We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent services and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent services and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a wedding in June. Staff at check-in were lovely and remembered us for the rest of our stay. Stayed in a family room, very spacious. Food fantastic at dinner. Very convenient for shopping.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladydaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear “Ladydaly”,
On behalf of myself and the team I would like to thank you most sincerely for taking the time to provide such a positive review. Your opinion is very important to us and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
In particular you were complimentary that the staff remembered you throughout your stay. It is our goal to create a memorable and personal experience for every guest in the hotel and I am delighted that you found this to be the case. It was a pleasure to share your positive feedback with Grainne, our accommodation manager and the food and beverage teams in relation to the quality of the dinner offering and family bedrooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel very soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O'Sullivan,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    473
    145
    41
    24
See reviews for
364
702
52
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have family home from Australia and after a disappointing stay in a hotel in Galway we stopped here for the night on the way home. They were blown away by the hotel, staff, everything. They loved it and said they next time they visit Ireland they'd like to stay here longer. I forgot how much we liked it too since our last visit and I've booked a weekend for September. Fantastic hotel, great size rooms, great staff, fantastic location, this hotel shows how it should be done. Keep up the great work.

Room Tip: All are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liked_copper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear “Liked_copper”,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a positive review of your experiences at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel. I am delighted to read that you have recommended us to your family and that you will be staying with us again. We are very appreciative of your custom.
In particular you are very complimentary of the staff and the bedrooms, probably the most important aspect of any hotel experience, and it was a great pleasure to share this feedback with the team at our weekly review of guest feedback.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone very soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O'Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Having a birthday approach my wife decided to take me away for a night and booked the Sheraton hotel through a website as the birthday was not to far away. The Sheraton hotel is in located smack in the middle of Athlone so walking to and from the main stream of shops etc. The hotel itself was just fab, the room was ever better overlooking the town of Athlone and absolutely spotless. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbirdy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear “Bigbirdy2”,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and thank you for choosing to celebrate your special occasion with us.
I am delighted to read that you found our hotel to be so central, and in particular you mention that your room was absolutely spotless. It was a pleasure to share this feedback with Grainne and the accommodation team, who were very proud to have their high standards recognized recently in achieving a Gold Medal Award in the Irish Accommodation Services Institute annual awards.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel very soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O'Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We had visited this hotel before in 2011 and it was a fabulous stay. We were not disappointed this time either. Right from the start the decor was welcoming, but more particularly, the reception staff (Natasha?) was very friendly and warm. First impressions count and she made us feel right at home. One thing that seems to set this hotel apart is the friendly staff. The room was beautifully decorated and clean with large floor to ceiling windows allowing maximum light and view across Athlone. The view was superb. We only stayed one night but would highly recommend this hotel. The consistently high standard since we were last there has not changed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the separate wing have a wonderful view over Athlone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear “Darryl C”,
Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to provide us with such a positive review of your experience with us and for your repeat custom at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
It was a great pleasure to share your very kind and complimentary feedback with the team here at the hotel. Natasha exemplifies the genuine hospitality and friendly service which we take great pride in.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your night with us and I do hope that you have the opportunity to stay for longer when you have the chance to return.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O'Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the weekend and I could not fault one thing about it, We stayed in a deluxe king room and it was just beautiful from the massive comfy bed to the great tv selection and of course the gorgeous shower. We ate and had drinks in the bar and both nights and the food was delicious my partner said it was the best steak he ever had, the music added a great atmosphere aswel. The staff at this hotel was first class from the receptionist to the bar staff to the waitresses they were all so friendly and seemed to love their jobs always checking everybody was ok. I will definitely be returning to this hotel is luxury with a central location what more could you want.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a tower room its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tara2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear “Tara2008”,

I would like to thank on behalf of myself and the team here for taking the time to provide such a positive review of your experience with us and for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

We take great pride in the level of customer service and genuine hospitality which we offer and I am delighted to read that you found that the team was enjoying ensuring that our guests were receiving the best possible care. I look forward to sharing this feedback at our weekly review of guest feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone when you have the opportunity to return.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Just had a nice stay in the Sheraton hotel in Athlone town. Very modern and very well situated hotel, friendly staff and the food was very good on the bar. Breakfast was slightly disappointing however. Food could have been hotter. Overall though, I would stat again and do recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear “John B”,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and I would like to thank you for choosing The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay but I do apologise that you found our breakfast quality to be slightly disappointing. We have had a number of team meetings to review areas where we can achieve consistency in the service offered as this is an aspect of our product which generally receives a lot of positive feedback. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

It is good to know that you will be recommending our hotel and thank you once again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here last weekend for two nights B&B with Dinner on the Saturday. Firstly, all the staff were so helpful and welcoming. The room was lovely with a very large bed and beautiful bathroom, although looking straight onto the balconys in the apartmetns next door was slightly offputing. We ate in the bar on the first night as it was too miserable outside to go exploring the town. It was very decent bar food, not horrible greasy food you normally get at bars. The next night we ate in the resturant which was outstanding. Really beautiful lood, well presented. The waiting staff couldnt have been more attentive or helpful. They are a credit to the hotel. We also took the chance to visit the leisure centre. The pool has several massage jets as well as a marked off lane for serious swimmers. If you are staying in the hotel, make the time to visit the pool and unwind fully. Overall, I cant wait to retun to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear “Rachie09”,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel. Thank you also for taking the time to provide a review of your experience, your opinion is very important to us.

In particular you were very complimentary of the staff here at the hotel. We are extremely fortunate to have a very dedicated team who are focused on delivering extremely high standards of service and it was a great pleasure to share your feedback with them at our weekly review of guest feedback.

It is wonderful to read that you are planning a return visit and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing