We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheraton Athlone.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Foynes, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sheraton Athlone.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I just want to say that we stayed at the Sheraton Athlone on Friday last and it was a very positive experience .We were treated so well there,the staff were so very friendly, helpful and the food and facilities top notch ! It was the most comfortable bed I have experienced in any Hotel in ages.The atmosphere was so relaxing and as it was party season the mood on Friday night was electric on arrival and it was so nice to see so many enjoying themselves.The location so near to the town centre and Shopping Centre. All in all, I cannot praise the Hotel and our experience there highly enough !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,086
    462
    143
    39
    24
See reviews for
352
692
51
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were originally due to stay here during the Oct Bank holiday week-end but due to a family bereavement we could not travel. We had paid in full to avail of a cheaper rate and this rate was not changeable or refundable. I contacted the hotel to inform them of our situation and I spoke to a lovely lady named Ann-Marie. She informed me that it was no problem to hold the booking. 2 weeks later we had another bereavement of our own. Ann-Mare once again was a joy to deal with. Last Tue and with very little notice I once again contacted Ann-Marie trying to book a fri-mon stay. Like most hotels at this time of the year they were extremely busy but once again she came up trumps.
We both wish to say a big big thank you to Ann-Marie for all her kindness & professionalism. Our entire stay gave us the much needed break we came for.
As for the hotel itself our room was fabulous. We also used the swimming pool and spa, both of which were excellent. We dined in the bar and restaurant and the food was delicious.
Finally, all the staff were like Ann-Marie herself- a joy to deal with and the most warmest of any hotel I have stayed in for a very long time. Thanks also to Gary-? in the bar and the young foreign waiter (name-?) he brought us to our table in the restaurant on Sunday @6pm. They both brought a smile to our faces when we needed it. We hope to pay a return visit sometime soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear “rodzer”,
Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback, and I am delighted to read that you were impressed with the team here at the hotel. Anne Marie has been with us for many years and I was delighted to pass on your very kind words. Gerry has been receiving some fantastic feedback in recent months and you are very kind to mention him also. It was a pleasure to share your feedback with each department at our weekly meetings.
Our condolences for your recent loss and it is very encouraging to know that the team were able to help is some small way during this time. We are genuinely delighted to be referred to as “a hotel that really cares”.
It is great to read that you hope to return and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
244 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Originally I had booked for one night only but then added a second, and the original room type was not available. The hotel happily and easily arranged it so that we would not have to change rooms, and we were able to have both nights at the better room type (and also given an upgrade as we are Starwood Gold).

The room was very large, very nicely appointed, extremely comfortable Sweet Sleeper bed. The bathroom is terrific. We have no need for a tub so always prefer a shower, but this bathroom had both. I'm in love with the TV or radio speakers in the bathroom so I'm not missing my program while in the shower. Plenty of counter and shelf space in bathroom for toiletries and personal items, and good space in closets as well.

The hotel is an easy walk across the bridge to the Castle, restaurants and pubs and the new art gallery along the banks of the Shannon. Our room didn't have a Shannon view, but I'm sure those are nice.

We didn't eat in the hotel since Athlone has many excellent restaurants, but all the common areas looked nice. The hotel (and car park) are directly connected to the mall, so that is very convenient. Athlone has an excellent, central location and would make a good midway point on a tour of Ireland.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear “Oldhousegirl”,

I would like to thank you most sincerely on behalf of myself and the team here at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel for choosing to stay with us and for providing such a positive review of your experience.

As a valued Gold member of our Starwood Preferred Guest loyalty programme I would also like to thank you on behalf of everyone at Starwood Hotels and Resorts for your repeat custom.

It is wonderful that you found our rooms to be spacious and well appointed and I look forward to sharing your feedback with Anne Marie and her team in our accommodation department.

It seems that you took time to enjoy many of the wonderful activities, old and new, to be found here in Athlone and the Lakelands region and I do hope that you have the opportunity to return to Ireland again in the future.


Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a lovely hotel with well appointed rooms and is good value for such quality. We did not have food so cannot comment on that. Staff are friendly though the reception staff spoke with such raised voices that it felt as if they were addressing a hall and not one person. Bar staff were really friendly and not a bit pretentious which often goes with a chain like Sheraton. I would definitely stay here again. However, our room though lovely in itself, was overlooked by other rooms and faced down to the adjacent shopping mall. i would ask for better view next time.

Room Tip: check your view if staying more than one night and you are in early in the day or you might be restr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colm104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I spent a weekend in this hotel recently and it was a family celebration so we booked 3 rooms - 2 doubles and one family room.
The hotel is in the centre of the town and the main shopping centre is next door. they share a car park.
The check in was very fast and efficient and all staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
The rooms were spacious and clean ad the family room was large enough for 2 adults 2 children and a baby.
We had breakfast and an evening meal on one night and the food was very good.
we did not have any spa treatments because we thought they were a little expensive in the current economic climate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We went to the restaurant in this hotel for a meal. The staff were very nice, friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The restaurant was very busy. Our food was very fast coming out which is great and it was lovely and portions very generous. I can't fault this restaurant at all.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lorr1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Weekend stay in Deluxe room 8th floor in the tower,
Room was great size floor to ceiling windows on curve with electric curtains
Fantastic views of Athlone.
Had evening meal which was lovely & staff helpful
Points for hotel...... Bar staff do not know how to make cocktails & need to be shown...but they were all very friendly

Room Tip: deluxe in tower worth the extra upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank green1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing