We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Fullerton, Ca, USA
Level Contributor
402 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here on our first night during our most recent Ireland trip - and a few days later on our way back to Dublin. Overall, great SPG recognition with an excellent and friendly staff. Thanks especially to Natasha. First time, due to platinum status, we were upgraded to an eighth-floor corner room in the towers. On the return, upgraded to an even nicer room with sweeping ceiling-to-floor windows on the ninth floor in the towers. The tower rooms are very quiet, spacious, nicely furnished and decorated. But it is a little bit of a maze and an elevator change to get there from the lobby. We did copy the hotel instructions on driving directions from the Dublin airport, as our GPS did not list the hotel by name nor address. When walking near the castle area in Athlone, we overhead a car stop across the street and ask pedestrians where the Sheraton was - so make sure you GPS has the hotel location, or your have good directions or a map. The hotel parking is in the lot under the hotel (and adjacent shopping mall). It is very easy to get to. There is only minimal space in front of the hotel/lobby to park when checking in, so if it is full, one option is to just drive into the parking lot, very close to the lobby entrance - on the right side if looking towards the hotel, clearly marked with a Sheraton Parking sign. Get your parking ticket upon entrance, drive to the special Sheraton parking area on the same level, push the contact button and tell them you are a guest. Park your car and then go through the clearly marked back entrance and up the elevator to the lobby. The club lounge is very nicely done, but has minimal offerings. Happy hours are slices of meat, cheese and bread - sodas, chips and cookies rest of the time. They had an SPG cocktail reception on Sunday night (wine and cheese) - which I think is a very nice gesture on the management's part - even though there was very minimal attendance (me) that night. I have a feeling that they normally do not have a high number of elite SPG guests - yet! On both stays, the hotel staff was very busy (Rugby tournament one night - several large groups/meetings the other), yet we never felt ignored nor rushed. Buffet breakfast was average for Ireland hotels of this caliber. Bathrooms in the tower rooms were large, spacious and I appreciate the separate walk-in shower! Wifi in the room was a bit "spotty" the first time, but quite satisfactory in the second room. A minor negative point for me, but a very important point for my wife is in regard to all of the recessed ceiling lights. In the fist room (468) there was minimal light present over the bathroom sink. In room 473, the bulb directly over the sink had been replaced with a lower wattage one than the others, so it was even worse. However, all in all, a very pleasant surprise and I would certainly recommend the Sheraton Athlone to anyone (SPG member or not) needing an overnight stay (or longer) anywhere in this area.

Room Tip: Tower rooms are spacious and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,103
    472
    145
    41
    24
See reviews for
364
700
52
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights B&B after winning a magazine competition and was not dissapointed. Had a deep muscle massage which was amazing and ate in the restaurant on one night, set menu was really good value. Was upgraded complimentary to a 8th floor tower room which was perfect to look out at Athlone town. No problem from start to finish, parking ticket valeted on checking out and this hotel is bang in the middle of the town!

Room Tip: Tower room all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snakedoctor85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

What can I say, booked well in advance got the room I wanted the purple penthouse on the 11th floor amazing the room is huge if you want that wow factor for your partner this is the room my wife knew nothing about the room is booked and thought we were staying in a similar room to our last stay but OMG WOW WOW WOW, she loved it see pic posted

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVEandCHRISTINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had our wedding reception in the Sheraton Hotel in Athlone.
From start to finish, it was an amazing experience. The hotel is gorgeous, the food is fantastic and the service is wonderful. The bridal suite is over two levels and is out of this world! The staff couldn't do enough to please. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emer C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Fourth or fifth time to stay at this hotel over last five years, usually for one to two night breaks and it just never disappoints. Staff very helpful, rooms well maintained and decent size. Very central to all attractions, restaurants, shopping.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RedMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

From the large twin rooms to the multi equipped (beautiful) bathroom, this is a quality hotel. All the modern facilites you could ask in the centre of town. Carpark free which is always an added bonus. Breakfast was top class, and service was always friendly.
Will definilty be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We has an excellent night away in the Sheraton with our family group of 19 people. The rooms were excellent as was the dinner. There was great choice on the menu and the children were able to have half portions of adult meals which was brilliant. The food was really good with excellent choices for all. The wine menu was excellent too and good value in particular the house wines. The swimming pool was also great as well as the spa. It is also very conveniently situated to the shops and the discount voucher for the shops was great. All the staff were excellent and very attentive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you to you and your family for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel. Thank you also for taking the time to provide a review of your experience, your opinion is very important to us and it is wonderful to have received such positive feedback.

I am delighted to read that your group enjoyed some precious time together as a family while staying with us. It has been a pleasure to host so many Gatherings of families, friends and colleagues throughout the last year of The Gathering. We have been particularly busy with groups such as your own, being very centrally located here in Ireland’s Lakelands and Inlands Waterways Region.

It is good to know that you enjoyed our exclusive Platinum Club discount initiative for residents visiting the Athlone Towncentre Shopping Centre, this has been a source of great feedback from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing