here during our weekly review of guest feedback. We were thrilled to be described as the only place to stay in Athlone.

Grainne O’Brien and her team in accommodation place huge emphasis on providing extremely high levels of cleanliness throughout the building and you are very kind to notice this. I look forward to sharing your sentiments with Marissa,, Eve, Evan, Deirdre and Evalina also.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in August.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed here twice in the last few months, once with friends and once with my Mom. The service is of a very high standard and the staff really make this hotel. First time I stayed, had an issue with the room and was upgraded. Second time I booked the penthouse as a treat for my mother, worth every penny. The spa is divine, very relaxing, nice range of treatments and facilities and the staff are lovely. The pool in the leisure centre is a good size and shape so it never feels crowded. It wasn’t overrun with kids when we were there which is a plus. Dinner in the restaurant was very impressive, breakfast was good, your usual hot buffet, but a good selection of cold breakfast and fruit. Great hotel, good food, shopping and fantastic spa and leisure facilities – a great girly getaway. Just looking for an excuse to book another break!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlepits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear “Littlepits”,
I would like to thank you most sincerely for your repeat custom at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for taking the time to provide such a positive review of your experience with us.
I do apologise that there was an issue with your room on your first stay but I am delighted to read that the team recovered your experience quickly and effectively. We are very fortunate to have an amazing selection of suites across our 10th and 11th floors and it is great to read that you enjoyed our penthouse.
Once again thank you most sincerely for your custom and your kind words.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed in Sheraton Hotel one night on way to west of Ireland. We were given discount rate and an up-grade to a suite when we mentioned it was an anniversity break. Also staff gave us discount vouchers for the shops in adjoining Shopping Centre. B&B plus evening meal included in price. Food was very good and service friendly but it was quiet which would not suit everyone, Breakfast had very wide selection of hot / cold and far better than expected -excellent value. Well located with free underground car parking. In centre of Athlone, so within walking distance of everything.

Room Tip: We werel up-graded to rooms on 9th floor tower - suite was excellent and very quiet with great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dub Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear “Dub Jim”,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel to celebrate your anniversary and my congratulations to you both once again.

We really appreciate your having taken the time to provide such a comprehensive review of your experience with us and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in Athlone so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Beautiful hotel in a really lovely part of the country. Great central place to stay on our recent trip down to Kerry.
Rooms great, beds comfortable, good wi fi and fab breakfast.
Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear “Freddie m”,
Thank you most sincerely for your kind words following your stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in Athlone. A lot of effort has been put into the tourism product which is on offer in Athlone over recent years and it is great to read that you chose to come here on route to one of the more traditional tourism hot spots!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone soon and thank you again for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing