We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Roscommon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One night stay”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Booked a 1 night stay for my fiancé & I , as we were attending a 40th party in Athlone, hotel is ideally situ orated in centre of town, close to shops & town amenities, with free Parking, rooms very modern & comfortable, with large ensuite with separate bath & shower, staff friendly

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank B a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear “B a”,

It is wonderful to read such positive feedback about your stay and I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your time with us.

I was delighted to share your feedback with the team and it is good to know found The Sheraton Athlone to be centrally situated and well appointed.

Our sincere thanks to you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    480
    147
    43
    25
See reviews for
371
715
53
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here twice and always a pleasure. Restaurant is great for breakfast and dinner.

Only problem is limited lunch options for my taste.

The wedding coordinator Anne Connaughton is their best asset!!!

Bigger rooms are fab so treat your self!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank klassylassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear “Klassylassy”,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay at our hotel and for providing a review of your experience. Your opinion is very important to us.

It was a great pleasure to share your feedback with the team here in the hotel. Anna has now joined our Front Office team and continues to be a huge asset! I look forward to sharing your review with her and thank you for providing such wonderful feedback.

I look forward to reviewing your feedback with our food and beverage team and to examining the lunch options in our Sheraton Bar and Harvest Café. I would be delighted to learn more about your feedback if the opportunity arises to email me at generalmanager@sheratonathlonehotel.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel very soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan
General Manager
Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Had my stags/golf weekend here and the hotel was really good. The rooms were modern and nicely furnished and the hotel overall has a lovely modern feel to it. Good location in the centre of town and it's handy that the hotel is connected to a modern shopping centre. The carpark was quite difficult to find/navigate through on arrival as it's quite busy with shopping traffic. Hotel was very accommodating to a stag party unlike some places and everyone really enjoyed it. Only bad point was the bar food wasn't very good and a little pricey, and the buffet breakfast was extremely poor. The fact that people from a hungover stag party noticed the inferior breakfast will tell you how poor we felt the quality was. Bland, luke warm and understocked.
But that may have improved now, and the rest of the hotel was top notch.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jontronix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear “Jontronix”,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for choosing to stay with us. Thank you also for your very kind feedback regarding our rooms and décor.

I would like to apologise on behalf of myself and the team that there were some aspects of your stay which you did not enjoy.

I can reassure you that a positive guest experience is at the forefront of everything we do here at the hotel. Following meeting our Chef and Bar and Restaurant management teams to review your feedback, I am confident that you will be pleasantly surprised by the quality of our offering should you have the opportunity to return to The Sheraton Bar. Our La Provence Breakfast has been a focus area over the last number of months and we have been adding a number of elements to the product which has been receiving wonderful feedback.

I would be delighted to discuss this with you personally if you would like to contact me here in the hotel on 0906451000 or alternatively by email at generalmanager@sheratonathlonehotel.com.

Once again thank you for your valuable feedback and I look forward to speaking with you should the opportunity arise.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilrush, Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Just home from a weekend visit with my fiancée. Hotel is amazing. Facilities top class. Ate in restaurant on 2nd night, wow, fabulous food and service. But..... Ate in bar on 1st night. Food was ok, basic bar food. Prices were not so ok!! Quite expensive for what we had. Was also quite taken aback by the prices of drinks at the bar. €5.40 for a pint, €5 for a vodka?!? We had a lovely time, but that kinda was a black mark against this fine hotel

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear “Dan A”,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for providing a review of your experience with us. Our congratulations to both you and your fiancée on your engagement.

I am delighted to read that you found our facilities food and service to be of a very high standard.

We are very conscious that we continue to offer excellent value to our customers as the price and quality of our accommodation packages are a source of regular positive feedback. Thank you for highlighting this feedback on our bar pricing structure following the recent budget. We have priced our bar products competitively considering our local market. The two items you have highlighted were for a premium lager and a premium vodka and following a review with our team we agree with your feedback and have adjusted the pricing on these items accordingly. Our apologies for this oversight and thank you most sincerely for bringing it to my attention.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone personally if would be kind enough to ask for me on your return.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

What can I say about our stay here. I didn't want to leave, we were treated like royalty. My partner and I stayed overnight for my graduation as a treat despite living locally enough. As soon as we arrived the receptionist an American lady (an asset to you) was welcoming and gave us an amazing upgrade to the tower on the 9th floor which overlooked Athlone, the river etc. I was thrilled! this lady (Natasha i think) responded so promptly to any requests I had and nothing was a big ask or a problem. Had a massage the following day in the spa which was Devine and again the staff here bent over backwards to help us! The leisure facilities met every need. The only criticism I had was that the member of staff here could have at least smiled once and not been so short with us. The only reason this gem in the centre of the town gets 4 and not 5 stars is the bizarre drink prices and the plain breakfast ( I didn't realise you had to request beans and mushrooms!). We will be staying again, in comparison to a neighbouring hotel let's just say its well worth the extra few euros!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KayleighDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear “KayleighDJ”,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to provide such a positive review of your experience with us and for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

It is wonderful to read that you found Natasha to be so professional and friendly. We are extremely fortunate to have a team who are dedicated to providing a genuinely friendly service and this is an area which is regularly complimented by our guests. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team at our weekly review of guest correspondence.

I do apologise that you felt that the breakfast did not meet our high standards. While mushrooms are cooked to order by our breakfast chef, beans should be available on our hot buffet every morning and we have recently implemented new standards on our cold buffet which I hope you will have the opportunity to enjoy on your return. Our beverage prices have been set competitively to compare with other properties in our area but I will review these immediately. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention and giving us the opportunity to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone very soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed there over the October bank holiday weekend. The hotel was clearly busy but the staff were very polite and helpful. Nice comfortable rooms and great location. Two shopping centers very handy with free parking below the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear “Zara R”,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and I am delighted to read that you found our team to be so welcoming when the hotel was busy during your stay with us.

We are very fortunate to share a building with The Athlone Towncentre Shopping Centre and an array of national and international retailers. It is great to know that you enjoyed this aspect of our offering and I do hope that you benefited from the exclusive Platinum Discount Card which is available to guests of The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed the October bank holiday Sunday, waited 3 hour in the hotels bar for our room as it wasn't ready upon arrival, friends checked in just after is & there's was ready. We decided to eat in the bar while waiting, food was crap, greasy & expensive! Heating in our room wouldn't work, it was cold & obviously uncomfortable then. Wouldn't rush back!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank butterflygirl_7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear “Butterflygirl_7_11”,

Thank you for taking them time to review our hotel and for choosing to stay with us. I would like to apologize on behalf of myself and the team that there were elements of your stay which you found disappointing.

I am very sorry to read that you would not return and would be very grateful for the opportunity to apologise personally and to discuss your feedback. If you would like to contact me our telephone number is 0906451000 and my email address is generalmanager@sheratonathlonehotel.com.

I have reviewed your feedback in relation to your arrival experience with John and our Front Desk team and it is a very exceptional situation that a room would not be available at or before our normal check in time of 3 O’Clock and we do apologise for this delay.

We have been receiving some excellent guest feedback in relation to our Bar Food offering and again it is very disappointing to read that you did not enjoy this element of our service. Having reviewed your comments with our Executive Chef we would like to thank you for highlighting this to us so that we can ensure a consistently high level of quality. I do hope that you have the chance to experience our normal excellent standards should you return.

Thank you once again for your review and I look forward to the opportunity to introduce myself and apologise in person.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing