We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to recommend for business”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I have stayed here 3 times recently all as part of a large business group and overall am very happy.
Location is good, central to town and easy to find, with free underground secure parking. With shopping center (mall) as part of the complex.
Staff are friendly and helpful and all interactions with them were good. The bedrooms are very good. I have always had a large king room and they are well appointed, with a very nice bathroom. The pool is a little small for proper swimming, but the general fitness equipment and spa area if rather good.
The meeting rooms are reasonably good. Basically multipurpose function rooms which can be split any way you like. The only complaint from a business perspective was the WiFi which was terrible - couldn't connect, very slow, frequent disconnection. There was almost 100 of us and everyone had problems using it. Not good enough for a business hotel in today's business world when connectivity is essential.
Food was very good... we all had breakfast lunch and dinner there for 2 days. The breakfast was excellent, with a particularly friendly and welcoming Maitre d'. Dinner (function room, not restaurant) was typical hotel wedding/corporate stuff. Nice, but nothing special. I suspect the main restaurant is much nicer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear “AName”,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a positive review of your experience with us and it was a pleasure to welcome you and your colleagues to our hotel.

I was delighted to share you feedback with the team at our weekly review of guest correspondences who were very pleased to hear that you found the team to be friendly and helpful.

In relation to broadband and High Speed Internet Access quality and availability during your stay please accept my apologies for any inconvenience which may have been caused. As there are a number of dedicated lines ensuring ample connectivity for multiple users here at the hotel I have reviewed your feedback with Nigel who looked after the conference. I understand that there was an exceptionally high demand which was managed to minimize disruption but I can assure you that this is not a regular occurrence here at the hotel.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience and I hope we have the opportunity to look after you at next year’s event.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,331 - 1,337 of 2,023 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

We went to the Athlone Sheraton in at the end of August 2013. We upgraded to a delux room in the tower. Our room was on the 10th floor and was very luxurious and very clean.

We had an excellent stay and the Amercian female receptionist was most friendly and helpfull.

Only negative was Le Provance restaurant, food was okay, however the manager / host was unwelcoming and unfriendly.

Room Tip: Definately pay the upgrade for the delux rooms in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niallmoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear “Niallmoconnell”,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review following your time with us and for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

It was a great pleasure to share your review with Natasha on our front desk, who consistently exceeds our guest’s expectations and is the regular recipient of such positive feedback.

We pride ourselves on providing an exceptionally warm and friendly service and please accept our sincerest apologies that you did not find this to be the case in our La Provence Restaurant. I have reviewed your review with Joe and Juraj who will certainly take your feedback on board.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone very soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our time here very much. Pool was wonderful. The staff were very pleasant and the room was fantastic with great views. I don't know why but there was something about the hotel that didnt seem right. It had a business class feeling about it. It did'nt have a homely or warm feel to it and this felt a little strange for a hotel in athlone. Having said that the hotel was superb in every other way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbie152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear “Robbie152”,
Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for providing a review of your experience with us.
I am delighted to read that you found our hotel, and in particular the pool facilities in Sheraton Fitness, to be enjoyable.
Your opinion is very important to us and I would welcome the opporutunity to discuss where you found our hotel to lack warmth or homeliness and we would be delighted to see if there is anything we could improve based on your feedback.
Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel very soon.
Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My wife and i stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed or stay.We stayed in the tower block which had a great view of Athlone .
The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable and huge.
The bar area had a very good atmosphere on the Sunday afternoon when we arrived.
Cannot really comment on the food as we only ate breakfast on our two mornings there which was very good with plenty of choice on offer.
We used the pool and its facilities on offer which were very enjoyable and i wood recommend.
Any staff that we dealt with were always very friendly and helpful as were the people of Athlone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent two nights here. The room was o.k.,for the towels we had to ask every day. The swimming pool was really great and nice staff. For breakfast and dinner, we were outside. The hotel is located in a shopping center in the center of the town, so, there are possibilitys for cheaper breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here a few months ago when I was booking the person was advised me on the best type of room as I wanted that WOW factor as we were a way on a wedding anniversary, I've just booked for our next stay can't wait.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAVEandCHRISTINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We really enjoyed our three nightsat the Sheraton. The roomwas reallymodern and contemporary. The breakfast was delicious and a great value menu for the evening meal. The saff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay.
The girls loved shopping in the adjoining shopping centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,238 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £73 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing