We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I'm still surprised this small town has such a property. The room was comfortable and quiet, the location is quite convenient to the train station, and the rates are good. It's was a fairly uneventful stay which is precisely what I wanted.

Room Tip: Tower room with a view of the river Shannon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morerainplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear “Morerainplease”,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience and for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
I am delighted to read that we assisted you in finding some relaxation during an uneventful stay.
While Athlone is a relatively small town it has proven to be a very successful in attracting both corporate and leisure visitors with a wonderfully accessible and well promoted tourism product in the surrounding Lakelands and a very central location which is exceptionally well serviced by motorway as well as bus and train routes.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    503
    155
    47
    27
See reviews for
393
761
55
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Another of our regular visits to the Sheraton, and once again not disappointed in any way. Very attentive staff, even though a large number of personnel changes this time. Reception staff (Marie, Deirdre, Natasha especially) all very welcoming and helpful, as are the conference and meeting staff. Reservations handled well and efficiently. My previous comments about the music in the breakfast room have been addressed, so here's another thought for you Johnny!! Why not change the day time and evening menus a bit - it seems to have been the exact same in both the bar and the restaurant for ages - not a problem if you only visit occasionally, but for regulars it can get a tad boring, even though the quality is still high! Abdallah was away for the nights we were visiting, so I did not get the chance to enjoy his banter this time, but his staff were efficient and friendly as usual in his absence.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PM02-08-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear “PM02-08-44”,
Thank you for both taking the time to provide a review of your experience with us once again, and to yourself and your colleagues for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel once more.
Your opinion is very important to us and I am pleased to let you know that our Executive Chef Kevin Ward will be launching his Autumn menu for La Provence in the coming weeks, and that myself and Kevin have reviewed the Bar menu following your suggestion. While many of the items on the menu are very popular and will be retained we have included some new items and will ensure that our daily special is varied and exciting each day.
I look forward to passing on your kind words to the Abdalla, Danny and their team in The Sheraton Bar, and to welcoming you back very soon.
All the best for now.
Johnny
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Wanted to spend a night in the 'heart' or Ireland and Athlone was the designated spot.

The Sheraton is very centrally located and very easy to find - one of (if not the) tallest buildings in Athlone. It's location is ideally situated to let you simply walk out of the place and onto your destination.....be that one of the many fantastic bars, nice restaurants, the old castle or simply a walk along the Shannon. It's also adjoined to a small shopping center/mall if you want to pop in to get something to wear, buy toiletries, etc...

The hotel is clean, modern, well kept and the rooms are very nice. But what was really impressive was the wonderful guest experience from the minute we arrived at the check-in desk. Everyone in the hotel was very friendly and attentive - made you feel very special.

I'd highly recommend a visit to Athlone and definitely stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear “Sheaver”,
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for taking the time to provide such a positive review of your experience with us.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our midweek leisure offering and our location here in the “heart” of Ireland. Athlone’s tourism offering is currently being promoted under the branding “Athlone, At The Heart of it” so you certainly chose the right place! The various complimentary activities both here at the hotel and in the surrounding Lakelands and Waterways have been the source of hugely positive feedback and I do hope that you enjoyed your complimentary activity. The cruise on The Shannon with Viking Mike has been exceptionally popular.
I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team at our weekly review of guest correspondence. We are very fortunate to have a team who are dedicated to exceeding our guest’s expectations in providing a genuinely friendly service and you are very kind to recognize this on Tridadvisor.
Thank you once again for your review and for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O'Sullivan,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We Based ourselves here for our month in Ireland staying about 20 days in all over 4-5 stays.
The hotel is in 2 parts the tower rooms are quieter than the rest.
We were upgraded for our Platinum Status to a junior suite with access to the lounge.
This is properly the best staff experience we have had at any hotel & we have stayed in a lot of hotels, they were outstanding especially Dan & Deirdre,
Although its only a 3 star its very comfortable and well serviced.
This is a first for all excellent below, I do not give this lightly.

Room Tip: They have weddings on the weekends so if you are a light sleeper I recommend the tower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtwmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear “jtwmusic”,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for your loyalty and regular custom as a valued member of our Starwood Preferred Guest Programme. Thank you also for taking the time to provide a review of your experience, your opinion is very important to us.

In particular you were very complimentary of the staff here at the hotel. We are extremely fortunate to have a very dedicated team who are focused on delivering extremely high standards of service and it was a great pleasure to share your feedback with them at our weekly review of guest correspondence.

I do hope that you have the opportunity to return to Ireland and if so we look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

To be honest,I didn't sleep here but I live nearby and I take every occasion to drop in. I love the bar and lobby for nights out with friends. I love the spa, which is the best I've ever been in! Especially relaxation room. The gym has good instructors and is never crowded. Beautiful design and lightning throughout the hotel. Great entertainment, especially fashion shows. Lovely food in the restaurant. And the staff is always friendly!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Sheraton for a three night mid week break, beautiful hotel, very comfortable and clean. Staff very friendly, and helpfully. Beautiful food in the harvest restaurant, exceptional foreign chef wearing royal blue uniform, don't know his name. But he made sure you would not go hungry for the day. So thank you very much to him. Pool lovely and warm but jacuzzis very cold. We were on the tenth floor of the tower, had fabulous views, very clean and comfortable room. The only faults were the mini fridge wasn't working the light in the bathroom was broken, and when you took a shower the floor flooded. But when we reported these to the manager he got all resolved and gave us a complementary bottle of wine, which was ver nice, so a big thank you to him also. Overall we enjoyed our stay there. Athlone is a very lively town, some beautiful pubs, especially Sean's, excellent music there every night.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gurtnegara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We visited the Shearaton Ahtlone for a Hen on Aug 10th. Lots of dealing with the hotel prior to arriiving and reservations were excellent and very helpful. In total there was 20 people with 18 staying in the hotel. We used the private room in the Spa area for champagne and finger food on arrival. The finger food was exceptional and included Calamari. Some of the ladies had treatments, the Spa area was very impressed with Stephen Pierce pottery throughout.
Our bedrooms were all twin rooms, very spacious and nice & cool. bathrooms were big with separate shower and bath. We had cocktails before dinner, good laugh and everyone got involved.
We then moved to the restaurant which was just amazing, very big restaurant which was packed. Great atmosphere in it. Our Table was towards the middle but we felt like we were the only table there the service was so good. Excellent menu choice and the food was super. Everyone enjoyed it and waiters kept pouring the wine for us.
Breakfast the following morning was equally as good, fresh, hot and very tasty.
We checked out at 12pm which is busy but it was smooth and easily.
The only negative thing I could say it the hotel needs to be signposted better when arriving into Athlone, its difficult to find.
Well done to the hotel and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Una N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,099 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing