We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Girlie Night Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
DublinIreland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Girlie Night Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Booked Sheraton Athlone for a weekend away with the girls. Location is brilliant, right next door to the shops! The room allocated was of a good size with lovely decor. We did not eat any evening meals in the hotel but used the hotel bar which has a good buzz with a some live music been provided. Breakfast provided a good selection. All in all would recommend this hotel and will return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,088
    462
    143
    39
    24
See reviews for
353
693
51
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night , lovely room , very modern with great views . Stay in the tower if you can . Food was excellent . A bit hard to find the car park , but the location of the hotel is smack bang in the middle of the town . Would definitely use this hotel agai

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lods1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear “Lods1969”

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for choosing to stay with us.

I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team at our weekly review of guest feedback next week.

We are in the process of examining whether any additional signage might make it easier to identify our entry in the car park and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

I've stayed in the Sheraton several times over the last few years, exclusively for business reasons. It is a modern hotel with very good facilities, much better than I expected from a hotel in Athlone. The rooms are spacious, staff friendly and there is a decent buffet breakfast available in the morning. it is convenient to the center of Athlone, and directly attached to the shopping center there (which I haven't checked out yet but looks good). I have also eaten in the restaurant a couple of times and the food was very good also. Overall, its a very good hotel and decent value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear “Galway Tribe”,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

I am delighted to read that our facilities and service exceeded your expectations. Exceeding our guest’s expectations forms part of our mission statement here at the hotel.

We are very fortunate to have The Athlone Towncentre Shopping Centre under the same roof as us here in Athlone. There are a wonderful range of international and national retailers and we are delighted to be able to offer our guests exclusive discounts with them as a resident of the hotel, particularly as we approach the Christmas season and New Year sales.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Had to some business to attend to in Athlone so stayed at the Sheraton. The hotel is busy, lots going on, the bar is very busy so expect a bit of a delay when ordering bar food, I had fish & chips with mushy peas and it was quite good. The bar staff are very friendly. The hotel is in the centre of Athlone and co located with a Shopping centre which is very handy if you need anything The bed was very good lots of room, the bathrooom was very clean and the shower, a single point, lashed out the hot water with ample pressure. Breakfast was really excellent with a huge choice of fruit and breads along with the traditional Irish Coronary Special, which is hard to resist. Service was excellent, although I did have to ask the waitress to tidy under the table before I sat down and enjoyed , good coffee, toast and the rest. All in all after my second visit I would recommend this hotel, it doerrs what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear “Liam T”,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for providing such a positive review of your experience with us.

I look forward to sharing it with the team and would like to thank you for taking the time to mention the friendliness of the team in The Sheraton Lobby Bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 484 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

After a fabulous experience here in February 2012, we happily booked a return visit for an anniversary weekend. Very disappointingly, this visit turned out to be a catalogue of issues. Sadly, things reached a head on our second day and we requested to speak with a Manager. We discussed all our issues with him and he did note them and try to resolve them and we did feel that he took these issues seriously. His aim was for us to leave the hotel satisfied and happy. While we appreciate what he did for us, unfortunately our stay was ruined.

Without going into too much depth, our issues were:

> No safe in the room – however, we did get one when we requested it.
> 3 phone calls to Guest Services and a wait of over 2 hours to get extra pillows.
> A shower that leaked badly onto the bathroom floor.
> The audio system into the bathroom couldn’t be lowered or muted so the TV was louder in the bathroom than in the bedroom itself!
> An information booklet that had numerous large unidentified stains on it.
> A Kettle that leaked.
> No replenishment of the tea, coffee or toilet roll when the room had been serviced.
> We’d to request the “admission ticket” for the River Cruise on our second morning, which was part of the romance package we’d booked but which had not been given to us at check-in the previous day.
> The meal that was included as part of the romance package was very disappointing. Our starters were barely lukewarm and my husband’s steak had to be sent back as it was cold. We complained to both the waitress and the Manager but neither was too interested.
> No update or acknowledgement from Reception when we queried when our room would be serviced – we came back at 2pm and our room still hadn’t been serviced – we called reception as I wanted to lie down but at 3pm, we still hadn’t received a call back – we then went down to speak with a Manager out of frustration.
> A tray with the remains of someone’s meal was sitting outside the room opposite ours from at least 2pm [when we checked in] until after 1am the next morning [when we went to bed] despite two staff members having been in our room and one of them looking directly at the dirty tray.

There were a few positives, which were:

> Good breakfasts with good selections including the nicest brown bread we’ve ever tasted.
> Wonderful bar food.
> Jonathon in the bar, who has such a wonderful manner and attitude, that it makes you want to stay there!

While the Manager did his utmost to try to resolve our issues and to ensure that we were 100% satisfied with his solutions, sadly, we were too disillusioned. We were so looking forward to our weekend away and were so disappointed as it was ruined for us, so much so, that we cancelled a weekend we’d booked in this hotel for February 2013.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Celticcreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear “Celticcreation”,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide such a comprehensive review of your experience with us.

You are very kind to mention a number of positives, and in particular I look forward to sharing your feedback with Jonathon who typifies the levels of professional and genuinely friendly service which we strive to achieve.

There were several items which you highlighted in your review where we appear to have dropped our standards and I apologise most sincerely once again and thank you for bringing these to our attention. You were kind enough to bring these to our deputy manager, Nigel Canavan’s attention duing your stay and we have started a comprehensive review in order to rectify those areas where our usual standards were not met.

It is most disappointing to read that you have cancelled your stay in February but I do hope that we would have the opportunity to provide you with a quality service should you choose to return in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here in the early summer for a few nights and were quite impressed overall. Customer service is good and the rooms are large and very clean. We ate breakfast both mornings and found this quite good for the price. It would be good however if they could provide cooked eggs to order rather than having to make do with scrambled egg which has been sittting out for quite a while. We also ate in the bar area and found the food to be good and the atmoshpere very lively! (There was a rugby game on the TV).
What lets the hotel down is the Club Lounge. As a platinum member I have seen many starwood hotel lounges and this is by far the worse. There are some snacks available (crisps, biscuits) soft drinks and tea/coffee. Because staff are not there permanently, then dishes and rubbish can pile up. We could not find a bin to put our rubbish in. Also, the soft drinks are not in a fridge and ice is not provided. Come on Sheraton, how much would it cost to put a fridge in the lounge?There were no alcoholic drinks in the evening or hot snacks unlike all other lounges I have been to.
I fell that If you are going to have a lounge then please do it properly or not at all...not a poor excuse.
Overall though this is a really nice hotel and you should not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkWanderluste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear “UkWanderlust”,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for your repeat custom with Starwood Hotels, as a Platinum Member of our SPG Loyalty Programme.
I am glad to read that you had a relaxed stay and that enjoyed the lively atmosphere and service in our bar.
I do hope that you will find an improvement in the standards of our club lounge on your return, as there are a number of areas which we have been developing in recent months. I have reviewed your feedback on the restaurant breakfast with Kevin and Juraj our chef and restaurant manager. We will ensure that we are making our guests aware of the availability of the service for eggs cooked to order. My apologies in relation to both these items and thank you for bringing them to our attention.
Once again thank you for your feedback and repeat custom and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel very soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

If your thinking of Ireland and need a place to stay and wish to use some SPG points this is a great hotel. Staff are friendly, breakfast included and a basic lounge where at least you can get a glass of wine and some munchies.
Parking and hotel are attached to shopping complex.
Easy access via your own car or bus to many other tourist locations.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank o2bnkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Dear” o2bnkd”,

It was a great pleasure to read your feedback and to hear that you found that The Sheraton Athlone Hotel caters very well to our guests and to members of our Starwood Preferred Guest loyalty programme. Thank you most sincerely for your repeat custom with our hotels.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone very soon and thank you for taking the time to provide such a positive review of your experience with us.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing